We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rylstone Manor Hotel
Ranked #15 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“What a find!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

It's been a long time since we visited the Isle of Wight; this must be the best hotel on the island. Carole and Mike have maintained Rylestone as a period property, it is sited in the middle of a formal garden with exotic trees all round. despite it's period feel it has all the modern attributes one would expect; it amazes me that in order to be an hotel with a five star rating there has to be concierge or a pool, this is a five star hotel simply on a smaller basis, nine lovely bedrooms with red squirrels in the garden and food to die for. The drawing room with it's unusual windows is the place to gather after dinner when the proprietors will join guests and the atmosphere is like a proper dinner party in a luxurious home. Angie and Ellie the two ladies who help are lovely.
Don't go anywhere else, and once you have been you won't want to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobDunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    28
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
120
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Second time staying here this time for a whole week and we took mother in law and step fathering law , had rooms willow and oak ,had a great week, Mike and Carole always make you feel so welcome ! It's like staying at a friends place not a hotel ! Guys don't change a thing !!!! Other staff also go the extra mile to make things special for their guests again well done guys ! Message for Angie Sarah's teddies miss the fun and games in the mornings !!!! Lol
As I said at the beginning Mike and Carole well done you have a real gem there don't change a thing !! See you guys again next year !!!

Gary Sarah Carol and Robert

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank gazasarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a superb hotel in a great setting in parkland near Shanklin Chine and close to the sea. Quiet location, but town centre is only a short walk away. Owners and staff are very welcoming and friendly and the service and food excellent. Beautiful décor and very clean. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, Middlesex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful few days staying at Rylstone. From the moment we entered the front door we were made to feel special. The rooms are spotless and sheer luxury. The breakfast was everything you could ask for. We had already made arrangements to eat out in the evenings but understand from others we may have missed out on a few tasteful treats.
We would like to thank Carole,Mike and Angie for making our few days spent with them very special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ash and for us this was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSpoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had several nights at Rylstone Manor. The hotel is lovely and yes it is a little disconcerting that the door is closed when you arrive, but ring the bell and you will be given a warm welcome.

Our room was lovely, clean and had everything we needed, the location was lovely in the grounds of a park and very quiet. Breakfast was very good, it set us up for the day. We did not have dinner in the hotel as we felt three courses was a bit much for us and it was quite expensive if we were not going to eat everything, but the food did smell wonderful.

My only small niggle would be that the shower was not thermostatic and went from hot too cold of its own accord, everything else was very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

So, this review may be somewhat out of date, but we went back to the gardens recently and it jogged my memory, thinking back, it made me want to write a review.

So, slight back story - my wife grew up in this hotel, her parents ran it when she was young. So when we got married in 2010, we decided to spend our wedding night in Rylstone Manor Hotel. We went to see owners beforehand as we also wanted to use the gardens for some champagne and canapes, mid way through the day. They said this would be fine, and we said we'd only be an hour or so.

I was a bit disappointed, as we asked if it would be ok for my 88 year old Granny to come into the hotel for a sit down and a cup of tea whilst this was going on. They told me this wasn't possible, no one was allowed in the hotel. This marred it for me a bit, and rather than 70 odd guests in the garden hearing about how welcoming and accommodating the hotel was, they heard about poor Granny not getting a sit down. I could see where they were coming from, they didn't want people traipsing in and out, but this decision was a bad one, I thought.

Anyway, we left and that was that...

When we got back later in the night, after our reception, I had my second disappointment. Bearing in mind we had told them Josie grew up there, and they knew it was our wedding night, I was expecting better service. Maybe a complimentary bottle of fizz, or even a congratulations note on the room - no effort had been made to make the room 'special'. Again, in the morning, we weren't greeted as 'Mr and Mrs Pritchard', nor was our wedding mentioned or congratulated upon... instead, we kind of felt like we were imposing.

I know this is a bit petty, but I just think that it's the little things that make the difference. With very little effort, they could have made us feel really welcome and really special, and I'd have recommended Rylstone to everyone.

Anyway, Rylstone is a lovely hotel in fantastic grounds. Nearby shanklin is amazing and it's right next to Shanklin Chine. If you're coming to the Island on holiday, I heartily recommend it and I'm sure the owners will give you a lovely holiday. I was just a bit disappointed as it quite upset my wife not to have a better reception at her old family home.

Note - the date ays September 2013, this was Sept 2010 but it is the same owners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank talktotippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comical1, Owner at Rylstone Manor Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are sorry you left feeling disappointed, although as it was fours years ago I will try my best to explain some items in your review. We have had a few people come to the hotel for wedding nights and have tried very hard to remember what details really relate to your experience.
We believe we did make tea for a few elderly ladies in the hotel in our drawing room, if your Granny was not one of them then I am at a loss as to whom we made tea for. A few people did come in and out of the hotel but there were no issues with this to my knowledge. You did originally ask us to do the champagne and canapés. We explained it would be difficult to get all the people in the hotel and OUR garden and be separate from the other guests at the hotel as we are only a small 9 bedroom hotel. We said we would do our best. We ordered an extra 3 cases of bubbly in. You then cancelled this, deciding to do it yourselves in the public part of the gardens. We did not make any fuss about this, despite having incurred the cost of the bubbly up front. (we believe it was pink Prosecco)
We address all our guests quite affectionately by the room they are booked into. So you would have been Mr & Mrs Beech. Carole is sure you would of had a card at the breakfast table in the morning as we normally do this to various couples whom we know are celebrating something special so I am sorry if this was not the case.
I also do not wish to be petty but I do find the judgement of poor service a bit harsh when it really relates to not being given things for free. We understand that Josie was brought up at Rylstone but this bears no relation to us or our business, neither does it put us under any obligation to do anything more than we would do for any other guest. We didn't charge for any photography being taken inside or outside the hotel(not sure if it was you or another couple but many places charge for this). We didn't ask for a deposit on the drinks and canapés. We didn't ask for any costs we incurred in purchasing the drink. It takes a fair bit of time to sell extra bottles of bubbly in a 9 bed hotel.
We are a caring couple who do our best for all our guests, we know we will not be everyones cup of tea. I would ask you to think about your expectations of us without you giving us any knowledge of them. If I were raised in a pub I wouldn't expect the landlord to give me a free pint even if I were eating and drinking there for the night.
We do try our best and thought we were as accommodating as we could be for all your arrangements. So we are genuinely sorry you feel like this and we are saddened to be receiving this feedback four years on from the time of the booking. As a lot of our reviews show, we are consistently rated for our friendliness, hospitality and service so it is a bitter pill to have to swallow this late in the day. We hope people look at our more recent reviews for a clearer picture of Rylstone and what we offer to all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Warm welcome from Mike,owner, on arrival at this lovely,peaceful spotlessly clean country hotel which is close to Old Shanklin and sea views.Delicious food cooked by Mike and served by the lovely Angie, who is a mine of information about the island. A big thank you to Mike and Carole for making our short break so enjoyable. Joy and Ian Macdonald.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rylstone Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rylstone Manor Hotel

Property: Rylstone Manor Hotel
Address: 10 Popham Road, Shanklin PO37 6RG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rylstone Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm friendly welcome awaits you in this award winning boutique period 3 star and silver award country house hotel (higher than guest accommodation). Featured in the Good Hotel Guide every year since 2006 and in Conde Nast Johansens. Hands on owners who care about the guests and ensure they spend a relaxing time here on the Isle of Wight.Winner of the IOW Chamber of Commerce Awards for excellence in Hospitality and Accommodation 2012. Call for more details. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rylstone Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rylstone Manor Shanklin
Hotel Rylstone Manor
Rylstone Manor Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing