We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AJ's fish & chip takeaway, Shanklin.”
Review of A.j's takeaway

A.j's takeaway
Ranked #24 of 83 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Description: We Are A Traditional Fish And Chip Shop With Fresh Fish And Chips Cooked To Order We Also Sell Pies,sausages, Burgers, Jacket Potatoes Kids Meals And Vegetarian Meals
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Brilliant small family chip shop. We were staying at a caravan park in Shanklin and called in here after a day out.
The shop is handy located, just up from the sea front.
There is a small car park opposite the shop.

The staff friendly and chatty.
A large menu with fish cooked to order. Med. cod £3.60 and med chips £1.90
The meal was tasty and filling.

Excellent, recomended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pinkshoes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We went there for dinner, the chips were dripping in oil. The battered sausage was too greasy, couldn't eat it as was feeling sick after the first mouthful. Was meant to get 3 fish fingers with kids meal. We got 1 bit of fish with batter on, dripping in oil. Went backb,o enquire, they said it was how they do fish fingers.I wouldn't feed it to a dog, let alone my child. The only thing that was ok was my partners hot dog. We certainly won't be returning there!!! Feel sick just thinking about it. Our meals together come to 11 pounds, which most of went in the bin!!! Waste of money!!!

Thank Lucy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at A.j's takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

we used to sell 3 fish fingers in a children s meal, but they were small so now they actually get a jumbo fish finger, (which is bigger than the 3 small ones), with chips, we have never sold any product which is dripping in oil, and i know our sausages are not greasy as i eat our sausages nearly everyday, If you had brought the food back we would have looked into it but because you did not and did not complain we cant do nothing about it, with only 1 complaint in 1000, customers surely speaks for itself, and only £11 for your food is probably the cheapest on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have been to ajs many of times and have always been served with a smile and the food has always been perfect everything I have had from there has been near to perfection I highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jimmydavis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew R, Owner at A.j's takeaway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

we used to sell 3 fish fingers in a children s meal, but they were small so now they actually get a jumbo fish finger, (which is bigger than the 3 small ones), with chips, we have never sold any product which is dripping in oil, and i know our sausages are not greasy as i eat our sausages nearly everyday, If you had brought the food back we would have looked into it but because you did not and did not complain we cant do nothing about it, with only 1 complaint in 1000, customers surely speaks for itself, and only £11 for your food is probably the cheapest on the island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Cooked fresh whilst you wait staff are very friendly and obliging. The fish and chips are so tasty and a great choice on the menu.

Thank martinigirl129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Lovely fresh cooked fish and chips. Staff friendly. Have to park in car park across the road as have double yellow lines outside the take away.

Thank Debza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A.j's takeaway also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to A.j's takeaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing