We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2012

A delightful small hotel, beautifully located in Rylestone gardens in Shanklin, adjacent to the Shankline Chine - a must see ravine. The staff are all very pleasant and welcoming, and made us feel very comfortable. The room was stunning (Ash) at the front of the hotel looking out onto the gardens and we saw red squirrels there. Shanklin is a nice seaside town with a good beach and many thatched properties and nice individual shops. I would recommend this hotel; the food was excellent and beautifully served and there is also a beautiful lounge which you are encouraged to use. Watch out for the cute teddy bears which pop up all over the place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GrandmaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

My husband and I spent three days at Rylstone Manor in February. The hotel is a Victorian House situated in a public garden on Shanklin Chine. Although the only guests we were warmly welcomed by Carole and Mike our hosts. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the luxury of a four poster bed! The cuisine must be the best on the island; Mike having attended cookery courses with the likes of Rick Stein and Raymond Blanc. We travelled by Public Transport from Central London which was surprisingly easy; the train from Waterloo linking with the ferry and the train to Shanklin met us on arrival in Ryde. We took a taxi from Shanklin station to the hotel and Mike kindly drove us to the station when we left. As we were the only guests, dinner was discussed after breakfast. We were given a choice of three starters, mains and deserts which were prepared freshly for us each evening.
On arrival home, my husband discovered that he had left a sweater behind. We Emailed our hosts who phoned to say that they had found it and would post it to us. It arrived the following day.
We would highly recommend Rylstone Manor and hope to return there soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually decorated in a different style so best to discuss with Mike and Carole b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Genius3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were recommended this hotel for our first time to the Isle of Wight. It is In a peaceful location with Shanklin beach down the steep steps at the far end of the grounds. The rooms are very well furnished, ours all Laura Ashley, the beds were not that comfortable but fine for a couple of nights. Our bathroom was very small but adequate. We had breakfast which was first class, the waitress really was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. I unfortunately spilt some coffee on the small sofa in our room and was mortified as you can imagine. I immediately pulled the cover off and called the owner who was far from reassuring shall we say. For this reason we would not return here and the fact we felt it was overpriced. We found a couple of lovely beaches on the Isle of Wight and Osborne House is a must but overall the people were not very friendly, we had poor meals out and it was a bit of a let down.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeeBKHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy the mattress in that room (Ash we think) but it is newish and a 2000 pocket sprung quality make, but beds are a personal choice and it is difficult to find one thats suits all. We are also sorry you did not feel very reassured after the coffee incident but our reaction was probably down to that sofa only being a few weeks old. It can be disheartening when something happens like that and we are no different to anyone else when it comes to showing our feelings initially but we do undewrstand accidents do happen and appreciate you were as mortified as we were. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our friendly service, thank you for great comments. Sorry the other eating establishments were not friendly or up to the mark. We do an evening meal ourselves, which unfortunately you didn't try, but we are happy to try and recommend other places to eat but it does depend on your tastes. The island has a lot to offer from Michelin starred to pub grub and everything inbetween. I would give the island another try

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Stayed at Rylestone Manor last spring for a weekend. Very nice place. Peaceful location right next to Shanklin Chine. Friendly owners/staff. Excellent breakfast...the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were Michelin star quality! Would definitely consider staying there again if going to Shanklin. The tree in the garden at the back even has real life red squirells in it so take your camera.

Three "observations" which are not a critisism in any way but worth mentioning...

1) The grounds are a public park so don't leave valuables in your car and expect people to be walking around etc. We did not see any local kids hanging around the bandstand in the evenings although I heard that this does sometimes occur.

2) The hotel is quite small. It is more what I would call a guest house than a hotel. The rooms have names not numbers if I remember correctly, and there are only about 10 rooms. This adds to the peace and exclusivity but don't expect a busy hotel with porters and manned reception. We hardly saw anyone the whole weekend except for breakfast time.

3) There is access to the beach from the park but there are a lot of steps.

Over all, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScottB74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

2 night stay with 3 friends. The place was exactly as it appeared on it's website - very nice, but obviously aimed at the more mature traveller. The setting is beautiful and tranquil, and both the building and gardens are very well kept. The decor was way too chintzy for our tastes (plastic fruit in the lounge?), but A) I could see that when I booked, B) The IoW doesn't appear to do modern chic which is our preference, (unless you shell out for Robert Thompon's gaff) and C) it is at least in keeping with it's Victorian origins.

We didn't have much contact with the proprietors, but they seemed pleasant, if rather keen on rules. Is there really any need to mention that it is "no smoking" - even in the gardens, no less than 3 times within as many pages in the guest's info? They even threaten a £200 fine for offenders! We get the message, thankyou, and I walked quite a distance away for a fix.

Full English breakfast was good, but the kippers I had on the second morning were out of a packet and not of the fresh variety. Friend has smoked salmon/scrambled eggs which was superb and beautifully presenetd. The lady who served was very friendly and helpful. Rooms are on the small side, and very cluttered. I had a tiny bath with a shower attachment, which was very reluctant to locate in it's wall holder (crashed into the bath easily, which is no doubt why it was chipped) and it's output was very poor. They should do away with the uselessly small bath and install a decent shower cubicle.

We debated whether to book dinner (there isn't a plethora of good quality options in the near area) but decided the atmosphere would be too oppressive. The other guests were pretty elderly, and whilst we are 45-66 in age range, we tend to laugh a lot. I cannot, therefore, comment on the quality of the food.

I searched long and hard to find somewhere to stay on the Island (the south of which is looking rather sad these days) and I'm sure Rylstone Manor is one of the best choices. I would probably be a little more enthusiastic had we not spent the following 2 nights at Yalbury Cottage near Dorchester, which is a masterclass in how to run this type of establishment and considerably cheaper (especially on a single occupancy basis).

Room Tip: Ask for one with a proper shower cubicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

My family and I have just returned from a long weekend at the Rylstone Manor - the house is beautiful - the room luxurious. Breakfast was gourmet - you couldn't want for more. I can't comment on the evening meal as we prefer to eat out at different locations and know of a few delights in the Isle of Wight (The Taverners and The Essex - both in Godshill). The Rylstone's location is a delight, 5 mins from Shanklin town centre (the old quaint part). If I had to have a little niggle (which prevented me from giving the hotel the fifth star) it would be that housekeeping could be a little lapse - over the 4-days that we were there - they forgot a bath towel, teaspoon, chocolate and biscuits - however, minor these items - it was a shame that the room was not serviced consistantly. Apart from that little gripe - The Rylstone is a beautiful retreat for people that are looking to relax and chill out. Carol and Mike were both very friendly and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Myself and my husband have just spent a wonderful 4 night stay at this excellent hotel.Carole and Mike the owners made us very welcome and nothing was too much for them.Mike's cooking was equal to any celebrity chefs, we could find no fault.The hotel is spotless, the rooms are perfect and the location into town is just a few minutes walk away.This hotel is underrated as a 3 star, on our book it should come under the catergory of 5 stat deluxe! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandracas26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £125 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing