We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A room with a view”
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Fantastic location and a great view even we had to pay extra for. The bedroom was light and fresh with seaside theme and a lovely balcony with a coples of chair and table. The bathroom was adequate but tiny (1mx3m) !! Breakfast was nice with lots of selections serving in lovely newly decorated restaurant. The terrace restaurant was really great, sat right onto the promenade and the beach.

Room Tip: pay extra to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

We found the Aqua by chance on the Bank Holiday weekend the menu outside looked great so in we went we were greeted by Chris who found us a nice table with a sea view. The Restaurant was light spacious and very well decorated? There is a great choice on the menu on all courses . I had the Panned Chicken & my partner had the Lambs Liver & it was perfect . We both had a dessert & Coffee. I must give a very special mention to Neil & Henry who looked after us so well in the restaurant both of them were very well dressed & very attentive which makes a change from some of the places we have eaten we are quite demanding bot nothing was a problem. So finally if you are looking for some where to eat on Shanklin seafront with a great view great food & service then you must try the Aqua

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were staying close by and decided to pop into the restaurant because of the outside seating, the system and layout of the restaurant is more of a pub style which is good as you would feel comfortable sitting outside and having a few drinks, which we did, but both ordered the fish and chips from the menu provided.

You have to go inside and order from the bar as there are no waiters or waitresses, also we got there a 16:30 and the bloke from behind the bar when ordering drinks firstly informed me that the kitchen will be closed at 17:00 so this was a bit of a surprise.

So the food arrived in 30 minutes and was, as I stated in the heading, the best fish and chips I had tasted before, lovely crispy batter, and fresh cut, home made chips which were cooked to perfection. It was delicious and only a tenner per meal.

I would definitely recommend this place, and if the rest of the food is like their fish and chips than I strongly suggest to go and try this place out, even just for the fish and chips, it was a delight. Well done!! Nice view of the see from outside too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benaichar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Annette the owner is lovely. The hotel has been refurbished in a trendy shabby chic way. Very nice and comfortable. Good beds and decent sized bedrooms. ( we were a family of 4) Annette runs a tight ship. She has great staff and the whole hotel is gleaming. Breakfast is the best bit. I had haddock and poached eggs - this was fresh, well cooked and really really tasty. My breakfast was served both days by a lovely young waitress Abby. She was very happy and efficient.
All in all a great stay. Would definitely revisit.

Room Tip: I have three tips. 1. Book a bedroom on the front facing the sea. They cost a bit more but well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superjas9981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay here which was good value for money. The room was clean and adequate, although not luxurious, with a wonderful sea view. The public areas were very good with a pleasant bar and restaurant and great outdoor seating areas- very continental. Service was efficient and friendly - would recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank jcn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, food, clean rooms, entertainment etc. Hotels location is great in Shanklin & perfect when good weather... If i was nit picking id say there wireless internet needs a bigger range... Again, that is me nit picking! Really enjoyed my stay. Would definately return.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adamdcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

A good location for a walking weekend on the island. Friendly, helpful staff. The hotel was clean and rooms well serviced although some, at the back of the building were very small.
The breakfast menu was good and service quick and efficient. We also had one evening meal in which was good and reasonably priced.
I would recommend this hotel for a long weekend as good value for money. The package included booking the ferry at a reduced rate and, although there was no private car park, we were able to park on the sea front directly opposite the hotel for £11 for two nights.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front with a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cliff Hall Hotel
Cliff Hall Hotel
#13 of 51 in Shanklin
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
15.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £47 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing