We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice meal - lovely staff”

Jasmine indian cuisine
Ranked #25 of 77 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: 01983 863729
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really nice meal - lovely staff”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We went here on a Sunday night, whilst on holiday recently. The meal was great value - we ordered two x £10.99 Banquet menu for four of us and there was plenty of food. The staff were attentive, but not in an annoying way - which is always good. It was really relaxing. Restaurant decor was nice, no flock wallpaper in site, very bright and airy and no metal bowls to serve up in either, it was all chinaware. I'd recommend you try this restaurant, it really was very good indeed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    54
    19
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“sorry just not gd enough”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

as we are local we used to use the jasmine almost every w/k the food was really gd to eat in and takeaway until one Thursday a few weeks ago we ordered a take away meal as usual took home opened it up put it on a plate first the rice then the chicken madras the madras sauce looked different then normal it was watery and a an odd colour i took one mouthful it was awful anyway i phoned up and complained straight away the young girl said i,m sorry you don't like it but theres nothing we can do and put the phone down ....well theres something i can do and take our money some where else ...im sorry but that is not gd customer service thank you but never again

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teziow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Food excellent travel UK go Indian restaraunts all around this is defo in my top 10 ty again brilliant”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Service v good starter sheek kebab excellent .chicken madras perfect nann bread perfect ty see you again soon I hope

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rats156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Friendly Service - Lovely Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Being Isle of Wight residents, my wife and I tried the Jasmine for my birthday meal. It was an extremely stormy night, and in a way being sat at a table overlooking the high street with weather akin to a monsoon added to the atmosphere. The service provided was friendly and efficient, we chatted to the lady chef/owner? She was amenable, pleasant, and very knowledgeable about the dishes the restaurant produces.

Food wise the Jasmine offered fine quality with good portions. The Banquet menu (Sundays & Wednesdays I believe) offers great value. The Tandoori Chicken starter was a little more bone than meat but spiced nicely. Plenty of lightly dressed salad was served, including with the main meals - too much for us to be honest. We tried some slightly more unusual indian main meals. The 'Chop Pilau' was a great take on Biryani, not only do you get Lamb Biryani but an accompanying Lamb Currry, which can be as hot as you like. My wife's Chicken Shashlik was divine, a dry dish and quite unusually spiced - not a curry but very good.

Overall a positive experience, and recommend this restaurant to residents and visitors alike. We'll certainly be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_IOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal - Great Welcome”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Visited latish on a Wednesday evening. My wife had a delicious "Chop Pilau" lamb biryani dish, I had buffet menu - £10.99 for starter, main, side, rice/nan - excellent value. Before long we were the only people left in the restaurant but no sense of rush to get us out. Bright airy décor makes a change from usual Indian restaurant style.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timsmithmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jasmine indian cuisine also viewed

Ventnor, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
Isle of Wight, England
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Jasmine indian cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing