We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxhills of Shanklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just returned from a 4 day break at Foxhills. It was good before but with the recent refurbishment James & Paula have made, it has that WOW factor. The rooms are beautifully decorated the breakfast is unbelievable and the service is always with a smile. It is every bit 5* gold. We shall definitely be returning

Room Tip: In the past we have stayed in Carisbrooke which is large bright excellent, for a change we stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
297
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Foxhills gave us our very first experience in a B&B and did we love it!! James and Paula made us feel really welcome with their personalized service and the full English breakfast was fabulous.

A bit of advice when deciding upon a dinner place amongst the vast choice available in Shanklin- book in advance since the restaurants do tend to get busy during holidays!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalsV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Foxhills is certainly on our come again list. Spotlessly clean and great to have the spa facility. Very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Close to the station and all amenities. Really enjoyed our 3 day break.
David & Linda

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmbdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have just returned from a 5 day stay at Foxhills and can say it was amazing. James and Paula are amazing, very friendly and nothing was to much trouble for them. I stayed in the Bembridge room, it was spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable. I had a beauty treatment which are absolutely amazing. The whirlpool was just outstanding. I stayed at Foxhills on my own due to having to stay close by my daughter who was on a school trip. I must say Paula's breakfast and snacks are amazing.

I would definitely go back to stay at Foxhills. It is more than a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

A lovely, privately owned hotel.
Beautifuly furnished en-suite rooms.
'Paula 'the chef' and James ' the waiter' are justifiably proud of their business.
The Spa, lovely.
And i must not forget the deservedly displayed Michelin Rosette award in the dinning room !!
Foxhills is on our 'come again' list !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186308James, Owner at Foxhills of Shanklin, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear John,
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a good time on the Island. The Rosette your saw was our AA award way back in 2005 when we also had the restaurant at Foxhills. We just hope that the breakfasts lived up to a similar standard! We hope to see you both again soon.
Kind Regards James and Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Just come back from the most wonderful 3 day break at Foxhills of Shanklin. I can honestly say, I dont think ive stayed in a better hotel than Foxhills. The hotel was beautifully clean, the food was delicious with so much variety to choose from. James and Paula are lovely people and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hot tub was to die for, very relaxing and private. The rooms were very comfortable with a wide range of refreshments. The Hotel is situated walking distance from the town, with a wide range of little pubs and tea rooms and also a short walk from Shanklin beach. We have already booked to go back in August for another break. Thank you so much James and Paula for our wonderful stay and see you again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Have just returned from a very enjoyable 4-day break at Foxhills of Shanklin. The hotel was exceptionally clean, the breakfast was delicious and our hosts could not have been more helpful. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel was also conveniently located for a wide range of restaurants in Shanklin, which would suit all tastes, and is an ideal base from which to explore the island. For those who enjoy walking we would recommend the coastal walk from the hotel via Sandown to Brembridge, or the walk from Freshwater via the Tennyson Monument to the Needles (taking afternoon tea at the Needles Battery).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#5 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing