We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sue and Roy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sue and Roy”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is THE place to stay in Shanklin. James and Paula were very welcoming and made us feel very at home. Their restaurant reviews are an excellent idea and proved very useful. Wonderful choice at breakfast and very well presented and cooked.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
301
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

A return visit to Foxhills and the service and facilities remain as excellent as before. From the warm greeting and ease of booking along with a very comfortable and large room. We stayed in the Carisbrooke Suite and this was recently decorated in lovely duck egg blue and cream. Every attention to detail is thoughtfully considered and the room meets all your needs. The spa pool is a relaxing soak after a days walking and is private, there are plenty of towels and comfy robes. Breakfast is an event with a huge choice of cereal and fresh fruit and a lovely touch is your juice is delivered to your table in a jug so you have plenty. Freshly cooked English breakfast is of very good quality and there is more than enough. Please try Paula's mums homemade jams and marmalades, they are so tasty.
So much more we could say and praise about the service that James and Paula provide, it feels like visiting friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justus4uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed at Foxhills for a short break on the Isle of Wight during August and the hotel certainly added to the enjoyment of our stay. The proprietors James and Paula made us feel very welcome, and on arrival we were offered a tour and tea in the garden. Foxhills offers an excellent breakfast and is located a short walk from the old village of Shanklin, which has a number of reasonable pubs and restaurants providing a good choice for dinner. The rooms are comfortable and there is also a small whirlpool spa bath available in the late afternoon/early evening for relaxation. We were particularly impressed by James and Paula's 'Round the Island Tour', a suggested itinerary to see the best bits of the island in a day - we followed this and had a great day out. We would certainly recommend Foxhills to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worthing
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Am at foxhills now writing this, can only praise James and Paula highly on everything. Happy, homely, clean welcoming place to stay. As always nothing is too much trouble, from getting extra bedding to cooking the most delicious breakfasts,just the way you like them, to advice on sight seeing and places to eat.. 100% rating, we keep coming back 4 or 5th time now. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Dean and I stayed at Foxhills last week for a couple of days - the proprietors James and Paula were lovely, very accommodating and flexible. They were very kind in changing dates required for our holiday at quite short notice and were very understanding.
Breakfast was outstanding! Lots of choice!
Room was clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated there was everything you needed for a good stay!
Definitely recommended for a good base to see the Isle of Wight.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Koiforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Foxhills for 2 nights. We arrived early at 11.15 and was greeted by James who offered us tea. He showed us around and we were in our room by 11.30. Everywhere was lovely and clean and nothing seemed to much trouble. Breakfast was freshly cooked and very nice. Got to use the spa one afternoon and was very relaxing. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jansmith030260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have stayed at a lot of hotels but Foxhills is special place to stay. The moment we arrived to the day we left we were welcomed with open arms..James and Paula customer service is second to none.The breakfast was awesome so was the room we stayed in.

Room Tip: Any room they are all awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stuart l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
448 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
806 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing