We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #3 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

A late change of holiday plans and we stumbled upon this gem of a b&b by accident. What a find! Lovely, spotlessly clean room, the best breakfast I've ever eaten, and red squirrels outside on the patio for entertainment. James remembers everyone's names, what they like to eat and drink, and as has already been said is the perfect host. Just a short stroll from all amenities, and very quiet as our room was at the back overlooking the lovely garden. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Latchilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 482 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the August bank holiday for the scooter rally and it was a real treat. James and Paula could not do enough for us from the booking (they organised our ferry crossing) through to offering to get up spectacularly early on the morning we checked out so they could offer us a cooked breakfast before we left (we politely declined purely because I'm not sure I could eat breakfast at half five in the morning!).

I'm always slightly dubious about booking into a guest house/guest accommodation after once ending up in what felt like someone's spare bedroom but I needn't have worried. The house itself and the rooms are well deserving of their 5 stars - I felt like I was on retreat. Modern rooms, pristine en suite, great views; it was so peaceful without feeling like you had to be on your best behaviour. No bar but they have a full license and lounge area - I enjoyed a wonderful glass of chilled white after a long day scooting!

We stayed on B&B basis and the breakfasts were the best I've experienced; freshly cooked to order, made with local and homemade ingredients.

There is a wonderful spa, which I am upset we didn't get the opportunity to use ... but we'll be back!

In summary, when you stay in a 5 star accommodation you want it to feel like a real treat and it really did. Looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BeccyLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have stayed in a quite a few bed and breakfasts in the Shanklin area and The Foxhills is one of the best. We couldn't fault it, the room was lovely, the breakfast was delicious and James the owner was the perfect host. We will definitely be staying there again...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B4rb513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was our sixth stay at Foxhills and it was another fantastic experience. James is the perfect host and Paula's cooking was delicious as always. We stayed in the Osbourne Room which had been newly refurbished. It was immaculate, the bedroom was very spacious and the bathroom was light and airy. There is nothing to fault with the service and accommodation at Foxhills and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank onehappytraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You can't fault Fox hills of Shanklin in the beautiful Isle of Wight. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in Shanklin IOW then look no further than Foxhills Hotel. You will be welcomed the moment you arrive by your host James who will immediately take your bags to your room before giving you a quick tour of the hotel. The room we stayed in was a good size with a large king size bed. Spotlessly clean with a good size bathroom with shower. The sink is in the bedroom which is a very good idea because it enables one person to be showering whilst the other is shaving. James the owner has a unique system of local restaurant reviews so it is very easy to find somewhere to eat in the evening and as you are enjoying a fantastic cooked breakfast in the morning you can be writing you own review of the place you decided to eat at the night before. All in all James and the Foxhills is a gem of a hotel and one not to be overlooked next time you are visiting the Isle of Wight.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This delightful accommodation is one of the reasons we travel. Having stayed in the area we tried to extend our visit in Shanklin. James made us both welcome as soon as he opened the door. We have stayed in many 4 & 5 star hotels and not received the standard of service, quality of bedrooms, food and hospitality, this place is a little gem and we without a doubt will be back.
I noted some previous remarks about cheap pillows and beds and do wander what planet these visitors were on ! Do not take heed of these ill advised comments, cannot recommend enough.
Breakfast was one of the if not the best we have had. Loved the spa, true delight after the Garlic exhibition weekend. Thank you both for a lovely stay.... Louise and Steve-Swansea.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LOULOU791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent a very enjoyable few days at Foxhills. James was very welcoming and friendly and knew the first names of all the guests. The accommodation was most comfortable and to a very high standard. The breakfast menu was amazing. The whirlpool spa was most relaxing after spending a day out and about. The hotel is within walking distance to Shanklin town, sea front and beach.
A downside was the intermittent wifi connection in the bedroom.
We would most definately return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Select a back room to avoid traffic noise from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tojan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Leconfield
The Leconfield
#1 of 1 in Bonchurch
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grange Bank House
Grange Bank House
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing