We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #5 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ticked all the correct boxes. Was met & greeted by the owner, who carried our bags to the rooms. Guided tour of the facility's including Jacuzzi & spa, which I'd forgotten about. Rooms were tastefully decorated & clean, bathrooms adequate & beds lovely & comfy.
Breakfast had enormous selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts & also a large menu of cooked items.
After a day of driving around the island I had the pleasure of the Jacuzzi all to my self for about an hour, total heaven.
The owners were fantastic, attention to detail making this hotel stand out above the rest. A very pleasurable stay & will come back again if we need to visit the island again
Restaurants we tried were
Fine Nammet 33 to 35 High Street Shanklin, Shanklin PO37 6JJ,
01983 300 335. Excellent food, ambience & attention to detail were superb. The lady who owns this establishment also does the waiting of tables, it was a joy to watch her go from table to table, she obviously loves her work very much.

The Hambrough – PO38 1 SQ
01983856333. If you want to impress the lady in your life or for that very special occasion then this is the place to go. We had the taster menu, absolutely fantastic, every course gave the mouth a new journey of interest & wonderment. The staff were friendly & had a good rapour with the clientele, well informed, professional but not stuffy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kessandspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Foxhills of Shanklin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

We could not fault the hotel Foxhills at all the service and the cleanliness was exceptional the quality of the food cooked by Paula was very good we will certainly return. When we arrived we were greeted by James who came out to the car and took our bags from us, he then showed us into the lounge and offered us tea or coffee, he then carried our bags and showed us to our very pretty room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in the twin room (St Catherine's) with a friend of mine, our sole purpose of the trip was so she could go for a horse ride on the beach and James even double checked for us before our stay that we had the best stables for it. I received a welcoming email as soon as I'd booked (via booking.com) personally from them and got a very quick response to my reply, they can also get you a discount on the ferry (sadly we'd booked the ferry before looking into hotels)
We were warmly welcomed when we got there, in fact, we were allowed to check in as soon as we made it onto the island which was really nice. It's very easy to find and very well marked from the road side so no worries about driving past it. The location is brilliant, we only used the car twice on our whole trip, mostly walking everywhere (two night stay, we covered everything from Sandown and the IOW Zoo, across to the Shanklin Chine by foot), just be aware there are some hills if you're planning on walking to the beach (but there is also a cliff lift too).
Breakfast was amazing! So much choice both for the cooked breakfast and the fruit and cereal (with an amazing Rhubarb and Ginger marmalade made by Paula's mum).

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweeklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Charming host, extremely comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Even a small spa facility and the option of beauty therapies on request. Also very good location being 10 minutes' walk to Shanklin Old Town with a variety of good restaurants and pubs. Eating definitely not a problem !

Room Tip: Try to book a superior room if available.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have no hesitation in highly recommending Foxhills, and, of the care and attention that James and Paula lavish on those who stay with them. I would in fact say, it's unique in my experience, having spent virtually all my working life living in Hotels all over the World. From the prestigious ( the original Raffles, Singapore; etc., and countless Chain Hotels ) as well as many where a ploughed field would have been better value, nowhere, would you find the attention and courtesy that you will receive with James and Paula! You will also find facilities that only large Hotels normally have (whirlpool spa, beauty treatments, free room service), and, much that they won't have - in fact, if you can't find in detail the best places to eat, to visit and present events - with uptodate reports - you only have to ask!
The standard of Breakfast, is way superior to most large Hotels, in variety and the professional and high standard of all breakfast dishes. I have never seen smaller Hotels come close. Comfort and cleanliness are the watch words. We personally, had no trouble with the adequate shower, as I note some mention due size and whether power shower or not, but, wherever you go there are limits placed by room size and the age and ability of the person. As we are both over 80, stairs and baths versus showers, must be considered. James and Paula will I know, do their best to resolve any problems. Excellent value in every way!

Room Tip: If older or disabled, let James/Paula know, as rooms to suit will be found.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

James and Paula made everyone feel "special". The meeting of guests in the car park as they arrive is something so simple but made you feel great the instant you arrive. It was these little touches that made Foxhills shine above the rest, and they continued throughout our stay. James knew everyone by their first name and he was at our "beck and call" for our 3 day stay. We didn't see much of Paula, and I think James may have even tied her to the kitchen sink! The breakfast was cooked to perfection, and again nothing was too much trouble. The whole building was absolutely spotless, and the laundry and linen provided throughout the stay was always fresh. We stayed with our daughter and boyfriend who were similarly impressed. The only one constructive criticism would be the poor flow from the shower but James was already planning the installation of additional power showers in further rooms. It was a wonderfull stay and I have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

As we had never visited the Isle of Wight before we looked at many hotel and guest house reviews on Trip Advisor before making our choice. Having settled on Foxhills for the quality of its reviews we were totally justified in our choice. From the minute we walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was comfortable albeit quite bijou but very suitable for our short 5 day stay. James and Paula were marvelous hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them at any time. The breakfasts and snack meals were excellent and plentiful. On the whole probably the best place to stay on the island!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £92 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing