We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #22 of 51 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I stayed here for a week and I think it is a great place to stay. kim certainly feeds you well. Her breakfasts were a good way to start the day and the room I stayed in was just perfect. And I will certainly be coming again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sadact0788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    10
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
21
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stay frequently at the heatherleigh as we are planning our wedding, Mary and Kim are wonderful to us and our dog, the rooms are so clean the breakfasts will set you up for the day and the beds soooooo comfy. you could not find two more helpful and friendly ladies on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with our little dog, Mary and Kim were very helpful and made us feel very much at home. The house and our room were spotless lovely breakfast with a big choice like you would find in a large hotel.
When we next visit shanklin we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else, you must try it. Room 4 and nice 6 ft bed in a b/ b GREAT.

Room Tip: Room 4 with 6 ft bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilylou3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wantage, oxon. uk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We chose this B & B because of the great reviews and very dog friendly. it did not disappoint. A very jolly welcome from Mary,, most informative of all the island has to offer. Our family room was spotless and provided a secluded bedroom area for our 11 year old, her T.v. did not work but was promptly replaced by another.
The breakfasts were amaazing, all freshly cooked to order and as much toast and coffee as you like.
The location is just perfect, everything within walking distance of Shanklin.
Cant wait to go back, thank you Mary and Family for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 at the back with secluded area for child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcgreg0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in Heatherleigh B&B for couple of nights during the Easter long weekend. The B&B is maintained by Kim and Mary. They are very customer friendly and you almost feel like you are staying with a close friend. They are very helpful and provide you variety of information on where to eat and what to do in the island. The tariff is quite reasonable and you do get a good menu for breakfast. I had no complaints. I would highly recommend this place. The B&B is quite close to the beach, the railway station and to the town center.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amazingroadracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

How many places have you stayed that state they are dog friendly and when you get there they are far from it? Not the Heatherleigh, it is everything advertised and more, this has to be the most welcoming, friendly and accomodating B & B in the whole of the UK. The rooms were exceptionally clean, a breakfast to die for and the owners Mary and Kim couldn't do enough for us. Our two Miniature Schnauzers, Harry and Mollie soon made themselves at home and learn very quickly where to go for cuddles.
If you are looking for a B & B that has large, spacious rooms with all facilities, loves happy people and dogs look no further. Nothing was too much trouble, if you required anything that was not in the room all you have to do was ask and it appears!! We all felt very loved. Thank you Mary, Kim and Daisy. We will see you in 2013 x x

Room Tip: Tell Mary and Kim as much about yourselves as possible they are great at allocating appropriate room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

If only all guest houses were run like this, my girlfriend and myself stayed here for 4 nights in september. We chose this B & B because it was dog friendly and we had our border collie with us. The owners Mary and Kim are genuinely some of the nicest people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting, they are extremely friendly and are very passionate about the job they do. From start to finish we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much for them, they even dried our towels and clothes for us after a very rainy day. They had endless amounts of information and stories about the island and were always happy to answer any questions we may have had. The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and very comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was out of this world! We had an amazing trip and we consider ourselves very lucky that we chose this accomodation, we will certainly be back again and I would recommend the Heatherleigh to anyone who is planning on visiting te Isle of Wight. Thankyou Mary & Kim for your amazing hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.0 mi away
Marlborough Hotel
Marlborough Hotel
#21 of 52 in Shanklin
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseglen Hotel
Roseglen Hotel
#31 of 52 in Shanklin
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmerston Grange
Palmerston Grange
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#32 of 52 in Shanklin
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Havelock
The Havelock
#8 of 51 in Shanklin
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Snowdon House
Snowdon House
#26 of 51 in Shanklin
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast

Property: Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast
Address: 17 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian 6 bedroom Bed and Breakfast situated on the cliff top within easy access to shops, resturants, public houses and the Old Village and beach. Children over six years only and children over fourteen years charged as adults.Garden for the use of guests and parking at the side of the Heatherleigh.Dogs very welcome on application at £5per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Heatherleigh Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heatherleigh Hotel Shanklin
Heatherleigh Bed And Breakfast Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing