We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful guest house”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Loved everything abouth Heatherleigh House. Beautifully decorated, wonderful breakfast,great comfortable beds. Most of all Mary and Kim are just lovely people.
I would recommend Heatherleigh Guest house highly and would love to return.
Thank you Mary Kym, we loved you!!!!

Room Tip: Visit the delightfull old village nearby for meals and sightseeing. The beach is lovely. Great walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 731judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    9
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent a great weekend on I.O.W., staying two nights with 4 people and a dog in two rooms of this spotless B&B. I can't overstate how helpful, clean and quiet the Heatherleigh is..and recommend it to anyone wanting a a location which actually gives more than you expect. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were "military" clean. Another pleasant surprise was the wide-ranging, ample and delicious choices for breakfast. We thought it deserved 5 stars just for that. But the best reason to stay is the genuine welcome and helpfulness we received from Mary and Kim, whether dealing with the ferry company or advising us where to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I can thoroughly recommend the Heatherleigh, Mary & Kim are excellent hosts making you feel very welcome, they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a happy one . The rooms are spotlessly clean,quiet and the bed so comfortable that it is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries. The breakfast is superb, whether you want fruit & yogurt or a full English.
It is well located for the town, the sea front and Chine.
PS: Daisy is a star!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here recently with our dog and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mary, Kim and Daisy were an absolute joy ! Our room was huge and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were fantastic, fresh strawberries and pineapple!! Mary and Kim gave us great advice on where to go and what to see. Heatherleigh is in an ideal location, very close to a wonderful beach and several excellent pubs serving great food. We will be back !!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed for one night in February 2012, myself and my son shared a room for a very reasonable price, far cheaper than anywhere I'd enquired about. Clean, cozy room, so quiet the location,we felt like we were the only ones there! No outiside noise even though we were 3 minutes from town centre. The hostesses, Mary and Kim were delightful. The breakfast was perfect with award winning sausages as well. Didn't want to come home. WILL be going back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

The hosts namely, Kim and Mary are the best hosts we have ever met!
Staying at their service feels so much like home that we didn't even miss it.
They were so helpful in giving information on what to see and do on the island and what's on.
The atmosphere was so incredibly cosy. They kept the place so clean that I, being a very sensitive allergic person, had not trouble at all.
Their breakfast was served hot, tasty and fresh.
There was always a smiling face around that was always on the ready to help with absolutely anything and everything!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suparne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We recently stayed at the Heatherleigh, choosing it on the basis of the Tripadvisor reviews. As others have said this is a B&B, not a hotel and you must treat it as such. If you want evening entertainment, drinks in the bar and sumptuous surroundings look elsewhere and be prepared to pay a lot more. What we were after was a comfortable bed, convenient for the village, and this was fully met. We had room 5, a family room although we did not use the spare bedroom, which was clean and roomy. Breakfast was of a good standard and we did not feel pushed out afterwards, although you must remember that the rooms have to be prepared for the next guests.
We would definitely come here again and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: We had room 5, which is a family room with a separate bedroom for children / friends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dohrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#15 of 52 in Shanklin
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nightingale Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Inglewood Guest House
Inglewood Guest House
#7 of 30 in Sandown
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Keats Cottage B&B
Keats Cottage B&B
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian 6 bedroom Bed and Breakfast situated on the cliff top within easy access to shops, resturants, public houses and the Old Village and beach. Children over six years only and children over fourteen years charged as adults.Garden for the use of guests and parking at the side of the Heatherleigh.Dogs very welcome on application at £5per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherleigh Hotel Shanklin
Heatherleigh Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing