We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay well clear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stay well clear”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked this hotel for the bestival weekend festival didn't know much about the hotel was shocked wen I arrived at the odour in the mail hall reception erea we showed a brief tour of the hotel then to are undersized room wich was almost claustrophobic the only feature worth staying in the room for for more than 10 minutes at a time was the Victorian style window overlooking a nice garden erea. As we un packed an settled in to the box room my partner needed a number of items of clothing iorning as their was no iron in the room went to reception waited ten minutes then decided to ring the hotel reception bell no one answerd after persistently ringing the bell still no one showed. We left a wile later to go to the festival arriving back at approximately 2am finding their was no sign of anyone at reception yet again an realising we were only provided with one bottle of sparkling water wich none of us drink. We were forced to go out and find drinks and snacks arriving back at the hotel a short time later with a pizza and drinks we eat in the room an cleared rubbish in bags ready to be took down the next day. The next day was no diffrent than the others no one in sight to ask for a iron after ringing in hotel reception bell again for wot felt like a life time we gave up and returned to are room. A short wile later we left the hotel briefly for toiletries as not many we're provided. Upon returning to the hotel we were confronted by the owners wife of the hotel who informed us that we were not allowed to bring food in to the hotel rooms an we should eat it outside or in are car. She also said she was shocked by the state ov the room the only thing out of place in the room was the fact their was a pizza box in a bag in the corner of the room the bed sheets were not changed just tucked under the mattres. I don't really know the rules of hotels in the Isle of Wight but I have never been told I could not bring snacks up to my room wich I have paid for I have only stayed on the island once before wich was in a hotel called the priory bay wich is a million miles away from rylstone manor never had any problems wid bringing refreshments up to are room and wich their was always a friendly face behind the reception desk waiting to help you with anythink you may need. For us rylstone manor is really over priced seriously over rated in much need of a make over and the owners need a lesson in how to speak to paying customers and need to hire some staff instead of trying to run a hotel greet guest an be a chef maybe then their would actually be sumone behind the reception desk to answer to guests. I am a well travelled person an in my opinion this is quite possibly the worst hotel experiance I have ever had stay well clear their are many hotels on the island in the same price range that offer a better service in every single way with bigger rooms much friendlier service staff that are actually their to help and answer questions an who don't have a problem with guests bringing snacks back. Avoid this hotel like the plague

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
21 Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Mr Jake J (if this is your real name as your sign in address was Liverpool and you are on here from Portsmouth?) Anyway I am always apprehensive about answering this sort of review as the basic crux of the matter was that you did not like being asked not to leave the room in the state you did. You were attending the Bestival concert and treated the room as if you were at the campsite. You left a giant pizza box, 4 polystyrene burger boxes on the floor along with some chips, which we presumed you did not leave as a tip to the poor chambermaid who cleared up after you. The towels had been used to wipe your mouth like a napkin and the bedding was all over the place. It was like a students room after a concert (ironic some may say). After the first night you checked out and left the key and the money for your stay at reception, no note as to why? You then called back at 17:00 to say that something had come up but was resolved and you were returning to get the key before going back to the concert. It was on your return and our first opportunity that we mentioned the state of the room. You were asked to eat your food in your car or outside if you were going to leave it in a state like that. The next day you checked out at around 5pm after changing a flat tyre with the quick statement that you did not like the way my wife spoke to you and moaning about the island roads! ( obviously my fault again). THAT was the reason for this review.
The only thing I would apologise for was not hearing the bell if you rang it as you say. You did have many other opportunities to ask about the water, toiletries and so on but said nothing, which is surprising when you look at all the things wrong according to your review. Just to educate you about ratings. a 3 star hotel like us does not have to have a 24 hours concierge or receptionist. (i',m sure someone can explain the big words). Having just nine rooms it would not be cost effective or required, as the last eight years have proven. I'm not sure if the pump action toiletries were too difficult for you to work out how to operate but we provide shampoo, shower gel and liquid or bars of soap. This is from Penhaligan's "Quercus" range and anyone who has genuinely stayed in quality establishments will know this is at the top end of room provisions and you have to be approved by them to stock it. We do have staff as the next reviewer pointed out. You wouldn't see them if you were not dining or having breakfast due to the fact you returned at 2am and didn't get up until 4pm. Had you frequented different times you would have met some of our delightful staff, even if just to apologise to the chambermaid. It was her who found the mess on the first day and the blood stained sheet from your girlfriends period(?) along with the sarcastic note, all of one word calling her something!!
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and would say that you have managed the title of the worst Bestival guests we have had, that is something that one of Liverpool's sons should be proud of.
However, as you quite rightly point out there are other hotels on the island and I'm sure the Priory Bay can't wait to welcome you back with open arms, I believe they have a Yurt that you can stay in now so it would be just like being in tent. Thankfully we have many guests who have written nicer more positive reviews who are of a different ilk to yourself. We know we won't be everyones cup of tea but we will try and make anyones stay as enjoyable as we can. We wouldn't have won awards with Johansens, the Chamber of Commerce or be in the Good Hotel Guide for the last eight years if we were as bad as you say.
Kind regards

Mike Hailston
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    29
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
125
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

A really lovely, friendly, homely hotel set in a fantastic location. Mike is a brilliant chef and nothing is too much trouble. Mike, Carol and Angie made us feel so welcome and we will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Debbie & Mario (and Mum and Dad!).
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry young Mario didn't win Celebrity Big Brother. Enjoyed your company and Carole still cries every time she watches Tom & G's video on You Tube!!
Hope to see you again sometimes or if we are in Thorpe Bay!!

Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A big thank you to Carole and Mike for making us feel so welcome. Room was beautifully decorated and thoroughly clean. Beds and pillows very comfortable. The entire hotel is beautifully decorated throughout. Food as always is exceptional. Good selection for breakfast which always fills you up for your day. Had two evening meals. Excellent selection and menu changes every evening and cooked fresh. Lovely to mingle with guests before your meal, have a lovely conversation during your meal and then tea and coffee served in the lounge to finish off a pleasant evening. A big thank you to Angie for her helpful suggestions at breakfast to decide what to do each day. Will be back to visit!

Room Tip: No ground floor bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Location is perfect, beautiful scenery, the luxury bedroom superb, the bed was so comfortable, we had the most lovely nights sleep, food was exquisite, breakfast and dinner. Highly recommended. Quiet, peaceful, feeling totally relaxed after a thoroughly enjoyable stay, with breathtaking views, will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarroldCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The is an excellent hotel with a great breakfast. We stayed 5 nights . We had Yew room which was beautifully decorated in blue and cream. The towels were changed everyday. Good quality shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom. Breakfast was partly buffet and the cooked breakfast was done to order. There was a good selection of items for breakfast. The waitress was particularly helpful at breakfast time with suggestions of things to do on the island. The standard was of a 5* hotel and the only reason they have three stars is because there is no spa or swimming pool. It is set in Rylstone gardens but this was not a problem. There is a bandstand in the garden so we were treated to concerts each night of our stay. The sea is down the steps from the gardens. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Each room is very different and we were pleased to be on the east side overlooking the gardens beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A wonderful 3 night stay at the Rylstone Manor. We were greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to the room and gave us some history of the hotel. It is situated in Rylstone Gardens, just a couple of minutes walk to the old village or 5 minutes to the beach (via the steps) so the position is perfect. The gardens were in full bloom and were in full view from the bedroom window.

The room was modern, clean and had everything needed. The hotel was quiet at night and we got a good sleep.

The owners were always on site to have a chat, give advice and help out. The quality of the breakfast was outstanding - the full English plus cereals, toast etc etc. I think it is probably the most efficiently run breakfast I have experienced, the waitress was friendly, chatty and did her job fantastically.

We visited over the Wimbledon finals weekend and had to check out on Sunday morning and asked if we could perhaps hang around to watch the final there before our late ferry home. It was no problem at all. Other guests were due into our vacated room so the owner cheerfully set up his TV in the drawing room for us and other guests to watch and this was much appreciated.

So if you want a pretty, friendly, quiet, well located break in Shanklin with good service and a good sleep then this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJandLontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at Rylstone Manor for three nights to celebrate our 30th Wedding anniversary. We were delighted with our choice. The hotel was amazing, in a lovely, quiet location. The staff were friendly, happy and went out of their way to offer service above and beyone what we have experienced previously in other hotels. We dined in the hotel for our actual Anniversary meal and the food, service, atomosphere could not have been better. The breakfasts were perfection and served by Angie, who was absolutely delightful, offering suggestions and generally being cheerful and chatty. We will recommend family and friends and return ourselves soon!

Room Tip: I think any room would be delightful! We had the Firs Room, which faces the garden and is totally p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damma02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing