We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time fantastic”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3rd time fantastic”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stay at this hotel every time we go to iow because it's like going abroad, there is fantastic entertainment every night, the gardens are beautiful, the carvery and carvery breakfast is fresh and not frozen rubbish! The staff are very welcoming and the rooms are very comfy and modern for a listed building, I have read a couple of bad reviews regarding bathrooms may be because its listed! We have stayed in 3 different rooms & we can't complain, we stayed for the carnival on both nights and the outside entertainment in the gardens was brilliant, we love the Holliers that much we have just booked again for turkey n tincle for Xmas. Thanks dawn & Steve so many good memory's.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel2430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    127
    50
    36
    37
See reviews for
65
166
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I had a wonderful time here the staff were very help full very friendly the carvery was lovely the entertainment was good and the carnival on Wednesday was fantastic stayed in room number 1 which was very basic but was nice night’s sleep as it was a new bed very clean very good value for money I’d be definitely going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magical2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Went to IOW with Just Go Holidays as have always wanted to see how they could do it for the money! This hotel doesn't deserve the bad reviews some people have left here. It is rather tired round the edges, however the food is plentiful, and to our surprise we were offered a choice of main meals so didn't have to have the carvery every night. However the carvery is excellent with a choice of three roasts and never ending quantities of vegetables. The vegetarian options were good as well. The hosts certainly work extremely hard! We asked for a quiet room and were happy with the one we were given at the back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnthonyCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

As soon as we looked into toilet of our room I reckonised review about small ensuite I had read online before setting off. You definitely wouldn't have room to fall off toilet. All I can say is although hotel is tired, bed linen and towels nice and clean, food excellent, host very bright and cheerful, we had a great time, lots of laughs. I think too many people expect rather alot for the money we paid. I have a picture postcard photograph from the room of all the lovely thatched properties.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

No lift. Copious breakfast but got fed up with roast and the limited choice for dinner. Staff friendly but wish Steve the owner had put gloves on his bare hands when refilling the serving dishes with the roast potatoes and yorkshire puds whch came as rather a shock as Mandy carved the meat wearing gloves. Dropped food was ignored.

The bedroom had been decorated recently but was tiny making moving around the room difficult and the chair appeared to be for a midget. Only a small bar of soap was provided. You will need to take a shower cap to keep hair dry as it is impossible to switch off the water without getting wet as the shower head is fixed (and not suitable for a tall person). I would also take cleaners for the bathroom (bath not cleaned during our stay) and despite the recent redecoration there was signs of black mildrew most likely caused by the ivy growing on the roof and causing the leak in the roof and having no electric extractor fan. We slept with all the windows open to try and get rid of the smell from the bathroom. The bedroom furnishings were bright and in good order.

On the plus side the hotel has a really lovely outlook and the bus stop is immediately outside. With hind sight would have had the evening meal elsewhere. Recommend a room at the back to avoid noise but not too high up - though the front ones have a prettier outlook but you could find the entertainment noisey. Bar area on shabby side.

Room Tip: Pick one at the back for a quiet night's sleep and lower floor if not fit as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKBarbie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I've just returned from a few days at The Holliers Shanklin, and all I can say is don't book it, the room we had was in need of total refurbishment, I couldn't wait to leave.

When I handed my key back I wasn't even asked if we enjoyed are stay, Although the bar was meant to be open most of the day if you wondered in during the afternoon there was nobody to be seen to serve you, luckily there is a lovely pub next door that always made you feel welcome with excellent service

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This particular Hotel in Shanklin Holliers was the most disgusting place I have ever had to lay my head, the floor was not swept all week in the dinning area, there was two dead flies laying in the window bay where we had to eat and sat next to, cobwebs with spiders in.
The toilet in our room had a loose tile on the floor that was cracked and we could trip up, there was filthy dirt behind the sink, the door handles were full of grime, the room was not even hoovered and the beds needed a health certificate to sleep in them. I would be highly embarrased if I lived in this manner, let alone guest stay and take their money.
The Holliers Hotel should carry a government health warning, ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Room Tip: Plenty of other bed and breakfasts and Hotels to choose from in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MISS HELEN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#20 of 52 in Shanklin
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#1 of 52 in Shanklin
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Property: Holliers Hotel
Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing