We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of The Aqua

The Aqua
Ranked #15 of 87 Restaurants in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Great views and great traditional food on the sea front of Shanklin Isle of wight. Only down side parking can be hard

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank nigel908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2018

We were staying in an apartment nearby in the summer, but visiting The Aqua became our favourite thing to do most evenings. It was one of the quieter bar/restaurants along the seafront. We'd sit at the tables at the front of the veranda, having drinks from the bar, playing cards, looking out to sea and watching the world go by. We had our dinner there a couple of times and the whole family found everything delicious.. All staff we encountered were very friendly and pleasant. There was nothing that we could fault about The Aqua and would highly recommend it to anyone in the Shanklin area. We'd also like to try staying there in the hotel at some point in the future too.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RMAR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Owner at The Aqua, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Thank you for your lovely review , and we hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us in the future.We are closed now for the season and re open for Easter 2019. Always telephone the Hotel directly to book accommodation as we can offer reduced car ferry prices ! Again many thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

Even though the weather was not great the views were amazing,small room but ample for single person, Staff were helpful and good breakfasts!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Raewyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

On the evening after our wedding at Newport Registry on the Isle of Wight on 28 Sept 2018, we booked a window seat table at The Aqua, on Shanklin Seafront. We had visited The Aqua a couple of times on each week’s holiday on the island and as we absolutely love the quality of the food, friendly staff and a lovely atmosphere - we then decided to have our reception at this restaurant as it was a special occasion for us. We were thoroughly spoilt with our table and window decorations on our arrival and we felt so special.

My husband and I will definitely be returning to The Aqua when we come over again for a holiday.

Thoroughly recommend it

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank sarah662016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

The Aqua Hotel open to general public for food and drink,we had not booked but were found a table by a very polite waitress.Restaurant was very busy but orders for drinks and food was very prompt, we ordered Rissotto was served very hot and very tasty and very filling so only 1 dessert of tiramisu delicious all served quick by very pleasant waitresses Thanks

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank cmanby41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Aqua also viewed

Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
Shanklin, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing