We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really disappointed - could have spent our money much better”
Review of Aqua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aqua Hotel
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
brighton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really disappointed - could have spent our money much better”
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Chose the "apartment" as it was the dearest accomodation the property had and we assumed the best. Paid £125 for the night (2ads and 1ch) and basically got to spend the night in a council flat fitted out by MFI.

Location is good.

Breakfast and service slightly better than average.

Intend to return to the area very often...will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stubwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    43
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
47
74
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
poole dorset
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2010

i have just returned from a weekend stay at the aqua hotel with my husband and for the first time i could not wait to put a comment on trip advisor,this hotel lives up to all the comments i have read,the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble,well what can i say about the food FANTASTIC we had breakfast and evening meal which i would reccomend a great selection and definetly value for money ,a big thank u to the waitress that served us ,the aqua is kept to a very high standard its very clean and located on the beach front front ,i would recommend the aqua without hesitation,we will be booking the aqua for another weekend with our friends .thank you again to the owners of the aqua and all your staff

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouse1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bradford
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

hi my name is david hudson,and recently my partner and i stayed at the aqua hotel in shanklin i o w it was my tenth coach tour so i speak with some experiance, the aqua was the cleanest tidiest place we have ever stayed at, the food was exellent large portions of well prepared food and on warm plates the service was exellent and the staff were very pleasent, nice bar with entertainment every night, lovely comfortable room with the heat turned on when needed <a nice touch> i would reccomend this hotel to everyone, and we will certainly be going back, thanks for a lovely time to all the staff and also thanks for all the staff comming out to wave us off on our journey home. yours sincerely david hudson west yorkshire.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudsocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2010

we had a wonderful honeymoon great food ,staff were very friendly nothing was to much trouble. will be going back again .thank you to all the staff great hotel

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandkmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

After reading all the trip adviser reviews on hotels in Shanklin my husband and I selected the Aqua Hotel because it came so highly recommended and we are so pleased we did, I cannot thank you trip advisers out there for making us aware of this Gem.
The hotel is in a perfect location not far from Shanklin centre and right opposite a lovely sandy beach in a cul de sac, which makes it quiet at night as there is no through traffic.
We had a sea view room and it was lovely in the morning to sit on the balcony with a cup of tea enjoying the warm sunshine. We had all the usual facilities in the room, tea/cofee, hairdryer, toiletries, tv, radio etc iron was available from reception.
Our room was clean and comfortable, and the daily the room service was excellent.
We booked bed, breakfast and evening meal I would highly recommend this, the food which was served in the Boaters restaurant was excellent, there was a good variety of meal choices including vegetarin, this hotel has a top notch chef and they are not skimpy with the portions and again the service was first class.
We found the owners James and Annette to be professional and very friendly people, in fact this applies to all the staff from the managers to the cleaners. The Hotel can get you a deal on your ferry crossing and also a deal on a parking permit which you can use throughout the island.
The service, staff and food in this hotel are the best. We can highly recommend this hotel for singles,couples and families.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosemaryMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

A large party of us stayed at the Aqua Hotel from Friday evening until Sunday afternoon. Our ferry was delayed and they held dinner for us, which was delicious.

The staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The bar stays open until we want to go to bed, rather than shutting it at a specific time.

The food was better than a top class restaurant, the chef deserves a medal.

The rooms are all lovely and we were all treated like family, and it was genuine respect. How nice to be treated like customers instead of people to be tolerated.

The evening entertainment was wonderful.

I would go to the Aqua again without a doubt. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2009

That was our first visit to Isle of Wight and it was our anniversary. The location is sea facing and owners/managers are very friendly.
I got all the help I wanted to roam around the Isle and I really enjoyed the sea facing view with my family. The experience is unforgettable and we will stay at same place if we ever visit the Isle again.

  • Liked — View and Ambience
  • Disliked — few sea facing rooms
  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PradeepOnline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.1 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Hotel

Property: Aqua Hotel
Address: 17 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aqua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing