We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star location 2 star hotel, why do hoteliers think their hotel location make up for the rest of their service?”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

A nicely located hotel. Connoisseurs of 1980’s décor would be impressed as it appears to have stayed in this time warp. Mattress springy and saggy although rooms are very clean. Take an extension lead with you as there is only one spare plug and where it was situated doesn’t allow for a bulky phone charger. Breakfast excellent but to save on the Imodium, eat out for your evening meal. Only used pool once as it had an oily shimmer on the surface as it didn’t appear very clean – others using the indoor pool also complained about it but I didn’t go in again to see if any action taken. Some of the staff very warm, welcoming and helpful, contrasted by those who were not. First and probably last stay.

Room Tip: take an extension lead with you. If you are facing car park on ground floor then keep your curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

So, we checked out if the appalling Melbourne-Ardenlea Hotel situated over the road from the Brunswick Hotel, and during the busiest weekend of the year the Brunswick were able to find us a room. A room that put the offering over the riad to shame! A lovely clean room, with some nice touches of modernity. The Brunswick staff are very helpful and friendly, although the waiting staff at breakfast could be a little more attentive, but overall a world away from the terrible experience over the road! A typical English hotel, great for a family holiday!

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank throppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We like this hotel as we know the staff and have been coming here for years. The star attractions must be Julie, Peter and Charlotte who make it for us. We like the pools and the fact you can walk to almost anything in Shanklin. Those not so familiar with the workings of the hotel would be advised to be specific at breakfast time i.e if you want 2 sausages and 2 slices of bacon ask as one of each will normally appear. We found breakfast a bit of an event never knowing quite what we would receive. Overall it is great. Would like wifi in rooms please

Room Tip: Some rooms are outside the hotel, so if its raining it could be an inconvenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeremyLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights with the groupon deal and it was great. It's in a good location for a quiet setting but easy to get to everywhere and with a few good spots in Shanklin for the evening.
The hotel is very clean, tidy and well kept, the staff are friendly. The pool and sauna are a good touch and the free pool table got some use from us. The dinner included in the deal was nice, but the breakfast was brilliant.
Had a great stay here and would use this hotel if I found myself on the IoW again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A nice clean hotel with pleasant staff, reception staff very helpful on phone and on arrival, we were shown around the facilities, we had a nice sea view room overlooking the gardens and sea.
We had bed, breakfast and dinner for two nights.
The breakfast was very nice and a wide choice of hot food cooked to order, the dinners were very nice and served by very nice English waitresses.
Even if you have a car, for getting around the town and down to the beach, a bus called the Shanklin rider stops outside the hotel door, and for a couple of pounds a day, you can travel on this bus as many times as you like, it enables you to see most of Shanklin without having to find places to park.

All in all a very nice short break, and I would like to go back again.

The only small gripe, the floor boards in the main part, are very squeaky, and you can hear them when people walk down the hall, or in adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: A sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just stayed here on a groupon Deal. But would return and pay the going rate. Rooms very clean. We were lucky and got a seaview room (3) beds very comfy, room large with lots of Windows. Great location, near sea and town. Got small indoor and outdoor pool. Ok some decor a bit dated but friendly and good value.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SUZANNE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very comfortable hotel. It is very clean, important to us, relaxing with very pleasant and helpful staff. Would have liked a little more variety of fruit for breakfast, my only small complaint. Had the lovely large room no.29.
During our stay, my birthday was on the 2nd day and was very surprised when presented with a lovely cream sponge that the chief baked for me. This kind act added to my special day. Thank you! Have already recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Room no. 29 Nice and large room with plenty of storage. Very large bathroom with walk in shower. La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £55 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing