We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Hotel is in great location, close to town and just a few steps to the beach! We came here last minute for weekend break, chose this hotel as there was not many avalible on that time but I don't regret, it was perfect choice. We were suprised when we came into hotel that is so tidy and up-dated. Website pictures were old but they going to change them soon.
Our room was small but with balcony and the most amasing view over the sea! Enjoyed morning cup of tea watching sunrise:) I really like their bed linen and choice of colours, very relaxing.
Staff was friendly and we had a great welcoming on arrival.
Dinnind room was very nice, I think they just renovated. Clean tables, comfy chairs. neutral, calm colours.
Ok, now what was bad. Poor wi-fi connection, lack of restaurant open all day for public, they have facilities, so maybe they are going to change it and then guest don't need to go next door for dinner and entertainment.
Breakfast was average, but what you can expect from standard english breakfast, it is always the same everywhere.

Thanks Aqua Hotel and Isle of Wight for lovely weekend, I really need it:)
Anna

Room Tip: Is better to pay additional cost to have sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    42
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
72
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

The only good thing was the location right by the beach the rest was awfull very loud music at bar till midnight tiny rooms.
Needs some serious refurbishment and good manner staff.Went with family didn't really liked it no wifi tv wasn't working .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayf2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Have just returned from a week at the Aqua you cannot fault it food excellent service the same,wonderful location opposite beach would recommend to all like home from home grandchildren already asking when are we going back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel has been recently refurbished and is charming. Very clean very welcoming. The promenade is directly below. We had a room with a sea view plus a balcony on the second floor. Not large but had all the nice touches. Only slight concern was that the shower was within the bath. OK for a short stay. Lovely full English breakfast. The restaurant served evening meals, but we wandered along the prom and chose another eatery. Lots to do with children along the frongt, but not our thing any more!

Room Tip: Being so close to the sea get a room with a sea view. Lovely listening to the sounds on the waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoozEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Arrived on Friday 17th August 2012 for a 2 night break, Chris greeted us very nicely, very friendly and very helpful, room was clean and tidy but way too small to swing a cat, cleaners tried to come in while my girlfriend was naked by putting their key in!! Breakfast was average, although the tables were too small to put anything on, ended up juggling stuff about, on the 2nd morning, we had a milk jug containing hair in it!!! Having come in from a meal around midnight, we decided to ask reception if we may buy a bottle of wine for our bedroom, to be greeted by an extremely rude and cantancorous old lady in her nightclothes who decided to bark at us that the Hotel was closed, and was told that "this" isn't like other Hotels or The Ritz!!!! - regardless of all the other hotels that would kindly serve their residents who've paid £85+ a night!!! - to summarise, wouldn't stay here at The Aqua ever again, though we will come back to Shanklin in a heartbeat as its beautiful, but the Aqua is way too overpriced, an expensive mistake (you live and learn) - on a side note, next door at The Steamer Inn, totally amazing food, friendly staff and relaxing entertainment

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarrisWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Nice fluffy white towels changed daily, very good food, staff very friendly and evening entertainment excellent...an absolute bargain!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony, but if too expensive ask for room no. 7 (it has a sea view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just got back from 2 nights stay, Very friendly clean comfortable, food excellent, staff very friendly and helpfull, we are 3 ladies came over 2 visit family .entertainment was very good in the evening, we will stay at the Aqua again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinenoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Property: Aqua Hotel
Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing