We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel added to enjoyment of holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel added to enjoyment of holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very comfortable hotel. It is very clean, important to us, relaxing with very pleasant and helpful staff. Would have liked a little more variety of fruit for breakfast, my only small complaint. Had the lovely large room no.29.
During our stay, my birthday was on the 2nd day and was very surprised when presented with a lovely cream sponge that the chief baked for me. This kind act added to my special day. Thank you! Have already recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Room no. 29 Nice and large room with plenty of storage. Very large bathroom with walk in shower. La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    56
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
56
78
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently had a three night break here which was booked at short notice. Reception staff were very helpful on the phone, offered us a special rate and made our ferry booking at a very good price.

On arrival we were welcomed very pleasantly, given a tour of the facilities and shown to our room. Having booked late our expectations were not too high but we were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room and the en-suite shower room was perfectly adequate. Throughout our stay the domestic staff did an excellent job of making up the room and were professional enough to spot us going down to breakfast and to have the room done by the time we returned.

We enjoyed the food - always a good choice, well cooked and presented and very efficiently served. Breakfast offered a good choice although the option of black pudding would have been appreciated. The bar offered a limited choice of beers - it would have been nice to have sampled some of the local brews had these been available in bottle.

The general decor of the hotel is rather dated but it is very clean and comfortable and the lounge is a great place to sit and read. The gardens were nicely kept and have direct access to the cliff-top path with amazing views.

Altogether a very pleasant weekend - we look forward to a longer stay in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saloio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

First of all I'd like to say that every female member of staff that dealt with us were lovely, however, there was a male member of staff which I considered to be very rude. The pool was closed at 8 o'clock when it was meant to be open until ten, when i enquired at the bar, he was very cold and acted as if it was an inconvenience to him. After our swim, we were changing in the changing room, when we heard someone enter the pool room, then with no warning, the changing room door was pushed open by the previously mentioned male member of staff, with no word spoken and no apology, he closed the door again and left. We were lucky we were fully clothed, otherwise it would have ended differently. The only other mention is that the hotel was rather full with oaps! It almost made us feel uncomfortable, however we got in with it! Breakfast was average, however service was always great. Dinner was somewhat bland and tasteless, however edible. All decor seemed ancient and chairs felt as if they were about to break! The room was clean and tidy, however still fitting with the old decor, including a very wonky toilet and an incredibly small bathtub. I would like to reiterate that all members of staff apart from the one mentioned were all very helpful and pleasant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verwood
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Brunswick for a long weekend and what a wonderful time we had. We stayed on a dinner bed and breakfast basis and the food was of a good standard. We were upgraded to a seaview room at no extra charge. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, especially by Julie. The facilities at the hotel are above average for a three star hotel, including the indoor and outdoor pools, snooker table ,and the lovely lounge and bar area. I would like to give a special mention to Zoe in the restaurant who could not do enough for us. Only one niggle there needs to be a shower curtain in room 35 so you can actually use the shower whilst standing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank verwoodroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were probably a strange party for this type of hotel being a made up of 14 older gay men celebrating a friend's 70th birthday. This is a kind of tradition as, for his 60th, we did the Isle of Man! We were rather LOUD I must admit but the hotel seemed to take everything in their stride and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful as were the other guests.

Personally I would visit this hotel again and look forward to it.

Room Tip: I had room 22, ground floor and facing car park. Fine for me with a good shower, quiet and slept we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Visited the Brunswick last year, returned in May with two of the Grandchildren for a 2 night break. Nothing has changed thank goodness, the really friendly and helpful receptionists ensure the best deal and options, including arranging discounted ferry travel. Housekeeping staff keep the whole place very clean and presentable and the small indoor pool is a real bonus. The food is varied and well presented and the kids could mix and match from the kids menu and the 'adult' one. The hotel is ideally placed with a lift or stairs down to the beach/arcade/amusements, it's also a short stagger into town. My only suggestion/moan (again) is ditch the tasteless single serving wines in plastic bottles and get in a couple of house wines to sell by the glass - much better. Thanks Brunswick - see you again!!

Room Tip: Room 8 is a large family room - a double and 2 singles but right above the reception entrance so pot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshirePajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

From the moment we arrived at this hotel, we knew we were going to have a lovely time here. We were met with a lovely smile from Rachel who showed us around the hotel and then our room at the top of the hotel. Wow! It was terrific. Loads of room, spotlessly clean and comfortable. It was just what we wanted. We are very fussy about cleanliness and having a comfortable bed and this was just what we wanted. I noticed on one review before writing this that someone complained about the lack of curtains. I was most surprised to read this as there are perfectly adequate blinds and we werent troubled at all. We had access to a lovely private lounge at the top of the hotel and a balcony where we could sit or stand to survey the sea views. Terrific! The week only got better!! The food was excellent with loads of choice and the service was quick and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for our waitress, Beth. It was a fantastic holiday. The weather was a bit mixed but it was easy to cope with that because the hotel was so nice and comfortable. A BIG BIG thank you to everyone there for making our stay so very enjoyable. We would certainly return this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 39 is the room we had and we were extremely pleased with this room and the lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel
The Nightingale Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing