We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane & Tony-2 day midweek break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Jane & Tony-2 day midweek break”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We were given a very walm welcome by James & Paula when we arrived. We had the Totland room which was spacious, extremely comfortable & all we could wish for to make our stay as good as possible. The spar was a welcome addition especially for my wife as she is disabled & the hot spar helped her immensely with her aches & pains making her perfectly relaxed. The health treatment my wife had by Helen was extremely good & proficient. Paula's breakfasts were delicious & served superbly by James. In our opinion, James & Paula are the best hosts we have ever met. We would recommend a stay at Foxhills to enjoy a most satifying experience. This was not our first stay & we have found the rooms we have used to be first class in every way & even though we are Islanders we will be definitely staying there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent. Osborne room with the four poster is brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janehunns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
308
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This was my first visit to the Island and I was so lucky to have chosen The Foxhills Hotel for my weeks stay.
Paula and James were the perfect hosts. The accommodation was first class and the food especially the breakfast was excellent.
I really enjoyed the spa for a relaxing time which recharged my batteries.
I would definitely recommend the Foxhills Hotel.
Thank you Paula and James for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanJennifer_12_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed at Foxhills for a weekend away and we had a really lovely time. Despite the best efforts of the weather outside, the hotel was warm and welcoming. The spa was especially nice to come home to after a day exploring on the Island. The breakfast was excellent and, since most of the restaurants in Shanklin were closed, we had one of Paula’s chillis on the last evening of our stay. We would definitely recommend Foxhills. It’s on a quiet road but it is also close to the town and the quaint thatched pubs in the Old Village.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband and i stayed at Fox Hills for a long weekend to celebrate our silver wedding,we were met by Paula @ James on our arrival ,the atmosphere waswelcoming,friendly relaxing and warm. we were shown to our room which was the osborne with a 4 poster bed the room was beautiful ,immaculately clean and a lovely bottle of wine was waiting on ice for us to celebrate . the hotel servicewas excellent nothing was to much trouble.staying there again on our next visit to breakfast was amazing,plenty of choice and cooked to perfection .the hotel offers a spa ,jaccusi ,and beauty treatments.location was perfect very close to the old shanklin village and not to far from the beach. we would highly reccomend Fox Hills and we will be staying there again on our next visit to the island.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

First weekend away as a single was just perfect - thank you Foxhills. Wanted service not fussing and got it. I appreciate good food in lovely surroundings and got it. Arrived late afternoon and was shown to the Arreton room. I chose chilli and nachos with a side salad from the snack menu, then read a magazine in the very elegant lounge and finished off the evening with a couple of cocktails - cant remember what they were called - made by James. The breakfast was very good as was the facial and manicure that Helen did for me prior to me leaving late afternoon. Thanks very much for a super lovely stay. Foxhills is very professional in all they do
yet in a warm friendly environment.

Room Tip: The Arreton - Comfy bed. Beautiful furnishings. Immaculate bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We can't say enough about this wonderful hotel. The hosts, James and Paula are so welcoming and can't do enough for you.

We stayed in the Carisbrooke suite and you can't ask for anything better.

The scrambled eggs are a must! James will tell you his secret, if you ask.

Can't wait to return................Get the cocktails ready!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I'm not sure my comments can do this lovely hotel justice - all others reviews are spot on.
Very friendly welcome pitched at just the right level (not over-powering) with a brief tour of hotel and facilities. Nice touch also in offering me tea in lounge rather than making it myself in room.
Like others, I stayed in Osborne Room and couldn't fault anything. Breakfast was superb in morning.
Will definately be coming back. Thanks James!

Room Tip: Remember to take swimwear for relaxing dip in jaccuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_ShoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing