We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top B&B in Shanklin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 50 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Top B&B in Shanklin”
Reviewed 3 January 2008

We visited Shanklin for a Birthday Break and stayed at the Foxhills, in a room with a four-poster bed.

We were very impressed by the greeting from James, the proprietor, who showed us around and insisted on helping us with our luggage. This high level of service set the tone for a really enjoyable stay. The room and bathroom were spotless and well maintained. Breakfast was very good .

There are a lot of nice touches such as a mini-trpadvisor type review system of local eateries by previous guests, all indexed and ranked. Sadly, at the time of our visit, the top two restaurants appeared to have gone out of business but we still enjoyed eating out. It does show that providing good food and service does not in itself guarantee success! Nevertheless, if anyone deserves to be successful, James does and we would thoroughly recommend this establishment.

If I did want to nit-pick, I should say that getting the shower to stay at a uniform temperature was beyond my ability and that the rooms on the front of the hotel overlook a main road which does mean there will be the occasional car passing although we did manage to sleep well enough.

  • Liked — Excellent service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Main road position, 10 minute walk from sea view
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AF_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
301
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2007

Having just returned from an overnight stay on the Isle of Wight, we were both disappointed to not be staying any longer. Just like other reviewers, we were greeted by James in the car park and shown around before being taken to our room. This personal touch and genuine welcome makes such a difference. The room was bright, well maintained and very clean. Good decor, warm and very quiet ensuring a good night's sleep. The bed linen was crisp and the bed comfortable. The ensuite was just as well maintained as the room. James and Paula have produced packs for the rooms containing very detailed information about the Isle of Wight, suggested tours and tips for travellers. They also have a cocktail menu and a choice of DVDs if you are too weary to leave the comfort of your room.

The breakfast was delicious and what a choice - Paula's homemade jam was yummy. The dining room provides a lovely setting and we felt we were able to enjoy our breakfast at our own leisurely pace. In the dining room are folders which contain reviews of local eateries. The reviews are written by guests staying at Foxhills and then collected by James and Paula. We went to a lovely restaurant based on the recommendations in these folders.

Our stay at Foxhills was very enjoyable and we hope to go back for longer next visit.

  • Liked — Warm welcome from James and breakfast.
  • Disliked — Chilly bathroom first thing in the morning!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worn_0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

We spent three relaxing nights at this lovely guest house in October and it really was first class. The bedroom was comfortable, very clean and quiet.

The breakfast was more than plentiful (cereals, home made jams/marmalades, fruit salad, croissants, toast, full English etc.) and gave us more than enough energy when exploring the island!

As we were eating out each evening we found the reviews of local establishments left by previous guests extremely useful. We also thoroughly enjoyed the Spa which was so relaxing after a long day exploring.

The Foxhills Guest House is definitely somewhere we will be visiting again. Thankyou to all the staff for a wonderful stay.

Sophie and Liam

  • Liked — The fabulous breakfasts and first class service
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sophiewarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol ENG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2007

From the personal greeting in the car park from James (the proprietor) on arrival we knew we had chosen the right hotel for our short break. Before being shown to our room we were given a guided tour of the hotel and its facilities (spa bath). Our room (Yaverland) was large, bright, airy, clean, well furnished and most of all relaxing. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice, and you were always given the opportunity of seconds. Thanks to James and the staff we did not see for contributing to a pleasant and enjoyable stay. We would thoroughly recommend the hotel and we would not hesitate to book if we return to the Isle of Wight.

  • Liked — friendly staff, well furnished and clean comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — 14
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We have just returned after a delightful stay at Foxhills the attention to detail and the whole atmosphere was second to none we would have no hesitation in recommending. The breakfast was delicious and to the highest standard as were the rooms and facilities.
If you go enjoy

  • Liked — The attention to detail and thought for the guests needs
  • Disliked — Not applicable
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonmaidDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2007

On a whim we stayed at the Foxhills in August for one night. It is a small friendly B and B hotel and the owner gave us excellent service and attention from start to finish. We stayed in the Four Poster room, which is excellent. The private spa room is an excellent touch and adds to the private romantic feel of the place. Lovely gardens and walking distance to old Shanklin which is lovely. Breakfast was home cooked and very fresh. If you are looking for a small private get- a- way at a very reasonable price, then you won't find a much better place to stay.

  • Liked — Personal service of owner
  • Disliked — On a reasonably busy road
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWBasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2007

This was my first return trip to the IOW for 15+ years and was a surprise birthday break organised at short notice by my sister. I think she was surprised and pleased to get into such a pleasant hotel/B&B. I would definitely recommend Foxhills as there is clearly a lot of competition and the owners seem to go the "extra mile" in their attention to detail. From reading other Trip Advisor reviews it would seem this is a successful strategy as a lot of people make repeat bookings and I would certainly book there again.

  • Liked — bathroom in Osborne Room
  • Disliked — shower pressure, traffic noise
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank windsor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 50 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing