We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely amazing home from home!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #4 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truely amazing home from home!!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2010

5 Stars doesnt do this place justice.

James Moreton, joint owner between him and his wife, is one of the friendliest and politest gentlemen we have encountered.

Nothing was too difficult and something he was more than happy to do.

When we arrived he gave us a personal welcome, took out luggage up and then came to give us a tour. The hotel is stunning, warm and homey.

The whirlpool/spa is out of this world and after an afternoon of walking and shopping this was more than welcomed especially at no extra cost.

The room service was free, just rign down, order what you like and have it delivered to your door again by james personally. All you did was pay for what you were ordering which was of course to be expected.

All in all this hotel, James and the little extras and even the food are out of this world and well and truely deserve 5 stars for this truely amazing home from home. If we were to ever go back to the Isle of Wight this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    40
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
307
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2010

There was a friendly welcome and the proprieter helped us with our luggage then a quick tour of hotels facilities which was good and i've not had this before, every other place i've been lets you find your own way around. We had a choice of rooms offered to us, both were very nice, with a clean en-suite, TV and tea making facilities. The bed was comfortable and there was no noise from outside. Our room may have been unusual in having the sink in the bedroom and not in the en-suite but i chose it for the king-size bed and soon got used to it. There was ample off road parking. The stay included a free facial for my wife, which she enjoyed very much and the private use of a jacuzzi with robes provided. There's a great choice of restaurants within 10 minutes walk (if that) in Shanklin Old Village, Thai (Siam Pearl), Indian, Italian (Mamma Mias), English (The Crab), we tried a different one each night and weren't disappointed with any. Shanklin Chine was a nice walk in the evening with the different coloured lights, illuminating the waterfalls. We found it a good base for Sandown, Ventnor and Newport (Carisbrooke Castle nearby) with trips further affield to Yarmouth (very nice cream tea at the Jireh House) the Needles and Osborne House. If you like Roman stuff visit Brading Roman Villa to see the mosaics it was very well displayed and explained with the audio guides. The breakfasts were excellent/delicious we filled up on the full Engish breakfast/toast/cereals and we didn't need a proper lunch out anywhere. Thanks to James and Paula for a very pleasant stay, we would definitely visit again .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zebede_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

A beautiful hotel set in lovely surroundings close to the picturesque village of Shanklin. James and Paula made us so welcome and looked after us so well. Nothing was too much trouble.

You must try one of James's cocktails, guaranteed to make your eyes pop!!!

Jean and Duncan. Stafford.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed at Foxhills for four days. The hotel is perfectly situtated in a very picturesue avenue. As we were travelling without a car, it was ideal, as Old Shanklin, the town, park and seafront are all within easy walking distance, and also there is a bus stop nearby which takes you to Newport, Sandown and other places. Buses run every half hour. Foxhills is a delightful hotel, our room was very comfortable, lovely four poster bed and a large en suite bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities, tv and telelphone. The Spa is lovely and very relaxing. The service was excellent, James goes out of his way to cater for all your needs, nothing is too much troulble. The breakfasts are served in a lovely room looking out over a very pretty garden and the breakfast menu is super, lots of choice, and everything you could want, even down to Paula's Mum's home made Whiskey Marmalade, which is particularly delicious! We had a very enjoyable time and most certainly we wouild like to revisit it in the future. Thank you James and Paula!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longlaet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Just a short walk from Shanklin old town, this is an excellent B&B. Foxhills is set in an elegant old building which has real character and warmth. Tastefully and sympathetically decorated throughout, the two rooms we occupied were a good size and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for our genial host, James. I have no reservations in recommding Foxhills to the reader and fully intend to stay there again when I next visit the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Droitwichwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanklin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2010

We stayed at Foxhills for 2 nights and we would recommend it.
The location is good, within walking distance of Shanklin Old village and the seafront.
The rooms are very comfortable and very clean.
The service was excellent and we were made to feel welcome. The owners were very accomodating with varying breakfast times as some of our party were up early to do a cycle ride so wanted early breakfast.
The hot tub is lovely and the beauty treatments offered in the hotel were fantastic - very relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lapt0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

The hotel itself had an excellent ambiance and the communal areas were very comfortable and welcoming. Our room was of adequate size, very clean , with all the usual facilities and a very good sized comfortable bed.

The service was excellent, you felt as if nothing was too much trouble and there were lots of nice touches that made it all very comfortable and enjoyable. Breakfast was delicious.

The hotel had good parking and was very conveniently located for the town centre and restaurants.

Whilst it was not inexpensive it was probably good value for what we experienced.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMofGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing