We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliantly located, friendly and welcoming. Good Value.”
Review of Brunswick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brunswick Hotel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
at home
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliantly located, friendly and welcoming. Good Value.”
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We have stayed here at least half a dozen times now and have never been dissatisfied. Food in the restaurant is perfectly ok - sometimes excellent - sometimes good but never poor. Service in the dining room is very good. Breakfast is good too - very traditional and ENGLISH but then last time I looked on the map the Isle of Wight was still in England. The receptionist refused to do my ironing but apart from that is very efficient and friendly. (just kidding - about the ironing!!) To answer one or two other critiques:
If you're big and fat - the towels won't fit you will they?
If you are friendly to the barman - he's really quite nice - perhaps he didn't like the look of you.
Comfortable, good service, good location, good food and we will continue to stay in the future (hopefully with a very big discount next time in view of our glowing review).

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rollypolliesandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    59
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
80
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
S Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Just back after a week at the hotel. We came away feeling very disappointed. This could be a great hotel. It is in a wonderful location, overlooking the sea, but the food and facilities were not up to the standard the price reflects.
It was a set menu for breakfast, no vegetarian options, same old packets of cereals and toast. There was no choice of croissants or fruit. The only fruit available were prunes or figs, if there were any left after the coach parties, that were in at the time, had got there before you. The full English was very basic, with no mushrooms, beans, or black pudding options. The evening meals, which were highly praised on the hotels website, were very average. Two of the vegetarian meals were inedible, swimming in oil, but nothing was done when we complained about this. The vegetable accompaniment to the meals were two small new potatoes and a little broccoli or cauliflower. The dessert options faired no better. These were supposed to have been made by the chef daily, but were the same cheesecake, fruit salad or cheese and biscuits. No hot puddings were made available.
The rooms were clean, though very dated, with carpet on the floor of the bathroom. A very large bath, but a very small shower, which worked OK sometimes. The TV in the room was a joke, you could not watch it.
The staff at the hotel were very good, it is a shame that the owners of the hotel seem to be stuck in the past, running the hotel on a shoe-string budget, but expecting guests to pay the top price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueberrypie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, from 21st May. There were 57 of us in a party on a weekend seminar using facilities away from the hotel..

The hotel was clean and tidy. The staff were very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was good and evening meal OK. (The meal was nothing to shout about but well presented and as I mentioned OK)

Room was a good size with a double bed and 2 singles (only 2 persons sharing). Bathroom was adequate albeit a little dated with carpet on the floor. Room 8 had a bath with a shower facility with curtain. Due to the unpredictability of the cold water pressure, it was safer to run a bath as the hot water was scalding hot and you could not guarantee a stable temperature via the mixer tap to the shower. You could end up being badly scalded.

During the day the reception and the bar is run by the same person so if they were busy with reception duties you could 'die of thirst' waiting to be served a drink. However we were not in the peak season yet and I think they underestimated the parties drinking capacity over the weekend stay.

All in all, for the price, It was excellent value for money. The indoor pool was readily accessible and clean, the garden well secluded and neat and the outside swimming pool looked good also, but is was not being commissioned for another 2 weeks when we arrived.

Give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teenager65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

Have just returned from a week at The Brunswick. The room I was given was up two flights of stairs the last being very narrow and the lights are not kept on and of course there is no lift. The bathroom was small and the ceiling so low that the shower was unusable and I could not stand upright in the bath. The sealant all around the bath was missing or flaking , the mouldings above the tiles were stained and not clean and it was awful to see that there was a dingy carpet in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the linen looked clean although there was a nasty stain on one pillowslip which should have been discarded. The carpet in the bedroom was awfull fullof stains which had never been cleaned and the t..v .was a joke. Out of the ark high up on the wall, poor reception and no remote control. The food was very disappointing. Breakfast no marmalade or porridge for two of the days we were there and never any fruit other than figs and prunes. No croisents or rolls, ham or cheeses, nothing but a poor selection of cereals so if you did not want the cooked breakfast which I did not you went hungry. Dinner was not good either poor choice and badly cooked apart from one night when it was lovely for some reason. This could be a wonderfuil hotel given some more thought and TLC. the staff were all very good.and it nis in a lovely location. The public rooms (Loung and dining room ) are also bright and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bedith_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Just returned from a really lovely stay at the hotel. It was a nice clean and friendly hotel where nothing was to much trouble. All of the staff were very helpful, the food was lovely, the rooms were very comfortable and the view from the balcony was great. Will be going back as soon as possible for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnySYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Time moves on and reviews from 2006/7 about tatty beds and poor food is way out of date. I understand all the beds and linen have been replaced with new so no worries there.
If you can, book early and get a room at the front with sea views. Half board suited us well for the weekend we were there. The meals very pleasent and served on hot plates.
the staff were all very polite and helpful although the barman could cheer-up and have a laugh.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoJaywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2009

ignore previous reviews from last year this hotel is everything you would want it to be.
The staff are helpful and obliging and friendly nothing is too much trouble,
The rooms are very clean and kept to high standard
The food is very well prepared, waiting staff are happy and efficient
Will definately be going back, have recommended it to friends,relatives and work colleagues

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possumKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.0 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brunswick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brunswick Hotel

Property: Brunswick Hotel
Address: 5 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#14 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Brunswick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Brunswick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brunswick Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing