We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The is an excellent hotel with a great breakfast. We stayed 5 nights . We had Yew room which was beautifully decorated in blue and cream. The towels were changed everyday. Good quality shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. Breakfast was partly buffet and the cooked breakfast was done to order. There was a good selection of items for breakfast. The waitress was particularly helpful at breakfast time with suggestions of things to do on the island. The standard was of a 5* hotel and the only reason they have three stars is because there is no spa or swimming pool. It is set in Rylstone gardens but this was not a problem. There is a bandstand in the garden so we were treated to concerts each night of our stay. The sea is down the steps from the gardens. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and we were pleased to be on the east side overlooking the gardens beca...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Rylstone Manor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

A wonderful 3 night stay at the Rylstone Manor. We were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to the room and gave us some history of the hotel. It is situated in Rylstone Gardens, just a couple of minutes walk to the old village or 5 minutes to the beach (via the steps) so the position is perfect. The gardens were in full bloom and were in full view from the bedroom window.

The room was modern, clean and had everything needed. The hotel was quiet at night and we got a good sleep.

The owners were always on site to have a chat, give advice and help out. The quality of the breakfast was outstanding - the full English plus cereals, toast etc etc. I think it is probably the most efficiently run breakfast I have experienced, the waitress was friendly, chatty and did her job fantastically.

We visited over the Wimbledon finals weekend and had to check out on Sunday morning and asked if we could perhaps hang around to watch the final there before our late ferry home. It was no problem at all. Other guests were due into our vacated room so the owner cheerfully set up his TV in the drawing room for us and other guests to watch and this was much appreciated.

So if you want a pretty, friendly, quiet, well located break in Shanklin with good service and a good sleep then this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJandLontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Rylstone Manor for three nights to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. We were delighted with our choice. The hotel was amazing, in a lovely, quiet location. The staff were friendly, happy and went out of their way to offer service above and beyone what we have experienced previously in other hotels. We dined in the hotel for our actual Anniversary meal and the food, service, atomosphere could not have been better. The breakfasts were perfection and served by Angie, who was absolutely delightful, offering suggestions and generally being cheerful and chatty. We will recommend family and friends and return ourselves soon!

Room Tip: I think any room would be delightful! We had the Firs Room, which faces the garden and is totally p...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damma02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

As we (me and hubby) had an anniversary to celebrate, and as we love peace and quiet, the hotel looked perfect for us - open out of season, good price, close to pubs and coffees, yet not on a main street. We were not disappointed! Staid there for a long weekend, and we were the only guests of the hotel, which was perfect. The room was cozy and clean, and the food was good. The woman that served the breakfast was really friendly, and quite helpful regarding what to visit on the island. For dinner we went to "The Village Inn" - great place! The food was delicious, and liked the personnel.
Don't know how it is in season, but have to say, the place is not for kids. Nor even people our age, more like for elderly, but as we booked for out of season it didn't mattered. The hotel itself is a bit "heavy" on the decor, and not for everyone's taste. Also, you might find it a bit hard to get to the hotel - we got lost.
All in all, loved the stay, and if we go back, it won't be in season.

Room Tip: Every room is different, so check their site, or even give them a call before booking.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Whilst not staying here as hotel guest some friends and I were lucky enough to be accommodated by Mike and Carole to the pleasure of dining. The food was of a very good standard, more than meeting the standards of lots of restaurants and surpassing many hotels we have stayed in in the past. I would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends when visiting us ( we live on the Island ) and hope that it won't be too long until we dine here again. The overall appearance of the hotel is very attractive while also retaining the feel of a gentlemans residence.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Mike and Carole are just wonderful hosts - Mike a wonderful Chef: We had a beautiful room and a wonderful stay. The hotel is in a wonderful position on the Shanklin Chine and Shanklin was great to explore as was the rest of the Island. I would advise anyone going to the Isle of Wight to stay here. Thank you

Room Tip: We stayed in Maple - lovely and peaceful with a wonderful view of the red squirrels.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hibba1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We spent a most enjoyable five nights with Carole and Mike earlier this month. The hotel is beautiful with a very warm and welcoming atmosphere and in a perfect location. Mike is an outstanding chef, making breakfasts and suppers a real treat. We took all of our morning and evening meals in their dining room as we were intrigued by the menu which was different each day. In our extensive travels we have found few restaurants that can match his offerings.

Carole is a wonderful hostess and ensures all of the behind the scenes action runs smoothly. Her warm welcome at the reception desk made us feel right at home as soon as we got there. She, Mike and Angie, who serves up breakfast and bountiful knowledge of what is happening on the island, went out of their way to help us enjoy the many activities the island had to offer each day of our stay.

We did not have a car, and found rail and ferry a convenient way to get to Shanklin. The Manor is a short cab ride from the rail station. It is also located on the edge of the old town, and convenient to several bus stops that serve virtually the whole island. All of the attractions of Shanklin are within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: The Yew room, in which we stayed, was very comfortable with a window that opened onto the garden. T...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABauman1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £120 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing