We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SHANKLINS little GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“SHANKLINS little GEM”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

A lovely, privately owned hotel.
Beautifuly furnished en-suite rooms.
'Paula 'the chef' and James ' the waiter' are justifiably proud of their business.
The Spa, lovely.
And i must not forget the deservedly displayed Michelin Rosette award in the dinning room !!
Foxhills is on our 'come again' list !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186308James, Owner at Foxhills of Shanklin, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a good time on the Island. The Rosette your saw was our AA award way back in 2005 when we also had the restaurant at Foxhills. We just hope that the breakfasts lived up to a similar standard! We hope to see you both again soon.
Kind Regards James and Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
313
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just come back from the most wonderful 3 day break at Foxhills of Shanklin. I can honestly say, I dont think ive stayed in a better hotel than Foxhills. The hotel was beautifully clean, the food was delicious with so much variety to choose from. James and Paula are lovely people and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hot tub was to die for, very relaxing and private. The rooms were very comfortable with a wide range of refreshments. The Hotel is situated walking distance from the town, with a wide range of little pubs and tea rooms and also a short walk from Shanklin beach. We have already booked to go back in August for another break. Thank you so much James and Paula for our wonderful stay and see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Have just returned from a very enjoyable 4-day break at Foxhills of Shanklin. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the breakfast was delicious and our hosts could not have been more helpful. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel was also conveniently located for a wide range of restaurants in Shanklin, which would suit all tastes, and is an ideal base from which to explore the island. For those who enjoy walking we would recommend the coastal walk from the hotel via Sandown to Brembridge, or the walk from Freshwater via the Tennyson Monument to the Needles (taking afternoon tea at the Needles Battery).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patmiker2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

My partner and I wanted a weekend break from it all, and our stay at Foxhills did not disappoint. We were greeted with an extremely warm welcome, and made to feel extremely comfortable by the Hotels owner James. Situated close to the town we were able to explore Shanklin without too much of a trek, and had a very nice couple of days taking in the local restaurants and bars! While we were at the hotel we were able to enjoy the amenities provided, which included sumptuous breakfasts on offer, that gave me the eyes too big for belly syndrome, and a spa room, which we were able to book for some private relaxation! The rooms were gleaming clean, and our bed felt like it had been built for royalty-it was a truely priviliged time away. I would highly recommend anyone to stay, you will not be disappointed with either the hoyel or the 5-star personal service each of the guests receive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Foxhills. The breakfasts were delicious. especially the choice of fresh fruit (strawberries, raspberries, blackberries to name a few) and James was so obliging, particularly in helping us to start the car! We will go back to the hotel as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a couple and booked Foxhills last minute on laterooms.com. We stayed in the Osborne suite which was lovely and really spacious. The b&b is located very close to the local town, we went for dinner at a little Italian called Mamma Mia's where the food was gorgeous with huge portions. Although we only stayed one night we found time to use the spa and thought this was a lovely extra, it was great to be given bathrobes and towels etc, really made it feel more like a hotel. We only briefly met Paula and James but felt they were extremely welcoming. The only downfall was that our shower didn't work. Would definitely recommend for a relaxing break and will hopefully return in the future.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We returned last week from a great stay at Foxhills. Everything was wonderful. James was a great host and made us feel really welcome. Our room was lovely, plenty of room, spotlessly clean, and with a comfortable bed. You will never go hungry after one of the breakfasts. My husband can recommend the full English or black pudding stack! I particularly liked the home made jams and marmalade - thank you Paula. Shanklin is a great part of the island and Foxhills is just a short walk to all the local amenities, including some nice restaurants. We hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorry1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing