We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND BREAK”
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed for the weekend and had a brilliant time there. The rooms are comfortable, very clean and warm and the beds are superb. We both slept very well. The staff are just amazing. Cleaning staff, waiting staff and bar staff are all very friendly, courteous and happy. Nothing is a problem for any one of them. The owners, James and Annette, are highly knowledgable and gave us good advice as to where to go and what to see. Brilliant, thank you.The food is fantastic. The full English breakfast is not only HUGE, but totally delicious. The evening meals are also superb. An excellent wide choice of dishes all absolutly scrummy. Great entertainment in the evening as well. Thanks for a great weekend break. We will be back.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a seaview. But all rooms are very comfortable and very clean.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannyAWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Aqua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013

My new wife and I stayed at the Aqua for our honeymoon and could not have wished for a nicer place to stay !
The staff , hotel and the food was excellent , nothing was a problem and we would go back there anytime ..

Thank you for a lovely stay

Mr & Mrs Hunt-Terry

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My family spent 5 days at The Aqua Hotel in late August and found the staff very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and we had a partial view of the sea, quite lovely. We enjoyed the full English breakfast daily and had several wonderful dinners in the restaurant. The food was lovely and very reasonably priced. The menu had many options which made feeding fussy teenagers easy. We enjoyed the live music in the bar/lounge area for a few of the evenings during our stay. We would definitely return to The Aqua Hotel should we travel to the Isle of Wight again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute. We were warmly welcomed by the staff. We had a seaview balcony room and the views are breathtaking. The hotel is very clean and has everything you could wish for. We found the food excellent and very reasonably priced. The chef is brilliant and obviously has a passion for creating delicious food. The staff could not have been more helpful and we would not hesitate to use it again and would recommend it to others. There is parking charges, however it is free at certain times and so check it out when booking. If you do need to buy a parking ticket from reception you can use it for all of shanklin so if you want to spend most of your time in that area then it is good value.

Room Tip: The balcony seaviews have breathtaking views.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

i had a great holiday at the aqua hotel in Shanklin the owner Nannette and her husband were very friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The place was extremely clean with all the necessary amenities to hand. The food was outstanding and the service excellent. The lounge and patio were very pleasant particularly the lounge with the big bar and pool table this year is our second visit and we will be contemplating on returning again Jutta and Brian Robinson.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jutta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo3024, Owner at Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Annette and James are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us again at The Aqua and we look forward to seeing you again the next time to you come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked 7 days here starting 14 September. .we were on the second floor with a room with a balcony and seaview
The hotel is in a lovely location , its got a modern dining area and nice bar, staff are very friendly
The breakfast was lovely but the tables for 2 were abit small
The rooms were cleaned everyday with fresh towels but the dowside was on the website it said small double room...theres small and theres SMALL
even the toilet/ shower room door didn't fully open and we booked a balcony with Seaview so my partner could have a fag ,, but in the rules it said smoking isnt allowed on balcony..which my partner said she couldn't understand. ..
We had to leave after 4 days due to a family matter
We wish we could of stayed the rest of the 3 days as I O W is a beautiful place
The hotel is very nice in a great location with friendly staff , but the seems to shut very early as we returned at 10.10 pm and everywhere was closed so we ended up next door

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark180tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a spur of the moment holiday,just 7 nights,not a lot available to book,however we had a double room at the Aqua,could only get a garden view,really wanted balcony and front view,sometimes you compromise. The welcome was good,the info that we had to pay for parking was not,although offered reduced rate if we paid in advance 3 days parking £17.00 !! When we got to our room it was more like a shoe box,a double bed, wardrobe, a small 3 drawer chest and 2 bedside cabinets,one with a door the other ones door was missing,it reminded you of 30 yr old M.F.I . I was being kind when describing it to a friend as compact,a door to the bathroom could not be opened properly it hit the bed,you had to put a light on ,to use the amenities as it was pitch black,more like a corridor,no window at all.My husband is 5ft 10 inches tall he hit the lampshade hanging from the ceiling each time he moved near the bed.The colour scheme was aqua,as you would expect the walls a sort of beige colour it needs repainting, grease marks pen marks and lipstick smudges abound. The bathroom caused us a problem as the toilet was leaking,I got up in the night and paddled in liquid,I cleared it up the 1st time,but the next night it happened again,my husband investigated and found it to be leaking, I reported this to reception who assured me it would be dealt with that morning,the following day a repeat performance,I gave them the benefit of thinking maybe I had misheard,the following morning,it was the same, once more I reported that nothing had been done and I would stop being Mrs Nice if it was not resolved by the time I returned in the early evening.I was met by the lady who owns it ,offering us an an alternative room,or the option to stay where we were with plastic box and towel to catch the leaking liquid,as it would mean we ourselves would have to pack up and move everything ourselves and it would also mean she would have 2 rooms now she could not rent out,as it was pointed out we should not have been put in this situation,as when I initially reported the problem a foreign voice could be heard shouting in the background,we are used to it happening its nothing to worry about. We took the other room that was offered which was double the size of the other one,and the toilet did not leak.I must add that the food is good we ate in most nights there was a big lounge with a bar,as well as the restaurant.The staff were lovely, helpful, polite and always ready with a smile,they make the Hotel,and apart from our problem it was very clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rose30081942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimbo3024, Owner at Aqua Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

A “ spur of the moment “ decision and you booked a 7 day stay at The Aqua. Of course due to The Aqua’s popularity you could only book one of the last few rooms available and unfortunately you could not have a Sea View or Seafront Balcony Room because understandably they are normally the first to be booked.

On arrival you found a warm welcome, however you were unaware that the Isle of Wight Council have a Pay & Display Scheme for cars parked on the seafront. Is that really our fault or was it maybe a result of too little enquiring before making a “ spur of the moment “ decision. However, that set the tone to your response to whatever upset you during your stay.

We successfully market the Isle of Wight Councils Visitors Parking Permits for all tourists not just our guests, in an effort to make the problem of parking on the Isle of Wight as easy and as cheap as possible for them. We are the only Accommodation on the Island that offers Tourists this service and we make this service without charge for all seven areas of the Island not just Shanklin. Visitors can normally only buy Visitor Parking Permits from the Council by prior arrangement via the post.

We understand completely that your room is small, that’s why its one of the last to be booked and in fairness we try to ensure that our guests are made aware of that.

You did have a problem water drip from your Toilet Cistern. It was a clean water drip and it was successfully stopped by the owner. Afterwards it was checked at least three times during the day while you were out. No evidence of a further leak was found and certainly there was no evidence of water whereby you would have paddled in it. My wife left a note in the room for your return inviting you to change rooms if you wish since we then had another room that was available for the remainder of your stay.

When you arrived back at The Aqua my wife met you before you went to your room and offered this alternative room to you and your husband. Your husband stated that he was not bothered about it enough to move but we were happy for you to do so if it improved your stay quality.

Your remarks about the room and furniture have all been noted. What a shame that you could not tell us what you thought of the room at the time. Using a review signed under a pseudonym doesn’t help to resolve anything. You never know, perhaps we could have satisfactorily overcome your need to make further disparaging comments about the décor and marks on the paintwork.
Incidentally we have checked them and yes we did find a few marks but there were certainly not enough to support your claim that “ grease marks pen marks and lipstick smudges abound.” . Perhaps you feel that every room should be completely un-blemished by guests even after a very busy holiday season. Unfortunately, the reality is that very few rooms, if any, would not have a mark or two on them in September following a very hot summer that had provided many continuous bookings for the Tourism industry.
As you stated.
“The staff were lovely, helpful, polite and always ready with a smile, they make the Hotel, and apart from our problem it was very clean. “
This hardly supports the way you have portrayed your stay with us…. does it ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 51 in Shanklin
477 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
878 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
852 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: £71 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing