We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly hotels but a bit damp”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We paid around £40 pppn and staying 3 nights at the end of August. We booked a couple of days before arrival and the hotel had no family rooms left but were accommodating in allocating us a twin and a double next to each other.

Both of our rooms had a cold damp feeling to them, even to the point that it was impossible to dry towels. We were located on the ground floor behind the reception, other rooms that were upstairs seemed much nicer. Both rooms also had a pile carpet which although very clean just grossed me out. One room had a shower which was hot and poweerful, the other room only had a bath so worth requesting a shower if you want one.

On the upside the rooms were extremely clean and had a small tv, hair dryer and tea/coffee.

The hotel also had a small indoor and outdoor pool and a pool table. The lounge area and bar seemed a little dated but all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for them.

I noticed the hotel had five stars for food hygiene and the breakfast was brilliant. You had the same table each day which corresponded with your room number which I thought was very cute !

Location was excellent right on the seafront and you could walk into Shanklin.

We would stay again but ask for one of the rooms on the first floor!

Room Tip: Stay upstairs !
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kerrymcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Brunswick Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Just had a fab few days at the Brunswick, wonderful food, staff the best, so helpful, especially with my elderly mother-in-law.Went to this hotel 25yrs ago, it was good then even better now, cant wait to go again next year.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room, it was so quiet you could hear a pin drop, apart from one night heard no...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We recently stayed at the Brunswick Hotel for a four night stay (there was six in our party,including a two-year-old).Having read previous reviews of this hotel,whereby the main overall opinion seems to be it's a pleasant and clean hotel,if not a little bit dated.I agree.However,if you look past the asthetics of the hotel,you'll find that it is a rather quaint hotel.Sure,there's nothing that a new lick of paint wouldn't solve;in terms of bringing the decor up-to-date.But the hotel,does its upmost to ensure a high level of cleanliness.Along with very helpful and friendly staff,that seemed to go out of their way for our party during our stay.In particular the waiter for our stay,whom was very friendly and efficient-especially with our two-year-old daughter.As well as Charlotte,the lady who ensured that our rooms always looked pristine and clean each day.In agreement with previous reviewers,the breakfast was fairly standard;with a constant supply of prunes!Although the chef and waiting staff were very accommodating,whereby they could provide a bacon sandwich if requested at breakfast.The evening meals were more inviting with plenty of choice.Especially with our two-year-old daughter;with the hotel simply requesting that you book each morning your child's choice of evening meal and the time (either 17:00 or 18:30).Despite the nice food,don't be expecting Michellin star quality.The price of drinks in the hotel's bar are quite over-priced and the tea/coffee after the evening meal are taken in the bar loungr.The hotel is ideally located,being close to all relevant ammenities in Old Shanklin,Shanklin and Sandown.The beach is literally on the hotel's doorstep-perfect if the weather's good!Overall this is pleasant,quaint and very clean hotel.Ideal for people of all ages,as well families (including small/young children) and groups.It is just in need of an overdue interior update;however,this does seem to add to the hotel's character.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dick_dastadly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We decided to venture abroad this year and went across the wide open sea to the iow.
Its two years since we stayed there. The location gives sea views and access to the town it has own parking a real bonus and is away from road noise.
The staff are all very helpful and maintain the hotel and rooms to a very high standard.
There is an outdoor pool a bit chilly unless its very sunny and an indoor pool which is perfect.
The food is buffet for first breakfast course then waitress for the rest, good english with veggi option, Dinner was four course and always excellent.After dinner coffee is available in sitting room.
Its a comfy hotel with a more gentle atmosphere a pleasure to stay in.
On the negative this (seems petty) the decor is clean but a bit tired carpets in rooms need replacing
but are clean. The vegi option on the dinner menu sometime clashes to two cheesy dishes, (why chefs can not use soya based meat free products i never understand)
Paul Yvonne Jason Kurtis

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

If you are looking for a good value hotel offering full board in Shanklin the Brunswick is a good choice. We have just returned from a 3 night break over the Bank Holiday and it's great value. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food good. The breakfast offers a choice of Cerals, fruit etc plus the Full English and Smoked Haddock etc the cooked breakfast is OK with a good choice you could probably get better in a more expensive hotel but at the rates it's good. The evening meals are great value for money and of a high quality the Sunday Roast was very good indeed. My one slight issue would be that the times between courses are very quick but other that it's not a problem. The rooms are clean and tidy but maybe the decor is a bit dated but we never found tha t to be a problem. The bar and lounge are very good and offer good sea views. The next time we go to the Isle of Wight we will certainly stay at the Brunswick.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. We had a lovely time, the hotel is in a great location, so close to the beach and has beautiful views. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming. It was obvious that there were guests there that must return year after year as it appeared to be somewhat of a family atmosphere between them and staff. Lovely.
As I have read in other reviews "the hotel is dated". I would agree on some level that yes it is not as modern as other places you may see, but I really felt the decor was in keeping with the hotel exterior, which I think is beautiful. Ultimately for myself and my partner, the most important factor was a well kept, clean place to stay and I can say without a shadow of a doubt out room was beautifully kept, sparkly clean and the room was huge! We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissJaney25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Everyone was very nice here and went out of their way to talk to us and our 3 year old, which is rare at nice hotels. He even got to take a small train home with him. Thank you! Yes the decor is a bit dated but it fits with the quaintness of the house and the Island. We are from the US and don't need the full English breakfast but there were nice options either way. I didn't realize we would have only a bath so might be good to ask about showers if you would like one. Our window did seem to be above where the kitchen help spent some time but it didn't bother us as we are early risers. Having an option for heated indoor and outdoor pools was nice. This all would have all been even more enjoyable if the weather had been nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helixbonfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £89 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing