We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Foxhills”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #5 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A very friendly service is provided including uniquely in my experience of using B&B the meet and greet and taking your luggage to your bedroom. The choices for breakfast are excellent and I particularly enjoyed the variety of fruit and marmalade. There is also a good choice of cooked breakfasts that were excellently cooked. We also made use of the spa/jacuzzi during our stay which was very refreshing. I recommend this establishment most highly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

While we were visiting friends and family in the island we stayed in this nice B&B. The owner gave us a warm welcome. The room we had was nice and clean, massive comfy bed. A little highlight is the breakfast. You can choose between different types of breakfast and they were all delicious. You can also choose between different cereals and a nice variety of fresh fruits. The owner is a really nice man who makes breakfast quite special by being so attentive.
The hotel has also a little wellness room with a jacuzzi.
We had a car so it didnt matter but the hotel is a bit out of town, but in fairly walkable distance.
All in all a wonderful stay and we would love to come back.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Sinja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed stay for 3 nights. The bed was very clean and comfortable as was the whole house. They go overboard to make you welcome and the breakfast service is excellent.

The only problem was the temperature in our room, it was stifling. There was no air flow through the window and the sun beat on that side of the house all day. This is a very old house with no air conditioning, and I don't know what they could do about it. There was a small table fan that did nothing to help at all. I found it cooler downstairs in the halls and the sitting rooms. I would never mention it to the owner as they were so kind and did all they could to make us happy, and they were full - but we had hot sleepless nights. Which was a pity as everything else was good.

Price was reasonable and they booked the Ferry for us which we paid on departure.It all worked out well and we allowed to board an earlier Ferry in both directions without extra charges.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms that face the south and if a cooler alternative if the heatwave continues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Check-in, a dream, wonderful warm welcome from James, baggage immediately taken from car to our room without question, brilliant orientation, such a warm and friendly feeling you immediately know you are going to have a wonderful stay.
Twin Room St Catherine’s lovely, tea /coffee making facilities, good quality linen and towels all nicely laundered and fresh.
Lovely private sauna, if it is it free it is for your use such a nice touch.
Garden is amazing, walk down some steps and you find a lovely shaded area with some tables and chairs and a weeping willow that hangs gloriously over this area.
Breakfast is so good, such a lot of choice, from cereals, fruit to the traditional cooked … try the black pudding stack, not to be missed…
Take the tour as suggested around the Island and you see some amazing seaside/country views.
Excellently located, within easy walling distance to Shanklin where there are lot’s of places to eat/drink and be merry………..
Again on check out , offers of luggage taken to our car, unusual when leaving the same lever of service is offered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Creeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just returned from two nights at Foxholes. I thought it was a b&b because James gives such attentive service and before we arrived helped us over the phone select our room and even booked our ferry! The service is of an excellent hotel with room service offered (we never used) and a whirlpool (we used and loved). Breakfast is outstanding. There are at least 10-12 fruits go choose from for your fruit bowl in the am and then a hot breakfast from a good menu and the homemade Jams are amazing. Location is excellent: we walked into Shackling and enjoyed an amazing Indian meal at Purple Mango. And then a great pub meal the next night at The Village Inn. Very pretty area. thank you for all the directions and advice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KittyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

What a fantastic place to stay. Our party of 6 were all given great hospitality by James and treated to great food by Paula. Nothing was too much trouble, a real must stay gem! We can't wait to re visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Not sure what to add to the other positive reviews of Foxhills. Even prior to staying, every effort was made to ensure we had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. Both James and Paula go out of their way to make you feel personally and genuinely welcomed to their home. The room was lovely, very well presented with a very comfortable bed.
The breakfast menu selection is one of the best and beautifully cooked every day. I praise particularly the fresh fruit selection - delicious. We used their snack menu on a couple of occasions, not wishing to eat out and it matched the same high quality of the breakfasts. Nothing seemed too much trouble to ensure any guests' comfort.
Most unusually for a B&B, they offered the use of a Spa room with numerous soft towels and towelling robes for your use - wonderful to relax in after a day out exploring.
We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B and will definitely be booking again on our next trip to the Isle of Wight

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linnty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.2 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
229 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £75 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing