We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxhills of Shanklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #3 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sorry to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Just got back from staying in foxhills for 3 nights with a friend. Greeted wonderfully from the moment we got to the front door. Rooms lovely, breakfast superb, and service above and beyond (room service too!). As for the whirlpool - wow! Guests are asked to provide info at breakfast on where they dined night before as info collated, rated and on display (in little folders) to help other guests have an impartial view - brilliant idea. Only 10 minute stroll to town. Can't rate this place enough. If i return to I.O.W i will definitely stay at Foxhills. Thank you James for being so friendly. Nicola.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank honeybunch9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
297
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We've just got back from a weekend break to the IOW staying at Foxhills for two nights. The room was spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The breakfast sets you up for the day and certainly one of the best we've experienced for some time. The hotel location is ideal for touring the island and there is a great variety of restaurants within walking distance. James made us very welcome from the moment we arrived and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lovely establishment to others. I certainly hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coulesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

We enjoyed a very relaxing short break here. Comfortable and tidy rooms, a delicious breakfast, wonderful whirlpool spa and attentive friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deuxmots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed in this guest house for four nights over the Isle of Wight Festival weekend. James and Paula are magnificient hosts, very welcoming and made every effort to make us feel relaxed and welcome.

Breakfast is delicious, with every need catered for. A very filling meal which really set you up for the day. They also had a snack menu available, which was could value for money and once again very tasty. If eating out they ask guests to review their meals to help you choose which restaurant to eat in as there are quite a few! A great idea which helped us have a very yummy indian one night!

Will definitely return when we visit the Isle of Wight again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elles-Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We visit James and Paula every year for our wedding anniversary, This year it is our 40th anniversary, and we could not think of any where better. They are the most friendly hosts. The breakfast is perfect and we are chefs . It is clean, comfy, beautifully decorated and every thing you wish for when you need a stress free break.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJLowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

We would like to say thank you to James for his hospitality that made our stay at Foxhills so special! Nothing was to much effort!
The room was beautiful and well equipped. The breakfast was very well presented with a great selection to chose from and was very tasty! The jacuzzi was amazing and made us feel even more relaxed especially as it can be used for private use!
We will definitely be recommending Foxhills and will definitely be coming back! Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! Warren and Kelly Wickert

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwickert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

Very good value for money. Owner couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5parkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing