We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service”
Review of Purple Mango - CLOSED

Purple Mango
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Used this restaurant once and found it very nice. Made welcome with a pleasant appearance. Good menu and the food was nice, perhaps a little under spiced but perhaps that was the dishes we choose, and well presented. Good service and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeicesterGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    83
    41
    20
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very Good Dining Experience”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Bit baffled by many of the bad reviews as we received good service and excellent food at reasonable cost. Only visited once as a couple early on Sunday evening when there were just a handful of other customers hence rather quiet. Staff were polite and attentive without hovering or trying to rush us. They took our order, served drinks and food arrived about 10 -15 minutes later. Just what we'd expect really. Personally, we choose not to get pally with waiters so the level of attentiveness we received was spot on but if you're not on talking terms with your other half or you're dining alone, you may want more interaction.

Whilst the selection of menu dishes probably won't surprise anyone, it offered many dishes as both mains and side orders, so very flexible. Many of the 'traditional' curry sauces/styles were offered with a choice of meats, seafood or vegetables - yes, other places do this too but it's still a good thing and particularly helpful for veggies and other restrictive diets.

Looking around the room as we waited for our food, the restaurant was clean, modern and in a very good decorative order giving the impression that it hadn't been opened long but I was informed it had been in business for around 7 years. We selected quite a few side orders so the food arrived in many dishes, each looking clean, well-presented and very tempting. Quantities were as expected (always a dilema deciding how much food to order) but the quality was excellent.

Rememeber the mid-to-late 70's when Indian restaurants started appearing on English high streets? Sadly, I do. They served curries that blew your head off with excess chilli powder yet usually had little underlying flavour. And the content was often worryingly indeterminate. Well, if your tastes haven't moved on, this is the wrong establishment for you. Food was served without an oil slick and dishes were sympathetically flavoured such that the main ingredients could still be tasted. For us, the flavouring/seasoning was spot on. Vegetables were cooked 'al dente' (excellent textures), all dishes retained distinctive, individual flavours and food felt and tasted very fresh (how did they get the pilau rice so light and separate without being at all dry?). The cost of this excellent food seemed reasonable too.

The most important aspect of eating out for us is food quality, which in this case was excellent, hence a full five stars.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Reliable Indian”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very good Indian cuisine, with friendly service. Nothing outstanding, but we had a pleasant meal and the prices were reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“food excellent. service uninterested.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Food here is really excellent: very flavourful. Staff are not interested and whilst polite need to be more attentive to their customers. Look around servers and pay attention to people who need service. Regardless... the food is so good I would go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Curry”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had several meals at this restaurant over a few years, each visit good. Nice restaurant, pleasant friendly staff. Good service without staff fluttering around. Clean crockery cutlery linen and glasses. Very recommendable.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Purple Mango also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 
Isle of Wight, England
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing