We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little hotel in a perfect location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cute little hotel in a perfect location.”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

This is a quite cute little hotel in a perfect location in order to access the beach and Shanklin town. The beach (ca. 100 metres below the house) is accessible directly from the premises by steps (they are perfectly manageable for the normal person/child but certainly more difficult to manage for elderly or handicapped people or very small children). One can easily walk to the town center within approx. 5 minutes, however, bring a torch (or use the light of your mobile phone) if using the shortcut footpath during the night since a small section of about 200 metres is actually pitch-dark. The rooms are relatively small but perfectly clean and very cutely decorated in a style that appears (at least to the German eye) typically "English" (while this would certainly not be the style I should like to live in permanently, it nevertheless fitted quite nicely here given the overall design of Rylstone Manor. Service and cleanliness are impeccable. We did not try the dinner, but breakfast was very good and you also have the added value of a small but nice inhouse bar (and a quite nice sitting room). We can recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drea12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
128
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A delightful hotel in the fantastic setting of Rylstone Gardens - with its red squirrels! You don't feel that this is a hotel - it's more of a country house where you're the guests of the welcoming owners - Carole and Mike. Shanklin Old Village - a rare delight - the Chine, and the Beach are all easily accessible. This is a rare gem, and once you've found it you'll return again and again!

Room Tip: Go for the DBB package - Mike's culinary arts are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanb209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The best of british 19. century housing tradition combined with 21. century amenities.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

If you want an English experience try staying at this small private Hotel. A relative of ours took us down to this hotel and booked us in for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. As Kiwis who travel lots, we do not normally restrict ourselves to this kind of stay because we like to try eating out in various places, however this has been a very good experience for us. Michael the owner/chef produced the most delicious food everynight we were there and the staff are so nice and helpful. I would most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a quiet, relaxing stay with great food.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbalwaystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Excellent location, excellent hosts, excellent service, excellent food, excellent teddy bears (okay, if you haven't stayed you may not understand that) - but we did have a really great time and we were well looked after.

We plan to get back
.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristolvisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

This 9 room family run business provides everything you would expect from a small English holiday hotel. Geniality from the hosts and their staff, individuality in the bedrooms, pleasant lounge, bar and dining facilities. Although staying for four nights, we only ate dinner the once which was an extremely pleasurable experience. Located next to the park and yards from the sea cliffs, its position is ideal for someone needing a restful holiday, I now understand why so many of the guests return time after time. Should we return to the Isle, I know that we will return to Rylstone Manor.

Room Tip: Willow is the smallest room, see their website each room described
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHX_Traveller_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The hotel is beautifully positioned overlooking the sea and next to Shanklin Chine. Carol and Mike were excellent hosts and Khristy, our waitress, lit up the dining room with her lovely smile. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. Would recommend rooms facing back garden where you can watch red squirrels runn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaawener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
844 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#5 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing