We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house, lovely hosts and lovely food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely house, lovely hosts and lovely food!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed for one night on our first ever trip to the Isle of Wight. James could not have been more welcoming when we arrived, providing a guided tour, tea and homemade chocolates and called us by our names.
Room was spotless and at the back of the property so nice and quiet. We were provided with keys and told to come and go as we pleased. Tea and coffee in the rooms, which is always nice, along with a little note saying if fresh milk was preferred it would be provided.
We made use of the spa room, which was most welcoming after walking all afternoon, and robes and towels are provided.
Breakfast was delicious, with every option you could imagine available. I had a lovely fresh fruit salad and yogurt followed by poached egg on toast, andJjames even asked if I wanted butter on my toast, which I didn't, but no one ever asks! My partner had the full English, which went down a treat.
All in all, James and Paula have thought of every detail that goes into making a guest house that little bit special, and when i return to Shanklin it will be my first choice of place to stay. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flynnybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
301
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

2nd time at foxhills, and was remembered by James from the last time there.
Very quiet and peaceful, Breakfast was filling and spa was nice and warm.
Looking at going back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becgaz7464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We'd read all the previous reviews so high expectations had already been set. However it significantly exceeded these and any future Isle of Wight visits will be based here.

Room was spotless - didn't realise it was possible to get a room this clean. Staying in the four-poster Osbourne suite it was very comfortable and in great condition. However it was the service that stood out - excellent all round. Won't go into too many details as that will spoil it a little but essentially yo have all the benefits of a hotel (room service etc.) with the charm of a local B&B.

Location was great as well - easy walk into the centre of Shanklin old town (the nice area).

Having travelled a little for both work and pleasure, this is one of the few places we would definitely return too!

Dan & Rach

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanRan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My husband and I stayed at Foxhills for 3 nights in July. James our host was very welcoming and helpful, offering us a cup of tea and a delicious home made chocolate when we arrived - a good start. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the breakfasts were great. On this occasion we didn't have time to enjoy the spa or treatments but will return to Foxhills for a longer time. Well done to James and Paula for this lovely, clean, friendly B&B - a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andav11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was the 8th year we have stayed at Foxhills for our week holiday. James and Paula are really friendly and welcoming and excellent hosts. The rooms are spotless and elegantly decorated and the breakfast is always delicious with lots of choice. Nothing is too much trouble. The treatments are fantastic too.

Room Tip: All are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalNickW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We have just returned from a week's holiday to the IOW, staying at Foxhills for the whole duration. We had a lovely room with a six foot bed, nice and quiet as it was at the back of the building. Rooms always clean and tidy.

James, the owner, was always so polite, cheerful and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble. After a few days of having fresh milk for tea in late afternoon (I couldn't always manage a whole day out as 7.5 months pregnant!), he then began putting an nsulated jug outside our room containing milk, if they were going out. So thoughtful and very much welcomed after an exhausting morning/afternoon.

Breakfast was delicious every day and there was a lovely variety of fresh fruits daily to have with cereal etc. Can't fault them at all.

Would thoroughly recommend this as a central and lovely place to stay. In fact I already have to friends who have asked, before even getting home!!!! Everything was fuss free and they even organised our ferry crossings. Thanks James and Paula ... A super place to call home from home for a week!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleSmileyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I can honestly say that this is one of the very best guest houses that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in – I spent a week here and didn’t want to leave! The facilities were outstanding including spa and aromatherapy, beautifully furnished rooms and a superb breakfast menu. The host James had an excellent local knowledge and was gracious and attentive as well as being respectful of guest’s privacy. I would not hesitate to recommend this place – It is absolutely ideal for a weekend retreat and/or a holiday for singles/couples/families. It clearly works really hard for its 5 Star Gold rating and my goodness it thoroughly deserves it. Many thanks!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing