We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter weekend at The Brunswick in Shanklin” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easter weekend at The Brunswick in Shanklin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from our few days at the Brunswick Hotel in Shanklin. We arrived on Saturday morning a little early (11.30am) and enquired as to whether we could check in at this time. We were told we could check in at any time and they would check to see if our room was ready. Within minutes I was told that our room was ready and I was given a brief tour first. The dining area, the games room, the swimming pool and then our room. When I had booked, our main requirements were a separate area for the children to sleep and a swimming pool. Both boxes were ticked by The Brunswick Hotel. The website did not show the room very clearly but we were assured that the children had a separate room connected to the main room where myself and my husband slept.

When I was taken to my room, it was not the blue family room as seen on the website but, as requested, it still had a seperate room for the children with twin beds and a cot. The main room had a double bed, television, tea and coffee facilities. A bonus was that there was a french sliding door that gave us direct access to a small patio area - not a private area but had the weather been better it would have allowed us to sit outside. Nevertheless, it still allowed us to venture outside and it was great for loading and unloading the car. The ensuite had lovely hot water and, importantly, it was clean. However, it did lack a stand up shower although to be honest this did not affect our enjoyment. In fact it was so much fun bathing with the children.......We were allocated room 27.

When we arrived for dinner at 6.45pm on our first evening, we realised we had not pre- ordered for the children but we were accommodated for and we were able to choose from the children's menu which was the usual children's chioces - fish fingers, sausages, pasta etc. Our first dinner was delectable - I chose belly of pork with black pudding on pureed cauliflower, followed by sea bass with mixed vegetables and chips (my choice it would have been new potatoes otherwise). My husband chose tomato soup but did wish that he chose the pork belly in the end! Desserts were lovely as well. We chose rasperry roulade, strawberry cheesecake and cheese and biscuits. The choices of cheese were good as well - cheddar, brie, a lovely stilton and one with cranberry. Not too much and it was a good selection.

We went for walk to the sea front which is only minutes away through a gate at the back garden. Such a fantastic location.

The next morning breakfast was sumptious - cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt etc and then you could have the traditional fry-up or smoked haddock with poached egg. We went for full English and we were not disappointed. The bacon was excellent and the fried eggs were done to perfection.

We were assisted by Zoe from our first meal and she was so accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble - even with a boisterous two year old in tow.

With the weather being a bit disappointing on Sunday, we went swimming in the hotel's indoor swimming pool. What a lovely experience! The pool was more than warm and was so much fun for us all. I have been assured it stays this temperature all through their season...

The second dinner was interesting...we had asked for milk for our little one and Zoe had given him semi skimmed which was not an issue. She then offered to to order full fat milk for the next day but we told her that we leaving. Within five minutes, Cherie the receptionst came to our table and advised us that we were booked at the hotel for the following day as well and our ferry was leaving at 12.00pm on the 22nd and not the 21st!!!!. With school and work looming on the 22nd, our prospects did not look great to return on Easter Monday but she was able to organise our ferry back at 5.40pm on the 21st . A relief for both my husband and myself. At such short notice, we were not expecting any refund for the additional day but we got that as well! So the roast beef and fish pie was enjoyed in the end! And the creme brulee was wonderful!

With this Hotel being ranked 24th out of 55 hotels in Shanklin, we were not sure quite what to expect. But we were delighted with all the facilities and overall service. Close to the sea, clean, good food, the hotel is not too large so you got to know all the staff as you were coming and going. It was also a good, mixed variation of clientele. Had we had a stand up shower we would haave rated Brunswick 'excellent' but we chose 'very good' instead. We would definitely come back and very much look forward to doing so. Thank you Brunswick and it keep it the same. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Matthew, Natasha, Soraya and Louis

Room Tip: Room 27 is on the ground floor, and interjoining rooms and direct access to the outside through slid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    56
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
53
77
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Found a great deal on price is Wight website, it was my partners birthday coming up and what a nice treat to get away for a night just us two (no kids!! ). I wasn't expecting too much as the deal was so cheap. From the minute I booked our stay to check out all the staff were friendly polite and very helpful. Our room was a classic double, it was extremely clean and smelt floral when we walked in. We had what looked like a brand new large shower and very modern bathroom. The bedroom seemed a little dated compared to the bathroom but the bed was very comfortable and spacious. The evening meal was good, the service was quick and excellent. Breakfast was a delight, lots of fresh fruits, juices and cereals buffet style, we had a good old English breakfast to set us up for the day. Again quick professional service in the restaurant. Would definitely return, excellent all round

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank managerIsleOfWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Nice rooms ,good meals well served by pleasant polite staff,a very roomy and welcoming lounge comfortable bedrooms with very clean bathrooms. Our hotel bill included the cost of the ferry both ways so all in all we were well pleased with our time at the Brunswick Hotel.We would go back again and spend more time exploring the Isle

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Got back late last night from an excellent weekend at Brunswick hotel. We weren't expecting a lot as it was their first couple of days open since last year, but we were surprised that the hotel was fully up and running! (Maybe the staff didn't go home over the winter!!)

The highlight definitely was the restaurant dinner which surpassed our expectations. I'm used to meals like that in fancy London restaurants; not seaside hotels! Although we did need a good walk along the cliff path to work it off!

All in all a great weekend. Friendly and helpful staff, even when having to deal with our simple questions about where to go. And the room was exceptionally clean and had a brand new bathroom. I think we were the first to use it!

We hope to make another trip across before the end of the summer. Thanks again Brunswick.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Had a brilliant stay, the whole family enjoyed it. Amazing location, perfect base for exploring the island and lovely sea views. Very short walk to beach. Brilliant indoor pool, kids loved it, great food, lots of different options, great kids menu. Staff quick to help, brilliant service. Rooms great, lovely place to relax and experience the Isle of Wight. Would recommend to all, you will defiantly feel like you have had a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Myself, sister and 87 yr old disabled mum checked into this hotel after a bad experience and service at a nearby Shanklin hotel. Best decision made. The staff could not do enough for us and to make it easy for my mum, who walks with a support. The rooms were immaculately clean and the breakfast very varied and good. Thanks to this hotel and staff, it turned what would have been a disastrous week into a thoroughly enjoyable one. One thing I will mention and that is that a lot of hotels, including this, do not have lifts or disabled ease to get up stairs although this hotel, unlike the other whereby my mum was expected to climb 28 steep steps, was fantastic in offering the facilities of a ground floor room and the three beds in another room, for the one price!!. How many other hotels would do that. Great location. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londongal798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Having never been to the island before I was advised by my companion that she had been very pleased with the service an accommodation at this hotel. So, when we arrived we were ushered to our room that was at the rear of the premises that as it turned out was situated overlooking the sea with a self contained private sitting room and an outside balcony (very swish). The room itself was very comfortable and clean with the usual tea/coffee making facilities. The only downside was that if you were requiring a TV (there was one in the room) unfortunately the Isle of Wight suffers from having to put up with bad signals (I understand the hotel is changing over to satellite so hopefully this problem will be solved). The food was extremely good with a varied menu over the 4 nights that we stayed, bar and lounge were also well presented all staff were very attentive with a view that nothing was to much trouble if requested, morning papers are available at the reception first thing in the morning. The indoor swimming pool and sauna were an added bonus with respect the my short stay. Definitely a hotel that I would return too if I visit the Isle again. Good parking.

Room Tip: If all rooms like ours then no problem where you are in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing