We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay, lovely accommodation and even lovely...”
The lovely Albury palm veranda, the Villa is on the left and the Cottage is on the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lovely Albury palm veranda, the Villa is on the left and the Cottage is on the right
The Albury, Shanklin Est. !871, now newly refurbished retaining its Victorian character The Albury palm veranda, a perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
The lovely Albury palm veranda, the Villa is on the left and the Cottage is on the right
The Albury, Shanklin Est. !871, now newly refurbished retaining its Victorian character
The Albury palm veranda, a perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.
The pretty Albury Cottage lounge
Pretty Albury Cottage lounge - complimentary bottle of wine included in your welcome hamper
The Albury Cottage Kitchen/Diner
The Albury Cottage Kitchen/Diner
The Albury Cottage Kitchen/Diner
The pretty, nautical Albury Cottage Twin Bedroom with a sink
The pretty, natutical Albury Cottage Twin bedroom with a sink
The Albury Cottage double bedroom, with en-suite shower room
Upstairs at the Albury Cottage with sea glimpses
Albury Cottage Hall
Albury Cottage Hall
Albury Cottage Hall
Albury Cottage bathroom (there is also an en-suite shower room and a separate downstairs cloakroom)
Under the grapevine, pretty private seating area at the side of the Cottage
The Albury Cottage veranda
The Albury Villa photo's
Historical pub on Hope Beach, a stroll away from The Albury
Just part of the stunning long sandy Hope Beach, minutes from The Albury.
Small Hope beach, home to the Shanklin Sailing Club, Shanklin Rowing Club and water activities
Sandy Hope Beach at the end of the road from The Albury, home of the Shanklin Deep Sea Fishing Club
The charming, quaint Shanklin Old Village, just around the corner from The Albury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kentgirl...
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely stay, lovely accommodation and even lovely weather in April!”
Reviewed 6 April 2015 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights in April 2014 and had a lovely stay. Elaine made us very welcome, the cottage was like a home from home, very light and lovely, and as we had beautiful weather it couldn't have been better. The welcoming hamper was especially useful as immediately we arrived, we unpacked and then walked straight up to see Suggs at the Shanklin Theatre on our first evening (a brilliant and unexpectedly amusing show), and thereafter unexpectedly even had chances to sit on deckchairs on Shanklin Beach roasting in the sun. Did not want to go home at the end of the stay - highly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tinajoann...
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely clean cottage, and had everything we needed.Elaine made us very welcome, our welcome hamper was great, even a bottle of bubbles!! We had a fantastic 3 days and plan to go back in October

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JC1London...
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great place to stay with lots of nice extra touches”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This self catering cottage is beautifully furnished and the owners have gone out of their way to provide some wonderful extra finishing touches, including a lovely welcome hamper. From the comfortable furniture to the fully stocked kitchen it makes for a great relaxing place to stay. The cottage is in a great location close to the main town of Shanklin for the shops and good bus and train services to the rest of the island, close to the old village of Shanklin for some good pub restaurants, and close to the seafront and beach where there are more pub restaurants. The owner provided some really useful information about where to go and what to see and was very helpful and made our stay memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Really comfortable furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E82cfc
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Albury Villa”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Last time we had a girly weekend we stayed in the Albury S C Cottage which was Fab but this time we stayed in the brand new Albury Villa (next Door)
Again could not fault the Villa very comfy and felt at home, each room is very well decorated with a private lounge and Kitchen
The owner Elaine was very very helpful and welcoming, the only thing should could not help us with was the rainy sunday
But apart from the rain could not fault this new villa and will be back in the summer with the grand kids to either Villa or Cottage

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location just off the high street and near the beach
Liked least: The rain on sunday
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorrain P
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend away”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We booked a weekend away for just the two of us, loved the b& b as it was warm and welcoming , we had everything we needed and more , perfect place to base youself to visit all of the I.O.W . We felt relaxed from the minute we walked in. The only thing is we both wished we had booked a week and not a weekend. We enjoyed the fact we were two mins from the beach and two mins from the old village. Beautiful place to stay beautiful location. We will be back very soon. Xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Standard of the bed and breakfast
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paolinai
surrey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful first holiday”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Having a 6 week old baby meant that my husband and I needed a relaxing home from home holiday and Elaine provided us with just that. The Albury is beautifully furbished and extremely comfortable with all amenities provided. It was in the perfect location to go for walks either to the beach or into Shanklin. The welcome hamper was lovely as was Elaine's personal card on arrival. We will remember this first family holiday for a long time and thank Elaine for providing us with a fantastic base to explore the island from - I think it's safe to say we'll be returning when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny P
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic quirky cottage with lots of charm!”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just returned from our short stay at the Albury cottage. We had a lovely time! Elaine made us feel so welcome! Our little boy loved the pumpkin which was left for us to carve! Perfect for a family with young children, this cottage offers a great base! The beach is a short walk away (buckets, spades, fishing nets are all available!) The welcome hamper was excellent, no need to go shopping when we arrived! We thoroughly enjoyed our short time there and will definitely return in the future! Thank-you Elaine!

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing