We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel/B&B, very comfortable rooms and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shanklin, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely hotel/B&B, very comfortable rooms and great service”
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at Foxhills for 2 nights and we would recommend it.
The location is good, within walking distance of Shanklin Old village and the seafront.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean.
The service was excellent and we were made to feel welcome. The owners were very accomodating with varying breakfast times as some of our party were up early to do a cycle ride so wanted early breakfast.
The hot tub is lovely and the beauty treatments offered in the hotel were fantastic - very relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapt0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    39
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
301
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel itself had an excellent ambiance and the communal areas were very comfortable and welcoming. Our room was of adequate size, very clean , with all the usual facilities and a very good sized comfortable bed.

The service was excellent, you felt as if nothing was too much trouble and there were lots of nice touches that made it all very comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious.

The hotel had good parking and was very conveniently located for the town centre and restaurants.

Whilst it was not inexpensive it was probably good value for what we experienced.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMofGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I have just returned from another wonderful stay at this 'incredible hotel'. Foxhills has achieved many acolades for it's quality and standards, you only have to look at the walls to see that it has the highest grades in all areas appertaining to the overall service to it's customers.
Working for a division of the Chamber of Commerce with a responsibility to quality assurance I cannot help but notice all those things that make a hotel outstanding and Foxhills deserves every credit for the excellent and friendly service, with attention to detail that makes a superb stay whether it be a short break or longer vacation.

James - who is the perfect host never fails to make you welcome from the moment you arrive. We were greeted by tea and chocolates laid on for us in the lounge which is a beautiful place to sit and relax.

The hotel is privately owned by James and Paula Morton who can never do enough for you, it's like having a 'genie in a lamp' your wish is their command, I just wish I could bottle it up and bring it home!

To give you the full picture I have described the hotel itself in short phrases below:-

Location - nice and peaceful on a leafy lane close to Shanklin Old Village (only a 10 minute stroll). Plenty of parking in a private car park at the front of the hotel adjacent to a beautiful garden and patio area.

Lounge - very tastefully decorated, comfortable and immaculate in every way.

Dining Room - what a beautiful place to start the day, a sunny room (if the sun shines)!with tables overlooking the garden, if you are lucky you will see the red squirrels (or even better James mowing the lawns)!
The breakfasts are by far the best, everything you could wish for including 'yummy' home made preserves - try the whisky and ginger maramalade.

Private Whirlpool/hot tub - this is the place to unwind, you can relax knowing that no-one will disturb you, plenty of fluffy towels and robes for your personal use.

Bedrooms - Immaculate, spacious and extremely comfortable, with all those finishing touches that make a room special (love the bears Paula). We stayed again in the Carisbrooke Suite which has a separate dressing area as well as having the benefit of windows overlooking the garden - again watch out for the red squirrels although you will have to be quick.

Hosts - James and Paula, hey guys they always say "leave the best to the last". I am finishing this review with a personal thank you hoping that you will read it and others will take note. What can I say? You have both been wonderful 'yet again', my mum loves to stay at Foxhills and no doubt we will be back later on in the year. Thank you for making her birthday extra special, we wouldn't have stayed anywhere else. You truly deserve everything you have achieved and I only have one more thing to add.......

Fantastic
Outstanding
X marks the spot!
Hospitality
Incredible
Lovely
Little Gem
Superb

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie11Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We visited this award winning hotel and we were very warmly greeted by James. The hotel is beautifully furnished and easy to find....We experienced some wonderful treatments from Helen the Beauty therapist. This hotel should be top of your list to stay at as James makes you feel like nothing is too much trouble....nothing negative to say ..a pure delight...and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2010

As a first time visitor to the Isle of Wight and to Foxhills, I was very impressed with the quality of the hotel and the service it has to offer. On arrival we where met by the hotel owner James and he made feel very welcome, giving us a tour of the hotel and taking us to our room. The room in which we stayed was very clean and was tastefully decorated. The hotel is located in walking distance of shops, restaurants and the coast, so after a good night’s sleep and a brilliant breakfast we could easily explore all the Island had to offer! We had a fantastic break in a lovely hotel, it has got to be the best place to stay in Shaklin

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luke2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2010

We booked this hotel through Red Funnel and stayed in the Carisbrook Suite. The hotel is set just 5 minutes away from the town centre, beach(via a cliff lift) and all the touristy amenities.
We were met by the owner, who was friendly and helpful. He has thought of everything to assist his guests in enjoying their stay, from maps (paper and electronic) to suggestions as to where to eat and what to do. The room was clean, fresh and well decorated (if a little feminine for my taste - very purple!) the bathroom was superb. So often a good b&b is let down by grubby tiles or fittings, not here. There is also a spa pool which was great for relaxing in after a hard day walking.
Always friendly but unobtrusive we were offered help, company and room service. The whiskey nightcap was v.good. Breakfast was up to the same high standard. We will stay here again..so should you.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppyhattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2010

We did a lot of research of where to stay on the Isle of Wight, and Foxhills seemed to be the ideal location to walk into Shanklin town centre and the old village. We also found it was very central, thus to enable us to explore the rest of the Isle of Wight.

The booking experience was stress-free (unlike other places I could name, but won't!) and James managed to answer all our queries and gave us some extra information, which was an added bonus.

On our arrival at Foxhills we were immediately made to feel very welcome by James. We were checked in, given home-made chocolates and tea and then given a full tour of the hotel and then shown to our room.

The facilities were fantastic. The room was extremely comfortable, spacious and clean. The added bonus was the spa and the wonderful massage that we both had (thanks Helen.)

The breakfast menu was extensive, delicious and fuelled us for the day ahead. To top it all, my wife was so chilled out after one of her massages, that we stayed in the hotel that night, watched a DVD and had a cracking meal delivered by James.

What a wonderful stay. Will be visiting again, hopefully.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggsstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing