We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Very friendly owner n great breakfast, we choose here for a weekend get away... Enjoyed the stay very much! Especially the jacuzzi...
The location was good, stand out of the crowds of seafront, also better quality of the beds was a plus.. Pity we only stayed a shirt time! Wud like to visit again..
Thx u James n Paula..

Room Tip: When u book the room be careful to read each room's introduction, some rooms show only, some onl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gom4older
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
314
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I chose Foxhills as a 25th anniversary surprise for my husband and we were not disappointed. James was very helpful and even booked the ferry for me. We were greeted at the car when we arrived and our bags were taken to our rooms. We were in the Carisbrooke suite, which is a lovely room. The room was spotless, as was the bedding and towels. The breakfast was nicely cooked and set us up for the day. We have nothing negative to say about Foxhills, it is a lovely hotel and we would certainly stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nottmjr24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellent. We'd certainly return again. A warm welcome, very clean rooms, attention to detail and great food. James was very helpful if there was anything we needed or would like to know. Overall a very satisfying and enjoyable stay in relaxing surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Ticked all the correct boxes. Was met & greeted by the owner, who carried our bags to the rooms. Guided tour of the facility's including Jacuzzi & spa, which I'd forgotten about. Rooms were tastefully decorated & clean, bathrooms adequate & beds lovely & comfy.
Breakfast had enormous selection of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts & also a large menu of cooked items.
After a day of driving around the island I had the pleasure of the Jacuzzi all to my self for about an hour, total heaven.
The owners were fantastic, attention to detail making this hotel stand out above the rest. A very pleasurable stay & will come back again if we need to visit the island again
Restaurants we tried were
Fine Nammet 33 to 35 High Street Shanklin, Shanklin PO37 6JJ,
01983 300 335. Excellent food, ambience & attention to detail were superb. The lady who owns this establishment also does the waiting of tables, it was a joy to watch her go from table to table, she obviously loves her work very much.

The Hambrough – PO38 1 SQ
01983856333. If you want to impress the lady in your life or for that very special occasion then this is the place to go. We had the taster menu, absolutely fantastic, every course gave the mouth a new journey of interest & wonderment. The staff were friendly & had a good rapour with the clientele, well informed, professional but not stuffy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kessandspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We could not fault the hotel Foxhills at all the service and the cleanliness was exceptional the quality of the food cooked by Paula was very good we will certainly return. When we arrived we were greeted by James who came out to the car and took our bags from us, he then showed us into the lounge and offered us tea or coffee, he then carried our bags and showed us to our very pretty room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed in the twin room (St Catherine's) with a friend of mine, our sole purpose of the trip was so she could go for a horse ride on the beach and James even double checked for us before our stay that we had the best stables for it. I received a welcoming email as soon as I'd booked (via booking.com) personally from them and got a very quick response to my reply, they can also get you a discount on the ferry (sadly we'd booked the ferry before looking into hotels)
We were warmly welcomed when we got there, in fact, we were allowed to check in as soon as we made it onto the island which was really nice. It's very easy to find and very well marked from the road side so no worries about driving past it. The location is brilliant, we only used the car twice on our whole trip, mostly walking everywhere (two night stay, we covered everything from Sandown and the IOW Zoo, across to the Shanklin Chine by foot), just be aware there are some hills if you're planning on walking to the beach (but there is also a cliff lift too).
Breakfast was amazing! So much choice both for the cooked breakfast and the fruit and cereal (with an amazing Rhubarb and Ginger marmalade made by Paula's mum).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweeklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Charming host, extremely comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. Even a small spa facility and the option of beauty therapies on request. Also very good location being 10 minutes' walk to Shanklin Old Town with a variety of good restaurants and pubs. Eating definitely not a problem !

Room Tip: Try to book a superior room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing