We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“regular visitors for almost 20 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rylstone Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“regular visitors for almost 20 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

The current owners, Carole and Mike, have not only maintained the excellent standards of this lovely country house hotel but have introduced new innovations to make our stay even more enjoyable. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, especially in the dining room where the bright young waitress Kristy complements the very experienced Angie.
A true "home from home".

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeanw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
118
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

As enjoyable and excellent as ever! The food is scrumptious, whether breakfast or dinner, cooked to perfection and served by Kristy whose smile and efficient manner make it the perfect meal experience. The cleanliness of the whole Hotel is second to none and believe me we've stayed in quite a few that were not up to this standard. With only nine rooms it becomes easy to meet and talk to other guests in the bar and drawing room in the evening. Carole and Mike should be proud of what they have achieved and maintained year after year.

Room Tip: Book as early as possible !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186383Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a two night break. This hotel is wonderful; small (just nine bedrooms), quiet, friendly welcoming staff, excellent food and comfortable well furnished bedrooms. Lovely bathroom with fluffy rodes and towels andf toileteries. There was also a good hairdrier and tea and coffee making facilities.

The hotel is set in Rylestone gardens with ample parking and a delightful peaceful garden at the rear, complete with resident red squirrels.

A small intimate bar and a very comfortable elegant lounge. Small intimate dining room with good menu and very good food delivered piping hot to your table. Breakfasts are amazing! We hope to return on a regular basis and bring our friends with us. Thank you Carole, Michael and also Angela.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bartleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great hotel, great location,great food and last but not least , great hosts.
A trip to the IOW is like stepping back into the 60's and this is a positive, not a negative.
This hotel is small but beautifully formed...Every care has been taken with decor and the hosts emit pride in their hotel and rightly so. This is an ideal venue for a short or long calming break and with frequent ferries we did door to door in 3 hours from Buckinghamshire.
The best praise I can give the Rylstone is the promise that we will go again

Room Tip: Named after trees..Willow and Oak are the smallest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert193891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Quiet location in the gardens with easy access to Shanklin Chine, Old Town & coastal path. Every room very tastefully decorated and furnished in period style & just a lovely house to be in. Welcoming & friendly owners & the lady who serves at breakfast is a real treasure. We did not dine in the evening but judging by the breakfasts & comments made this would be a real experience. To top it all, red squirrels in the garden. We loved it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illingworth201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2011

Hotel with period furniture throughout.Rooms average sized.Bathrooms perhaps a little small.Lovely decor.Very clean throughout despite loads of potential dust traps.Good solid beds.Excellent breakfast,good choice well presented and well cooks. Staff friendly and polite throughout.Nice grounds in quiet location but short walt to town or sea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 685 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Rylestone Manor Hotel in 2008 and have just gone back again. It is a truly lovely hotel with so much character and charm. You are right next to Shanklin Chine with its beutiful walks. There is a fairly steep decent down to the beach but the Fishermans Cottage pub at the bottom is worth the trip and a visit. We love the IOW and will go back again and again. We will always stay at the Rylestone Manor Hotel as Mike & Carole make sure your stay with them is special and complete. The rooms are indivdually named and we stayed in Maple room. From the bedroom window we watched two red squirrels in the rear garden. It is idealic and we love it. Food is great and Shanklin is a short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing