We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decade of Delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #2 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My mum and I have just stayed at this wonderful hotel on the Isle of Wight. We have now been visiting Foxhills for over 10 years, often twice yearly and I can honestly say that if you are looking for 'excellence' then look no further. James and Paula are the perfect hosts and we would not stay anywhere else on the Island. They have everything just right and what you will experience by staying there is a consistent service to ensure that your break is something to be remembered. Whenever I ask my mum where she wants to go she will always say "let's go to Foxhills".
What makes this hotel special and a 'cut above the rest', let me tell you......
The hospitality - perfect, friendly with impeccable service
The hotel itself - immaculate, tastefully decorated, relaxing atmosphere and extremely comfortable.
The location - on a quiet lane close to Shanklin village, nice and flat so no hard walking or distances to travel. Suitable for all with a room on the ground floor for those who do not cope well with stairs.
The unspoilt grounds - look out for the 'Red Squirrels'
The rooms - spotlessly clean, top quality bedding, beautifully presented
The breakfasts - to die for, you don't need to ask everything is available from the freshness of the fruit to the perfectly cooked 'full english'.
Room service - if you don't fancy going out try the light snacks available, you won't be disppointed.
The Jacuzzi/spa - try this for relaxing, it is yours to enjoy privately!
Lastly - but by no means the least important, your hosts - James and Paula, they will ensure that your stay will leave you wanting to return.

When we left on the 20th April it was nice to think that when we return we know what will be waiting for us - a superb experience that is consistent and never changes, something hard to find in the hospitality and leisure industry.

Thanks again James and Paula and for making my mum's birthday break that bit more special. Your hotel deserves all the credits and awards it has achieved over the years.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and relaxing. The Carisbrooke and the Bembridge overlook the gardens. Foxhills is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie11Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is to be highly recommended. James and Paula were very attentive to our needs (we are both 70+) and nothing is too much trouble - from the carrying of our luggage to the free room service in the evenings. The beds (with new mattresses) were extremely comfortable (we both have back problems) and we slept as well as, if not better, than at home. The rooms were spotless and cleaned thoroughly each day. The whole house is tastefuly decorated and well heated. In the morning there is a large choice of fresh fruit followed by a full breakfast deliciously prepared and which may be eaten at leisure.
The beach is 10 minutes away on foot, the town centre and Old Village are closer. We shall definitely return here. Mike and Jenny

Room Tip: Check to see if they have offers on and book early. They will book the ferry for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend during the Easter Break. The hotel is spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. We had the Osbourne room with the four poster bed. It was a good sized room with a large bathroom. The weather was, unfortunately, not so good but the being able to return to such a warm and comfortable hotel at the end of the day made up for it. The Jacuzzi was just the place to relax after a long day's sightseeing and walking.

The hotel is just a short walk from Shanklin old town and the beach. There are plenty of places to eat in Shanklin so you don't need to drive to find an evening meal if you don't want to.

James and Paula were excellent hosts. The service could not be faulted with room service available all day with tea, coffee, snacks or cocktails available up until 10pm - in the lounge or in the room.

There was a good choice of breakfast available and it was perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

1. Excellent hosts
2. Neat and clean rooms
3. Breakfast was extensive
4. Near to Shanklin beach
5. Welcoming spa

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navdha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A lovely relaxing experience. James and Paula were perfect hosts. The location is ideal walking distance to Shanklin village and the beautiful Chine. The hotel was spotlessly clean, bed linen pristeenely laundered, well heated, and furnished tastefully. Our room was very comfortable with all the touches to make our stay just perfect. We have stayed in all different sorts of accomodation around the island for the past twenty years and this one comes out on top! The spa is wonderfully relaxing adding that final special touch. The selection of breakfast food is vast, ranging from fresh fruit, cereals to a range of cooked breakfasts, try out the Foxhall special its very tasty. Nothing is too much trouble for James and Paula. we will definately be staying again :-) Lavender_ lady Sue.

Room Tip: Check website room photos if available to know what you are getting, and always read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We thoroughly recommend Foxhills. The attention to detail was superb, there was an excellent breakfast and our room, the furnishings and the general ambiance made for such a good week-end. We were so pleased. My husband finds walking difficult and our ground floor room was excellent. James provided us with lots of useful information about the area and this made a real difference to our stay. This was especially helpful to us as my husband's mobility is poor but we found plenty of interesting places to visit despite this. Many thanks Alan and Barbara

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraM760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

A great welcome, didn't use the spa but it looked very welcoming, breakfast splendid, a power shower would make it perfection for me :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neerod23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
6 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westbury Lodge
Westbury Lodge
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fernbank
The Fernbank
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Belmont Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £65 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing