We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and homely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #23 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Great location, staff were friendly with useful tips for local restaurants and sightseeing.
Would stay here again if we came back to Shanklin.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgers12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

We decided to go on our holiday with our two dogs for the first time and we were a little aprehensive about going somewhere. We were made very welcome and our dogs were to " the boys" as they were aptly named.Our room was spacious and clean.Mary Kim and Cam were all very freindly and we will return to the Heatherleigh with no hesitation. the guest house was well positioined and the breakfasts lasted you all day!! A lovely holiday we all had!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PENNY123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Heatherleigh guest house over the valentines weekend. We were the only guest they had staying for the weekend, so the staff were very attentive to us and couldnt do enough to help us and recommend different places to visit and eat at- all of which was much appreciated.
The welcome was very friendly which immediately put us at ease. Our room was a very good size with a very large 6 foot superking size bed, the only downside was the mattress was very hard and the springs dug into our ribs, we were told the mattress was only a year old, if it was it certainly wasnt the best quality mattress ive ever slept on! The room was cold at times, there was only 1 radiator by the door which didnt seem big enough to heat the huge room. The bathroom was very clean etc, if we are being fussy as a couple of other guests have already mentionned the decor is a bit out of date, but you expect that at a seaside B&B.
Breakfast was good, i'd recommend you make a point specifically asking for baked beans with full english cooked breakfast because it doesnt usually come with them for some reason and without them its very dry!
Good location to explore the Island, we recommend the Purple Mango Indian restaurant in Shanklin, excellent food with reasonable prices and very good service. Also if you want good pub food the Village in, Shanklin offers good food, massive portions and tons of character in traditional thatched style pub/restaurant.
Perhaps recommend a visit after 1st April if you are after attractions because was found practically everywhere we went was closed!!! Which isnt much fun unless you like walking.
Booked last minute deal with B&B through lastminute.com which you think would secure you a good deal, we paid £67.10 per night but I was disappointed to see the B&B were offerring tariff prices of £30 pppn which was less than what I paid!?? Also I recommend looking out for weekend deals which include boat over and hotel accomadtion, again deals we say after having booked were keener priced than what we paid!
All in all a nice B&B, fantastic service, shame about the terrible mattress in our room and the coldness!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorGibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

my wife and myself have just returned home from this guest house after spending the weekend there as a treat for my wifes birthday,on our arrival we were met by kim the owner and what a welcome we were given she was absolutely amazing,anything at all you wanted she would go out of her way to do it or arrange it for you,our room was on the ground floor in fact room 6 we were in and what a size it was too the bed well that was super size and to find my wife in the bed i needed a sat nav,lol,it truly was so very comfortable i think the heating must be thermostaticallly controlled because the room was always at a pleasant temperature and constantly on and with the high winds and weather just what you needed but the weather over there is what you would probably expect for this time of year taking into account the isle of wight is a small island in the middle of the channel,my wife and myself live in weymouth and its blowing a force 8 this morning here as well,anyway back to the guest house the breakfast we had of a morning was also unbelievable there is so much to choose from cereals, cooked breakfast, fruit,and whatever else you can think of,kim you are one amazing helpful lady and you truly helped make my wifes birthday so special and i thank you so very much,finally i would like to say i looked at trip advisor before booking this guest house and went on the reviews of others i saw 2 bad reviews on this place and i must say and i wont mix my words in saying that (trc of london) and (stoneage of london) you really have made lies about this guest house and the reviews are certainly not put there by the guest house workers either i live in the DT4 AREA OF WEYMOUTH.!!.. anyway finally to kim,mary,and cam,thank you so very much for making my wifes birthday weekend so beautiful and special and we will definitely be seeing you again in may and cant wait.!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regandlinstrathearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

My partner and I had a wonderful short stay at the Heatherleigh. We were welcomed in at extremely short notice by Mary and Kim, as our other accommodation resembled a concentration camp. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and don't get me started on the breakfast!!! We had the choice from fresh fruit, cereal, full English, Continental, Pancakes and syrup.... the list goes on. However, I would suggest avoiding the full English 3 days on the trot, as you will need to spend a while in the gym when you get home ;-)

Thank you very much indeed for making our stay as enjoyable as possible.

*The refugees* xx

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlamingMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed for 2 nights at the Heatherleigh and they couldn't do enough for us. Although the decor was a little bit old fashioned we had a really large room, good qualtiy shower, big comfortable bed and everything was spotless. The breakfast choice and quality was one of the best I've ever had in a b&b and would put some hotels to shame. The owners were very friendly and accomodating and made great recommendations for places to visit and restuarants. Location is good, short walk into town and to the beach. They also were very accomodating with our dog.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank gertie19gertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Stayed for 4 nights. Very comfortable bed and good breakfast. When my partner was taken ill on the final morning Mary took us right away to the local Medical Centre who were very quick in seeing my partner. Who is now fine.

Hope to go again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#31 of 51 in Shanklin
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
225 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#16 of 51 in Shanklin
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Knight's Rest
Knight's Rest
#27 of 51 in Shanklin
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowdon House
Snowdon House
#26 of 51 in Shanklin
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian 6 bedroom Bed and Breakfast situated on the cliff top within easy access to shops, resturants, public houses and the Old Village and beach. Children over six years only and children over fourteen years charged as adults.Garden for the use of guests and parking at the side of the Heatherleigh.Dogs very welcome on application at £5per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherleigh Hotel Shanklin
Heatherleigh Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing