We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week at the Aqua” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week at the Aqua”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

First impressions was excellent,the patio area at the front was furnished with tables and parasols,first class,the divining room couldn't be faulted as with the lounge,our room on the first floor with balcony gave a fantastic view when sitting out on the balcony,the room was rather small with rather cheap flat pack furniture which was rather dated and a bit tatty,quite a lot of dirty scuff marks on the walls,the wall paper in parts was lifting around from the wall,the wall mounted tv was minute which made viewing difficult unless sitting n the edge of the bed three feet away,the bathroom was a disappointment,the toiler has a very loose seat,it took two flushes every time to clear the pan,the wash basin was in part of the bathroom two inches wider than the basin,elbows had to be tucked in to wash at the basin,he floor was covered with a badly fitted Lino,toilet paper was cheap single sheets in a holder,the shower cabinet was roomy,shower needed to be run for at least fifteen minutes to be of a reasonable warmth,the drain in the shower had a blockage which the manager pointed out to me but he didn't attempt to clear during our stay,breakfast was below standard,the sausage on my wife's plate was indelible,she asked on morning for bacon mushrooms and tomato,she got on small rasher a half tomato and and a teaspoonful of chopped,mushrooms,the coffee was tasteless I asked for stronger coffee and was told it was made in a large container,I stopped ordering coffee as did another guest,my final gripe is that there was no parking and cars had to be left on the esplanade which cost around six pounds per day,the staff were fantastic the room service team,dining room staff,everyone,our weeks stay cost £700 in my opinion grossly overpriced,it should have been no more than £350,I think a refund would be in order,would we return to the Aqua-NO

Room Tip: Search around,there are better than the Aqua and at a more reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank U8659GJTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo3024, Owner at Aqua Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
What a shame that you could not enjoy your stay at The Aqua following the excellent first impressions that you felt when you arrived.

We accept that any customer has the right to review their stay, but we cannot see any reason for you to make such comments without first making some representation to the management of The Aqua during your stay.

We will always try our best to ensure that customers comments are listened to and actioned upon. Since you chose to keep your dissatisfaction to yourself rather than discuss it, we can only presume that this review is but an afterthought and it’s therefore difficult to see why you need to make it and publish it, albeit under a pseudonym.

We don’t understand your reasons for waiting until you get home before making these damaging comments and to us this indicates that perhaps you have an ulterior motive. You do indeed state that you feel that a refund is required. Unfortunately your method of trying to get one this way, is doomed to fail.

We will not comment further on your negative remarks other than we hope that you will understand that to make such comments after your return, on a public review site using a pseudonym, is simply petty, although we do admit that if your intention is to cause damage to a Family business you have probably succeeded, in part.

The Management and all of our staff ( the staff were fantastic the room service team, dining room staff, everyone) are upset by your comments, but we are all re-assured in the knowledge that our customers are generally people who respond well to the service that they receive at The Aqua and we shall continue to invest in our business as we have done continually since 1980, and to offer an excellent service in spite of hurtful comments such as yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    41
    21
    7
    3
See reviews for
44
71
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
worthing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The aqua was very good we will return as its in a great spot opposite the beach ,good food ,nice staff ,very relaxed.stayed for 2 nights it's very clean only gave 4 stars as thought rooms were slightly tired and quite small but for a couple of nights was fine

,

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Having had a couple of meals here while on holiday earlier in the year, we decided to return with our parents for a weekend stay. We were not disapointed. Once again the food was first class, between the family we have now sampled almost all the menu and everyone agrees you would be hard pushed to find a better restaurant. We were made to feel as if nothing would be too much trouble for the staff. The hotel is cosy clean and comfortable. Sitting on the patio sipping a relaxing drink while watching the sun set was just what the doctor ordered. James and Annette go that extra step to make sure all their guests no matter what age enjoy their stay. We look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: We booked at very short notice and were pleased with our rooms. If you book early ask for a room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Recently stayed for a few days and found the place adequate but only just. The staff are friendly and the place is clean. Breakfast was very good but the service a bit slow.The rooms are very small, just to give you an idea the door to the ensuite only opens half way before hitting the bed. A larger person would not get in with out moving the bed. The ensuite is also tiny but again adequate. The main problem that bothered us was the noise, The walls are paper thin. Every time a tap was run or someone flushed the wc you could here the water running through the pipes. We were with a group and the general consensus were that all of our rooms were the same. The hotel next door The Steamer is buzzing with people while The Aqua seems empty 'no atmosphere'. Expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room they have
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hotelinspector68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed at the Aqua for the Scooter weekend. The hotel is ideally situated and overlooked the sea, and had a lovely outside area for drinks. My friend treated me to an 'afternoon tea' which we had been looking forward to, but we were both dissapointed.

We had a double room, and it was a little cramped. We had to get ready seperately as there was very limited space. It was quite noisy too, within the hotel, you could hear other showers running, toilets flushing, hairdryers running etc, very plainly. I was a little concerened also that the labels on the plugs showed they were last PAT tested in 2008!

Because of the hotel's location, I would stay here again but only for a weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a twin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elainet995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Well what can I say.. We did not stay here.. But as we were walking past thought we would try the food .. Enough said the food was lovely .. I have travelled all around the world eating in some very expensive places .. I thought the aqua was in my top 10 places and was very reasonably priced .. I recommend you visit ..if you in shanklin ..just a slight comment food took a little while ... But if you want fast food go to McDonald's ..it was worth the wait WELL DONE AQUA ...we will be back....

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed for the weekend in the Aqua hotel and ate in the restaurant. The service was excellent throughout our stay - the staff were particularly friendly and attentive, going out of their way to help us! We slept really well in the hotel, even though the rooms were very warm. The rooms were clean enough and the location was fantastic! It was easy to access all parts of the island and it was right on the beach. The room we had was a little small and old-fashioned but was well-equipped and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was excellent and well priced.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaBushby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#3 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#11 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#10 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Property: Aqua Hotel
Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing