We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely must do walk”

Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely must do walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Walk through Luccombe to Ventnor great new path from Bonchurch through to Ventnor sea front which has undergone a major renovation

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    97
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This can be as strenuous or easy, as you choose.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A bit of a scramble and you need to be aware of the tides if you are to attempt walking below the cliffs. If you are careless you could find yourself in a bit of pickle, some of the steps leading up the cliff are very neglected and have become dangerous, The local authority has closed at least one!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An enjoyable walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Interesting walk along the coast, passing on the edge of various villages and super houses overlooking the sea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unexpected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This walk was amazing. Beautiful glimpses of the ocean from a lush forest walking trail. It's hard to believe you are still in the UK. Almost tropical. Definitely well worth the effort. Ventnor is a bit of a dump. Didn't stay long. Got a taxi back to Shanklin (about £8)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jacksor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tranquil Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

You need to start this walk with the outgoing tide, particularly if you plan to walk back too. My son and I left the busy beaches of Shanklin to almost deserted areas of beach. We needed to climb one break-water as we probably started our walk too early, but it was well worth it - we felt like we were on a desert island! (There are no refreshment venues nor toilet facilities on this walk, until you reach Bonchurch, then Ventnor). Please time your walk well as the incoming tide does cut off many parts of the beaches.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanklin to Ventnor Coastal Walk also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
 
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Shanklin to Ventnor Coastal Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing