We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what the doctor ordered!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at Foxhills for a weekend away and we had a really lovely time. Despite the best efforts of the weather outside, the hotel was warm and welcoming. The spa was especially nice to come home to after a day exploring on the Island. The breakfast was excellent and, since most of the restaurants in Shanklin were closed, we had one of Paula’s chillis on the last evening of our stay. We would definitely recommend Foxhills. It’s on a quiet road but it is also close to the town and the quaint thatched pubs in the Old Village.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    400
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
299
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and i stayed at Fox Hills for a long weekend to celebrate our silver wedding,we were met by Paula @ James on our arrival ,the atmosphere waswelcoming,friendly relaxing and warm. we were shown to our room which was the osborne with a 4 poster bed the room was beautiful ,immaculately clean and a lovely bottle of wine was waiting on ice for us to celebrate . the hotel servicewas excellent nothing was to much trouble.staying there again on our next visit to breakfast was amazing,plenty of choice and cooked to perfection .the hotel offers a spa ,jaccusi ,and beauty treatments.location was perfect very close to the old shanklin village and not to far from the beach. we would highly reccomend Fox Hills and we will be staying there again on our next visit to the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

First weekend away as a single was just perfect - thank you Foxhills. Wanted service not fussing and got it. I appreciate good food in lovely surroundings and got it. Arrived late afternoon and was shown to the Arreton room. I chose chilli and nachos with a side salad from the snack menu, then read a magazine in the very elegant lounge and finished off the evening with a couple of cocktails - cant remember what they were called - made by James. The breakfast was very good as was the facial and manicure that Helen did for me prior to me leaving late afternoon. Thanks very much for a super lovely stay. Foxhills is very professional in all they do
yet in a warm friendly environment.

Room Tip: The Arreton - Comfy bed. Beautiful furnishings. Immaculate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. The hosts, James and Paula are so welcoming and can't do enough for you.

We stayed in the Carisbrooke suite and you can't ask for anything better.

The scrambled eggs are a must! James will tell you his secret, if you ask.

Can't wait to return................Get the cocktails ready!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

I'm not sure my comments can do this lovely hotel justice - all others reviews are spot on.
Very friendly welcome pitched at just the right level (not over-powering) with a brief tour of hotel and facilities. Nice touch also in offering me tea in lounge rather than making it myself in room.
Like others, I stayed in Osborne Room and couldn't fault anything. Breakfast was superb in morning.
Will definately be coming back. Thanks James!

Room Tip: Remember to take swimwear for relaxing dip in jaccuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_ShoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

I knew from the moment I saw foxhills & spoke to James that this would be the place to spend with my husband for his 40th birthday. With spa & treatments available why would u want or need to go anywhere else. We stayed in the osborne suite which was lovely, warm & very comfortable. The cooked breakfast was extremely good with a variety of fruit, cereal & yoghurts also on offer. Foxhills is also only walking distance to shanklin old village & town with shops, pubs & restaurants if u would like to go out & about. I would highly recommend foxhills friendly, attentive and welcoming you are given. Thank you so much, we could not have asked for any better, it was truely the best place we have stayed. Stuart and Dawn Wheatley.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stuart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a long weekend for a rest bite, and we were not let down. We were made exceptionally welcome by James meeting us upon arrival and showing us to our room.
As soon as we walked through the front door you could tell that the hotel was maintained to a very high standard, The decor was stunning and spotlessly clean through out.
James gave us a tour of the hotel, and the spa looked as inviting as it does in the pictures, utterly divine and relaxing.
The breakfast service offered by James and Paula was brilliant,a wide variety to choose from on the menu, but the Full English is well recommended.
With just a five minute walk from the hotel, is Shanklin old village, with plenty of traditional pubs and local cuisine, Or if you are just wanting to stay in and relax, James and Paula offer a lovely snack menu and a great selection of drinks.
I would, after staying here, recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a really enjoyable and relaxing break away. James and Paula really made our Weekend and it was one to remember. We came away totally relaxed. Thank-you very much

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing