We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“One word Perfect”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights with my mother the owner James couldn't do enough for you.
From the minute we booked the personal touch was evident from room request to ferry booking.
The rooms are large very clean with everything you need for a breakaway from home.
Wonderful breakfast with a varied choice from cereals, fruit to one of the best English breakfast I've had in years barring my wife's
If your looking for a quality relaxing break in the IOW this should be your first place to try.
Wonderful break thank you James & Paula
Mel Joyce & Ruth

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ouryard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    421
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
313
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Iver, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Before we had chance to get out of the car, James offered to help with our bags! We then had a nice tour round, were given a choice of rooms - they are all lovely :) We then had chance to unwind in the garden with a drink - much needed after our trip in the heat. Our room was tastefully furnished with a lovely big bathroom. We had a fan in the room which helped with the heat during our stay, but could sleep with the window open as there is virtually no noise. Breakfasts are exceptional - everything from cereal, to home made jam and marmalade. If you want filling up for the day, the full english comes highly recommended with the bacon and sausages coming from local producers. In the Old Village in Shanklin there are are a number of nice restaurants - great idea that Foxhills has folders for you to look through of comments from previous guests - makes the chance of having a bad experience minimal. Our favourite was Vernons. Food is also available during the day at Foxhills but after eating one of their breakfasts, we found we didnt need another meal until the evening. Overall we had a fabulous stay in a lovely property with no complaints - not many places you can say that about!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just back from 4 nights at Foxhills where James made us very welcome from the start. We had lovely room and even provided us with a fan which was well needed and well used. Breakfast was fantastic with great choice and plenty of it. Only bad comment would be the shower to our room could have done with alot more power. On the whole a lovely clean and well kept establishment and I would highly recommend it. Would have been nice to have met Paula, the lady of the house if only to thank her for her excellent cooking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2013

From the moment we arrived and James greeted us, our stay was a complete pleasure. We were given a tour of the facilities to begin and the idea of the local restaurants being rated by previous guests is great. The room was beautiful and the attention to detail from the time I booked was brilliant. My wife would recommend the beauty therapy. She had a full body massage and truly loved it. This was arranged for me by James & Paula, keeping it discreet as it was to be a surprise for my wife. The breakfast was second to none, the full english is the business. I certainly look forward to going back to Foxhills and will be recommending it to friends and family. To James & Paula thank you for making our weekend break such a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank donaldo2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Right from the very beginning James made us feel very welcome. He greeted us outside before we even managed to get out of our car! We were treated like guests of honour and given a tour of the place before we settled in. The foxhills is such a beautiful and well kept place, nothing to flaw. Food was available on request and was very delicious, even the morning breakfast was 10/10! Great location from the beach and from the local hi street. plenty to do and see around the area. The stay made our trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

James greeted personally us and immediately made us feel welcome showing us around the lovely hotel followed by a welcome pot of tea in the garden. We were spoilt with lovely weather, and Shanklin is a good base location in easy walking distance of the shops, restaurants and sea front. James encourages guests to "rate" and comment on the local restaurants of which there are many and these are filed for guests to refer to if they want.

We used the spa a couple of times which makes for a very relaxing end to the day before setting out for an evening meal. Our room had a very large bed and was a big room with en-suite shower/wc area at one end. The only minor comment we would make is that the shower could do with a bit more power.

As others have said, and the various awards reflect, the Foxhills breakfast is exceptional with a large selection of hot and cold food and the full English is lovely!

Thank you James, Paula & staff

Room Tip: St Catherines room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andy0652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

my husband and i have just returned from a fantastic 4 nights stay at foxhills when we arrived james greeted us with a lovely smile he then took our cases up to our rooms , where after he then gave us a tour round foxhills there is a lovely big lounge , the breakfast room , the spa pool which you can have it private if you so wish to. there is also a bar after we un packed we went for a walk to the shops which is very near about 10 minuites from foxhills there are lots of tea rooms restaurants and the beach is near , i would say if you like sandy beaches ryde is the best beach and not to busy the parking is about £3.40 , for round the four hours , after that we went back to foxhills and relaxed , the next day we got up for breakfast wow what can i say paula is the best cook ever , i can tell you , you never go hungry , if you wish to you can order a snack which paula will do for you up till ten every night i had tuna melts with fries wow thats all i can say. james is a lovely sweet man all ways willing to help his guest he also works hard in the gardens keeping them nice and clean thank you james and paula for making our holiday very special we would love to come again 10 /10 xx.

Room Tip: there are only eight rooms every one is guiet some rooms are larger than others .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizzchicx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing