We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a challange for us” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanklin to Ventnor Coastal Walk

Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bit of a challange for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I are late 50s and not regular walkers.
Starting from Shanklin there is a steep ascent and then you go off road. The coastal path has some gorgeous views and there is a section that goes through a wooded area. This is the tricky part, some ups and downs and the are bars that act as handrails in the trickier parts. Some of the path markers are not so clear and we were on peoples property on a couple of occasions.The last part of the walk is mainly down hill and a lot easier. We were pleased to have completed this walk, but wont be looking to do it again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    94
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great walk and unexpected surprise....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We walked to Ventnor from Shanklin along the road and it was a long slog but worth the trip.

On the way back we chose the coastal path which was a delight for the views.

20 minutes from the end of the walk, and on a very very hot day a welcome sight at the end of a garden appeared.

The Chalet Shack, with gravelled area, benches, shade giving umbrellas and the welcome sight of cold drinks and ice creams!

We were warmly welcomed and spent half an hour chatting to the owners while enjoying an ice cream.

The walk is a good hour and a half for a moderately energetic person. Some of which is a bit of a climb on the larger stone steps and steeper paths, but well worth the effort

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely must do walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Walk through Luccombe to Ventnor great new path from Bonchurch through to Ventnor sea front which has undergone a major renovation

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbiedodar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This can be as strenuous or easy, as you choose.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

A bit of a scramble and you need to be aware of the tides if you are to attempt walking below the cliffs. If you are careless you could find yourself in a bit of pickle, some of the steps leading up the cliff are very neglected and have become dangerous, The local authority has closed at least one!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank maxellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An enjoyable walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Interesting walk along the coast, passing on the edge of various villages and super houses overlooking the sea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank claire c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shanklin to Ventnor Coastal Walk also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
East Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Totland Bay, Isle of Wight
Ventnor, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Shanklin to Ventnor Coastal Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing