We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"The Dogs b....."” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
wantage, oxon. uk
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“"The Dogs b....."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We chose this B & B because of the great reviews and very dog friendly. it did not disappoint. A very jolly welcome from Mary,, most informative of all the island has to offer. Our family room was spotless and provided a secluded bedroom area for our 11 year old, her T.v. did not work but was promptly replaced by another.
The breakfasts were amaazing, all freshly cooked to order and as much toast and coffee as you like.
The location is just perfect, everything within walking distance of Shanklin.
Cant wait to go back, thank you Mary and Family for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 at the back with secluded area for child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcgreg0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    9
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
19
46
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in Heatherleigh B&B for couple of nights during the Easter long weekend. The B&B is maintained by Kim and Mary. They are very customer friendly and you almost feel like you are staying with a close friend. They are very helpful and provide you variety of information on where to eat and what to do in the island. The tariff is quite reasonable and you do get a good menu for breakfast. I had no complaints. I would highly recommend this place. The B&B is quite close to the beach, the railway station and to the town center.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingroadracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

How many places have you stayed that state they are dog friendly and when you get there they are far from it? Not the Heatherleigh, it is everything advertised and more, this has to be the most welcoming, friendly and accomodating B & B in the whole of the UK. The rooms were exceptionally clean, a breakfast to die for and the owners Mary and Kim couldn't do enough for us. Our two Miniature Schnauzers, Harry and Mollie soon made themselves at home and learn very quickly where to go for cuddles.
If you are looking for a B & B that has large, spacious rooms with all facilities, loves happy people and dogs look no further. Nothing was too much trouble, if you required anything that was not in the room all you have to do was ask and it appears!! We all felt very loved. Thank you Mary, Kim and Daisy. We will see you in 2013 x x

Room Tip: Tell Mary and Kim as much about yourselves as possible they are great at allocating appropriate room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

If only all guest houses were run like this, my girlfriend and myself stayed here for 4 nights in september. We chose this B & B because it was dog friendly and we had our border collie with us. The owners Mary and Kim are genuinely some of the nicest people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting, they are extremely friendly and are very passionate about the job they do. From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much for them, they even dried our towels and clothes for us after a very rainy day. They had endless amounts of information and stories about the island and were always happy to answer any questions we may have had. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was out of this world! We had an amazing trip and we consider ourselves very lucky that we chose this accomodation, we will certainly be back again and I would recommend the Heatherleigh to anyone who is planning on visiting te Isle of Wight. Thankyou Mary & Kim for your amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Heatherleigh is everything a good English B&B should be, with high marks for charm and coziness. Mary and her family take great care of you, feeding you a generous breakfast cooked to order and chatting with you about life. They will tell you everything you need to know about things to do on the Island. Our room was the upstairs double with the bay window, and it was bright, spacious and comfortable. Everything worked. We didn't spend much time there during the day, but there is a pretty flower garden out front with a bench. It is very dog and kid-friendly. I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenInMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Loved everything abouth Heatherleigh House. Beautifully decorated, wonderful breakfast,great comfortable beds. Most of all Mary and Kim are just lovely people.
I would recommend Heatherleigh Guest house highly and would love to return.
Thank you Mary Kym, we loved you!!!!

Room Tip: Visit the delightfull old village nearby for meals and sightseeing. The beach is lovely. Great walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 731judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We spent a great weekend on I.O.W., staying two nights with 4 people and a dog in two rooms of this spotless B&B. I can't overstate how helpful, clean and quiet the Heatherleigh is..and recommend it to anyone wanting a a location which actually gives more than you expect. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were "military" clean. Another pleasant surprise was the wide-ranging, ample and delicious choices for breakfast. We thought it deserved 5 stars just for that. But the best reason to stay is the genuine welcome and helpfulness we received from Mary and Kim, whether dealing with the ferry company or advising us where to visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#26 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Richmond Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royson GuestHouse
The Royson GuestHouse
#14 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowdon House
Snowdon House
#29 of 52 in Shanklin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fawley
The Fawley
#13 of 52 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian 6 bedroom Bed and Breakfast situated on the cliff top within easy access to shops, resturants, public houses and the Old Village and beach. Children over six years only and children over fourteen years charged as adults.Garden for the use of guests and parking at the side of the Heatherleigh.Dogs very welcome on application at £5per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherleigh Hotel Shanklin
Heatherleigh Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing