We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A review you can really trust!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

How many places have you stayed that state they are dog friendly and when you get there they are far from it? Not the Heatherleigh, it is everything advertised and more, this has to be the most welcoming, friendly and accomodating B & B in the whole of the UK. The rooms were exceptionally clean, a breakfast to die for and the owners Mary and Kim couldn't do enough for us. Our two Miniature Schnauzers, Harry and Mollie soon made themselves at home and learn very quickly where to go for cuddles.
If you are looking for a B & B that has large, spacious rooms with all facilities, loves happy people and dogs look no further. Nothing was too much trouble, if you required anything that was not in the room all you have to do was ask and it appears!! We all felt very loved. Thank you Mary, Kim and Daisy. We will see you in 2013 x x

Room Tip: Tell Mary and Kim as much about yourselves as possible they are great at allocating appropriate room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

If only all guest houses were run like this, my girlfriend and myself stayed here for 4 nights in september. We chose this B & B because it was dog friendly and we had our border collie with us. The owners Mary and Kim are genuinely some of the nicest people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting, they are extremely friendly and are very passionate about the job they do. From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much for them, they even dried our towels and clothes for us after a very rainy day. They had endless amounts of information and stories about the island and were always happy to answer any questions we may have had. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was out of this world! We had an amazing trip and we consider ourselves very lucky that we chose this accomodation, we will certainly be back again and I would recommend the Heatherleigh to anyone who is planning on visiting te Isle of Wight. Thankyou Mary & Kim for your amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Heatherleigh is everything a good English B&B should be, with high marks for charm and coziness. Mary and her family take great care of you, feeding you a generous breakfast cooked to order and chatting with you about life. They will tell you everything you need to know about things to do on the Island. Our room was the upstairs double with the bay window, and it was bright, spacious and comfortable. Everything worked. We didn't spend much time there during the day, but there is a pretty flower garden out front with a bench. It is very dog and kid-friendly. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenInMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Loved everything abouth Heatherleigh House. Beautifully decorated, wonderful breakfast,great comfortable beds. Most of all Mary and Kim are just lovely people.
I would recommend Heatherleigh Guest house highly and would love to return.
Thank you Mary Kym, we loved you!!!!

Room Tip: Visit the delightfull old village nearby for meals and sightseeing. The beach is lovely. Great walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 731judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent a great weekend on I.O.W., staying two nights with 4 people and a dog in two rooms of this spotless B&B. I can't overstate how helpful, clean and quiet the Heatherleigh is..and recommend it to anyone wanting a a location which actually gives more than you expect. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were "military" clean. Another pleasant surprise was the wide-ranging, ample and delicious choices for breakfast. We thought it deserved 5 stars just for that. But the best reason to stay is the genuine welcome and helpfulness we received from Mary and Kim, whether dealing with the ferry company or advising us where to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I can thoroughly recommend the Heatherleigh, Mary & Kim are excellent hosts making you feel very welcome, they go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a happy one . The rooms are spotlessly clean,quiet and the bed so comfortable that it is the perfect place to re-charge your batteries. The breakfast is superb, whether you want fruit & yogurt or a full English.
It is well located for the town, the sea front and Chine.
PS: Daisy is a star!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed here recently with our dog and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mary, Kim and Daisy were an absolute joy ! Our room was huge and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were fantastic, fresh strawberries and pineapple!! Mary and Kim gave us great advice on where to go and what to see. Heatherleigh is in an ideal location, very close to a wonderful beach and several excellent pubs serving great food. We will be back !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#9 of 51 in Shanklin
356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#25 of 51 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
871 reviews
0.3 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
55 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Address: 17 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range: £55 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian 6 bedroom Bed and Breakfast situated on the cliff top within easy access to shops, resturants, public houses and the Old Village and beach. Children over six years only and children over fourteen years charged as adults.Garden for the use of guests and parking at the side of the Heatherleigh.Dogs very welcome on application at £5per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherleigh Hotel Shanklin
Heatherleigh Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing