We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for a Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Foxhills of Shanklin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #3 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for a Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

This is the 6th or 7th time we have stayed here. The hotel is excellently situtated just a 3 minute walk from Shanklin Old Village. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfasts are large with a great choice of food. The bedrooms are well equipped and extremely comfortable. The hotel has a whirlpool spa which is great for relaxing in after a day out enjoying yourself. The hotel is in a nice quite leafy location and has on site free car parking plus a nice lttle garden and patio if you would like to sit outside and have a glass of wine. James and Paula are the ideal hosts, they are friendly and approachable, nothing and I mean nothing is to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BGTHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
297
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Just back from a short break, Jame's was there to greet us, fantastic service all round, if you get the chance jump in the Spa which is totally free... unfortunately we never got to meet Paula but I'm sure she was there keeping James on his toes.... fantastic host highly recommended...

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomcatgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

I stayed at foxhills for a long weekend with my elderly mother in august.

When we arrived we were greeted by James(who is the perfect host) and served with a pot of tea and home made chocolates on the patio,whilst he took our cases to our room,such a lovely gesture.

It is a really beautiful oldy worldy b and b,we had a lovely room which had everything you could want and overlooked the woodlands at the back.

The breakfasts,that were cooked by his wife,were absolutely delicious and there was so much choice.

The b and b is only a 10 minute walk away from Shanklin village, a beautiful oldy worldy village with lots of thatched roof cottages and where there is an excellent choice of restaurants and tea rooms.The entrance to Shanklin chime is also there too,along side of 'The Crab' and which takes you down to the beach and the seafront.There is also a lift a short walk away that will take you down the cliff,right on to the seafront,where there are more restaurants and bars and a lovely beach.Go into The Fishermans Cottage pub at the very end of the seafront and at the bottom of Shanklin chime,it is really lovely and quaint.

In our few days there,we purchased a rover ticket for the bus which cost 15 pounds for 48 hours unlimited travel,and went all over the island.The ticket covers all buses on the island including all the road trains and open top buses.You really get your moneys worth!

To sum up,I would thoroughly recommend staying in Shanklin and at Foxhills,you really cant go wrong staying here,and wont regret it.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kentbird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

The location is peaceful and quiet with a real sense of relaxation. When we arrived at Foxhills, we were greeted personally by James and shown around, giving us advice and tips regarding our stay. James and Paula were always there to help regardless of the time and the situation. The rooms had folders full of information about restaurants, attractions and everything a tourist might need. For a 5* rated hotel, Foxhills really lives up to expectations and more. The rooms were comfortable, clean and catered for our needs. My husband believes he has had the best sleep there (even compared to our own bed!). The spa & beauty treatments are also a plus after a day of hard sightseeing. We are definitely returning to Foxhills in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Peppermint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2010

A lovely old-fashioned hotel. We stayed for two nights over the August bank holiday weekend and had a brilliant time.

James the hotel owner was very friendly and always available if we had any queries or questions. Our room was lovely, the bed was ultra comfortable and we both had probably the best nights sleep we've ever had away from home. It was rather a strange set up having the toilet and shower in the room with us, but it was not a problem as both were enclosed.

The breakfast menu was extensive including healthy choices and the traditional full English! We ate enough to cover us for lunch as well! It was also very useful whilst eating breakfast to read reviews of local restaurants by previous hotel guests to help us decide where to eat that evening.

I think the best thing about the hotel is the use of the whirlpool spa, you can have private sessions and we found it very relaxing after walking around the countryside all day!

Shanklin itself is a lovely village and with cliff walks and the beach all in easy access of the hotel we didn't travel very far afield. We had a lovely time and are already planning our next trip!

Least Liked - can't think of anything!
Most Liked - service, relaxed atmosphere, comfort and the spa!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

I can only echo the positivity of other reviews. The service at Foxhills was outstanding. We were met in the car park by the owner who took our bags upstairs and we were given tea and home made chocolates in the garden. The room was clean and towels changed daily. The hotel is well situated to walk into Shanklin in a few minutes and there is a good amount of parking. Breakfast was delicious and James, the owner was friendly, helpful hit the perfect balance between good service and letting us get on with our break. If you are deliberating-definitely book Foxhills.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, my partner and I decided on Foxhills as our base for our seven-day stay on the Isle of Wight. We were not dissapointed.

This lovely B&B is a delightfull place to stay and only a few minuties walk from the center of Shanklin. We were greeted by James on our arrival, he promptly provided us with some much need refreshments after our long journey (a really nice touch) and provided us with his 'personal' recommendations of places to visit and things to do during our stay.

Our room was immaculately clean, as was the entire establishment. The food was wholesome and delicious. The Spa and massage facilities are a must, especially after a long days sightseeing.

Throughout our stay James and Paula attended to our every needs. At the end of our stay, we felt we had made a couple of new friends. We will most certainly be coming back again next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spidey1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing