We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rylstone Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Frodsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was our first visit to the island, and we were not totally sure what to expect. This lovely hotel was just perfect, pretty surroundings, excellent staff and owners. Mike is a first rate host and chef, Carol was charming, friendly and helpful. The rest of the staff at the hotel were knowledgeable, helpful and informative. We will without doubt be returning to this charming and incredibly well run establishment in the very near future. Thank you all for a lovely introduction to the island.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    27
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
118
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Have just read the review by Jake, Portsmouth, and couldn't believe he was talking about the same hotel as we also stayed there that weekend 6th to 9th September and could not have asked for more. The rooms were immaculate, service was first class and food was fantastic.

Carole and Mike were the perfect hosts and did all they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible, as did the staff.

The hotel is set in beautiful gardens and within a short walk of Shanklin Old Village, it could not be better located.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we have recommended the hotel to other members of our family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We had a very pleasant two night break here. The location is ideal for an early morning/late afternoon stroll.

Our room was quiet and immaculate like the rest of the hotel. So much love and attention to detail has been made. The owners and staff were both cheerful and helpful. The food at breakfast time was first class.

Fail to see why anyone would complain so ignore the negative rating here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auberiginas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed as a group of three couples for three night. It is a lovely, old hotel full of character and spotlessly clean. The welcome we got was first rate. The food at breakfast and dinner far exceeded our expectations. (definitely four star) The owners and their staff went out of there way to make our stay memorable. Well done

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neilgrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed for 1 night prior to Bestival and opted stay for dinner. We were made very welcome on arrival, and just loved the overall atmosphere of the hotel - the style ,decor and staff. Our room was lovely and quiet.

Dinner was excellent, simple menu and food cooked to perfection. We had coffee /tea in the lounge with other guests, joined by Mike for relaxing and entertaining evening.

This was part of a "birthday surprise" present for me . . . couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed at Rylstone Manor the same weekend of the 8th September as the previous reviewer and our experience couldn't have been more different We thought the hotel was charming, tastefully decorated in traditional fashion, room absolutely clean and well prepared. We stayed for dinner one evening and the food was of 4 star quality, as were the breakfasts. The staff were pleasant, friendly and warm. They were obviously making a tremendous effort to provide a luxurious feel to a small, family run business. We are in no way connected to the hotel but thought the previous review deserved a rebuttal. Everyone has their own opinion but to expect instant service at 2 o'clock in the morning in a family run hotel is going a bit far.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markandbarbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Thank you both for your defending review. We do appreciate genuine and honest reviews. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are a small hotel and meet all the requirements of virtually all our guests. We try to run it on basis of what would we want or expect from a place of this size and style. Glad you enjoyed the food and staff and hope to see you again in the future should you return to the island.

Kind regards

Mike & Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Booked this hotel for the bestival weekend festival didn't know much about the hotel was shocked wen I arrived at the odour in the mail hall reception erea we showed a brief tour of the hotel then to are undersized room wich was almost claustrophobic the only feature worth staying in the room for for more than 10 minutes at a time was the Victorian style window overlooking a nice garden erea. As we un packed an settled in to the box room my partner needed a number of items of clothing iorning as their was no iron in the room went to reception waited ten minutes then decided to ring the hotel reception bell no one answerd after persistently ringing the bell still no one showed. We left a wile later to go to the festival arriving back at approximately 2am finding their was no sign of anyone at reception yet again an realising we were only provided with one bottle of sparkling water wich none of us drink. We were forced to go out and find drinks and snacks arriving back at the hotel a short time later with a pizza and drinks we eat in the room an cleared rubbish in bags ready to be took down the next day. The next day was no diffrent than the others no one in sight to ask for a iron after ringing in hotel reception bell again for wot felt like a life time we gave up and returned to are room. A short wile later we left the hotel briefly for toiletries as not many we're provided. Upon returning to the hotel we were confronted by the owners wife of the hotel who informed us that we were not allowed to bring food in to the hotel rooms an we should eat it outside or in are car. She also said she was shocked by the state ov the room the only thing out of place in the room was the fact their was a pizza box in a bag in the corner of the room the bed sheets were not changed just tucked under the mattres. I don't really know the rules of hotels in the Isle of Wight but I have never been told I could not bring snacks up to my room wich I have paid for I have only stayed on the island once before wich was in a hotel called the priory bay wich is a million miles away from rylstone manor never had any problems wid bringing refreshments up to are room and wich their was always a friendly face behind the reception desk waiting to help you with anythink you may need. For us rylstone manor is really over priced seriously over rated in much need of a make over and the owners need a lesson in how to speak to paying customers and need to hire some staff instead of trying to run a hotel greet guest an be a chef maybe then their would actually be sumone behind the reception desk to answer to guests. I am a well travelled person an in my opinion this is quite possibly the worst hotel experiance I have ever had stay well clear their are many hotels on the island in the same price range that offer a better service in every single way with bigger rooms much friendlier service staff that are actually their to help and answer questions an who don't have a problem with guests bringing snacks back. Avoid this hotel like the plague

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
20 Thank Jake J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear Mr Jake J (if this is your real name as your sign in address was Liverpool and you are on here from Portsmouth?) Anyway I am always apprehensive about answering this sort of review as the basic crux of the matter was that you did not like being asked not to leave the room in the state you did. You were attending the Bestival concert and treated the room as if you were at the campsite. You left a giant pizza box, 4 polystyrene burger boxes on the floor along with some chips, which we presumed you did not leave as a tip to the poor chambermaid who cleared up after you. The towels had been used to wipe your mouth like a napkin and the bedding was all over the place. It was like a students room after a concert (ironic some may say). After the first night you checked out and left the key and the money for your stay at reception, no note as to why? You then called back at 17:00 to say that something had come up but was resolved and you were returning to get the key before going back to the concert. It was on your return and our first opportunity that we mentioned the state of the room. You were asked to eat your food in your car or outside if you were going to leave it in a state like that. The next day you checked out at around 5pm after changing a flat tyre with the quick statement that you did not like the way my wife spoke to you and moaning about the island roads! ( obviously my fault again). THAT was the reason for this review.
The only thing I would apologise for was not hearing the bell if you rang it as you say. You did have many other opportunities to ask about the water, toiletries and so on but said nothing, which is surprising when you look at all the things wrong according to your review. Just to educate you about ratings. a 3 star hotel like us does not have to have a 24 hours concierge or receptionist. (i',m sure someone can explain the big words). Having just nine rooms it would not be cost effective or required, as the last eight years have proven. I'm not sure if the pump action toiletries were too difficult for you to work out how to operate but we provide shampoo, shower gel and liquid or bars of soap. This is from Penhaligan's "Quercus" range and anyone who has genuinely stayed in quality establishments will know this is at the top end of room provisions and you have to be approved by them to stock it. We do have staff as the next reviewer pointed out. You wouldn't see them if you were not dining or having breakfast due to the fact you returned at 2am and didn't get up until 4pm. Had you frequented different times you would have met some of our delightful staff, even if just to apologise to the chambermaid. It was her who found the mess on the first day and the blood stained sheet from your girlfriends period(?) along with the sarcastic note, all of one word calling her something!!
I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and would say that you have managed the title of the worst Bestival guests we have had, that is something that one of Liverpool's sons should be proud of.
However, as you quite rightly point out there are other hotels on the island and I'm sure the Priory Bay can't wait to welcome you back with open arms, I believe they have a Yurt that you can stay in now so it would be just like being in tent. Thankfully we have many guests who have written nicer more positive reviews who are of a different ilk to yourself. We know we won't be everyones cup of tea but we will try and make anyones stay as enjoyable as we can. We wouldn't have won awards with Johansens, the Chamber of Commerce or be in the Good Hotel Guide for the last eight years if we were as bad as you say.
Kind regards

Mike Hailston
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing