We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Foxhills of Shanklin
Ranked #3 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

We had a short stay in September and from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel so welcome and at home. Upon arrival we were shown around and given tea and home made chocolates in the beautiful, cosy lounge. James was always so friendly and helpful and you just felt as if nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel is set in a peaceful residential location, near to the Old Village and Chine and I had selected this hotel based on the location so I was not disappointed. The beach is about a 10 minute or so walk away.

Our room overlooked a woodland area and there were grapes growing outside the window. It just added that extra bit of magic. The en-suite room was compact but had absolutely everything you needed. Toiletries and shower caps were provided and there were bath robes if you needed them.

It was raining during the first night so we hired some dvds from James to watch in our room and he also made our supper for us. You can order snacks and there is no charge for room service.

A really nice, unusual touch is that James asks guests to fill out little cards rating their eating experiences whilst in Shanklin. These are then filed in binders and James has provided rankings 1-10 based on guests' ratings. This was very useful.

The breakfast! I'm still dreaming about it. A buffet of cereals, fruit juices, teas, coffee, toast, preserves, yoghurts, bananas, stewed prunes and a huge bowl of beautiful prepared fresh fruit (honeydew, cantaloupe melons, blueberries, strawberries etc) and then a choice of freshly cooked breakfast. Delicious.

2 months on and I think about my stay daily, it was that good! I've told so many people about this hotel and I cannot recommend it highly enough. I've stayed in plenty of B&B hotels and they have all been great but this was EXCELLENT.

The only cons are that the tv was rather difficult to operate and was situated too high up on the wall - it was a bit painful on the neck watching it. I also found the pillows a little flat and plumper pillows would have benefitted a better sleeping experience. These are minor gripes and must not detract from everything else that was so spot on.

All in all though, I cannot wait to return and plan to do so in 2011. James is an absolute star and he made our stay perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosyPosy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186308James, Owner at Foxhills of Shanklin, responded to this review, 7 November 2010
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Paula and I work hard to make everybody's stay enjoyable and it's good to see that our efforts aren't wasted. We just wanted to take this opportunity to ensure you that when you visit us next, all rooms have now been fitted with new flat-screened TVs with buit-in DVDs and Freeview channels. Inidentally Paula doesn't understand how your pillows were uncomfy - she paid a fortune for them! Rest assured that next time you visit, she'll have a selection for you. Thanks again - we look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    38
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
298
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

We arrived with friends to do a walk on the island. James made us feel really at home , nothing was too much trouble . We had a perfect stay and a delicious breakfast. He was even generous enough to offer us"showering facilities" at the end of our walk , as the forecast was awful, before we returned to the mainland.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyEmsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We so needed to get away to somewhere quiet and welcoming. We could not have made a better choice. From the moment when we drove into the car park to the moment we left Foxhills we were treated like royalty by James and Paula. Our suite was spotless and comfortable, our breakfast was delicious and varied, the spa was a treat. The attention to detail was amazing and the infomation to help us enjoy the island was very informative. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this wonderful place. Thank you so much, Paula and James for making our stay one to remember for all the right reasons.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilWelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

I stayed with my parents last week for 5 days. Hotel was nice, in a nice classic building around 100 years old (so many B&Bs looked really ugly in more modern buildings), 5 mins walk from Shanklin village. My room was very nice and spacious and all seem to have tea making facilities and a good choice of teas/hot chocolate etc. My parents room was not quite as nicely decorated but very comfortable. And the hosts were extremely friendly and really, you couldn't ask for more in terms of help and friendliness.

The hotel has a very nice lounge that my father and I enjoyed playing scrabble in. Shame about the weather though which rained incessantly, meaning we were in the B&B for more time than usual. Thus we ate in 2 nights due to too much rain. The first night we had very nice sandwiches and the 2nd night I requested (not on the menu) if Paula might do me a salad and I got the most delicious prawn salad that was definitely the best meal I'd had on the island!!
Now that's service for you.

The other thing I noticed was that many other guests (nice and friendly people) had been there several times which shows that it's consistently good.

Positives - free wifi, super-helpful owners, good snack menu and room service (no roomservice charge), tea facilities, nice lounge, decent breakfast with particularly nice bacon and sausages, and plenty of choice (there is a whole menu of options), free jaccuzzi spa, spa treatments available to be booked, DVD players in every room and DVD library available free of charge, super-clean

(potential) Negatives -decor is "classic" in case that's not your cup of tea
breakfast only served 8.30-9.30 in case you're a late riser
in-room TVs a bit small if you fancy watching TV all your holiday

none of these were an issue to me, the only negative thing I can think of is the scrambled eggs were a bit variable and too much cream... :-) But more than made up for by all the other stuff that was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lishalinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We've stayed here 3 years in a row and can never fault it. James (the owner) can't do enough for you! The service is second to none, the food really good, the location great and the B&B lovely. Don't even think about staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Our stay was very comfortable. This B&B has won awards and you can definitely see why. The breakfast has a huge choice and the owner is very accommodating in every aspect of your stay. The food is of an excellent standard and snacks can be provided on request. The rooms are very nice. All of the rooms have a theme and named after places on the island. They are clean and have tea making facilities. They have ensuite bathrooms. The towels were changed every day of our stay. We stayed for five nights. The communication was very good, with the hotel owners. They could provide any information you require for your visit. They have a whirlpool if you like that sort of thing. If I was to say one negative thing, is that the TV's in the rooms need updating. But that is a minor issue, as we were out all day. Yes I would recommend this B&B, especially if you like peaceful, beautiful surroundings. It is very quiet. The hospitality is brilliant here, so if you want a break in The Isle of Wight, try Foxhills in Shanklin!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamarie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2010

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay for a much needed weekend break, and after searching Trip Advisor we decided on Foxhills.

We could not have chosen better. Our room was immaculate and comfortable. The Spa was relaxing (first time for me!) The food was plentiful and delicious. What made it more enjoyable was the help and cheeriness of the owners, Paula and James.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely B&B.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_mcguire20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Shanklin Guest House
Old Shanklin Guest House
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxhills of Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxhills of Shanklin

Property: Foxhills of Shanklin
Address: 30 Victoria Avenue, Shanklin PO37 6LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Foxhills of Shanklin 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award winning Five Star Gold Guest Accommodation with Spa and Health and Beauty Treatments in Shanklin on the Isle of Wight in easy reach of the town, the Old Village, the beach and the downs. Perfect for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Foxhills of Shanklin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foxhills Of Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing