We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Enjoyable Stay”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The hotel is wonderfully placed in Old Thatched Cottaged Shanklin.

The proprieters Steve and Dawn are very 'hands-on' from cooking, serving food and the bar. Guests get to know the 'chiefs' a bit. Other staff are good, working very fast at what they do.

The hotel depends upon it seemed coach parties throughout the year - and quite a bit the over 60s. From rooms, to very generorous breakfasts and beautifully cooked carveries and fine
evening entertainment, they are served very well at a t to me at a 3 Star + Level.

There is no lift. Stairs are not that easy over the two upper floors. However, people with sticks seemed to be O.K.

On my February 2013 stay, I found the bar piano area pretty jaded, badly lit and depressing, day and night.. It needs a makeover from furniture to atmosphere.

Certainly the Holliers is for me a very good place which tries to do its very best for guests, offering excellent deals.

Room Tip: If you have climbing problems, ask for a First Floor room. Ask for any special eating needs when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PatBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    128
    50
    36
    38
See reviews for
67
169
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Stayed Mon -Fri in early February with Just Go holidays. Steve and Dawn and their son were all very attentive and anything asked about was deliverd/fixed in very quick time. Food amazing both at dinner and breakfast and as much as you can eat. Great location as path to sea front across the road and nice short walk into Shanklin village itself. Indoor pool was lovely and warm and very clean. Hire a pool towel from reception for 75p to make life easy. Overall, a lovely family run hotel and an excellent base for a visit to the isle of Wight.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

we stayed at the holliers through just go holidays and sometimes you get what you pay for,but holliers was well worth the money good hosts great meals and entertainment at night .Good location good clean and warm rooms . Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank neavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed at Holliers for one night and was pleasantly surprised, the hotel was clean and the room comfortable, though don't expect any thrills, then this is reflected in the price. You are in an ideal location right in the middle of Shanklin old village and easy walking distance to the beach.
The staff where great and very welcoming and friendly .. The food was excellent though we only had breakfast it was very personally prepared as there was only two couples in the hotel.
For a central, clean, friendly hotel at a reasonable price would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlmaryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We booked for early December with idea of a weekend break before Christmas. Temperatures were around the zero mark and everywhere was crisp and even, just as expected and hoped for. We arrived at the Hotel at around 3pm and was suprised to find we were the only guests staying there. We were given the key to our room and went to it to freshen up. Upon entering the room we realised that not only was it zero degrees outside but the inside matched it as well. The room radiator was part of the main house system so we only had limited control as in it had a radstat was blasting out so we knew that a few hours of this and all would be well. The problem was it didnt get a few hours of 'this' as we discovered upon our return to the room at around midnight. The radiator was stone cold and the temperature had plummeted sub zero again. A call to reception resulted in a young man who we discovered to be the proprietors son knocked on the door with a red hot portable electric radiator that he had in his room and said in a rather put out way that we could borrow this. We pointed out that the room radiator didnt seem to work to often to be told something about it comes on for two hours and goes off for two hours which didnt make too much sense. We pointed out that the room was freezing and had been all day but this failed to invoke any reaction other than it was December and we should expect it to be cold. The parallel that if he needed an electric radiator didnt he think that maybe the guests would too seemed to fall on deaf ears and after many refferals to me as 'mate' he was asked to leave.
The problem was that the very fabric of the building was extremely cold - you really needed to be brave to use the toilet. The electric radiator did the job and we thawed out. The room was otherwise ok with the benefit of a conservatory which Im sure in summer would be great. The bathroom was increadible small. When you opened the door the basin was imediately in front which meant that you had enter the room and shut the door before you could use it. The toilet was hilarious because they had squeezed one in beside the bath which meant you only had around 16" access corridor. Luckily we are both quite slim but larger people would need to have one cheek on the wall and one on the bath for a successful visit.

The hotel has its own piano bar which that night had a young female vocalist singing to backing tracks so effectively there was no piano. A look at the grand piano also revealed it wasnt really a grand piano at all as its keyboard and innards had been removed and was little more than a shelf for visiting performers to rest there own electric keyboards.

The piano bar was not any warmer than anywhere else in the Hotel so we headed for the very nearby Village Inn and The Crab -what a difference -warm as toast with open fires, a boy girl duo playing in The Crab and a boy boy acoustic duo playing in the Village Inn. Both venues allive and vibrant with a mix of locals enjoying their Chrismas 'do' and a few holidaymakers joining in.

After our artic experience we chose not to eat in the Holliers and with a good selection available at both other establishments thought this was a wise move, so we cant comment on The Holliers food

We didint let any of the above spoil our trip as we both love Shanklin but we agreed that it seemed that Holliers didnt really want anymore business this year and tried to save money by keeping everywhere cold. They should really decide if they want to open or not in the winter months rather than this half hearted attempt.

Im sure in the summer most of our niggles wouldnt be there but we would not recommend this Hotel in the winter unless your an eskimo !!

Room Tip: Two rooms have conservatories but very small toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Swanage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Holliers with Just Go. The hotel is a bit dated in parts but very clean and the food was great especially the breakfast and there was a carvery or another choice each night. You certainly won't go hungry here. Excellent entertainment each night and also a happy hour which lasted 2 hours. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Would recommend this small friendly hotel to others and would certainly go back and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Recently returned from a weekend stay at Holliers (with Just Go) and would certainly recommend it. Nice and handy for walks to the beach and an excellent bus service close by. Guests who complain about the food must be very fussy eaters, breakfast was first class and the carvery had everything one needed. The staff could not be more friendly and helpful and it's nice to have British waiters and waitresses. Our room overlooked the garden so was very quiet, maybe other areas are noisier. Yes, perhaps it needs some updating but there was a working heater in our room and overall it is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 34 at the rear of the hotel, very quiet. Two flights of stairs to climb, no lift, so not suita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynne_Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#19 of 52 in Shanklin
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eastmount Hall Hotel
Eastmount Hall Hotel
#12 of 52 in Shanklin
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Property: Holliers Hotel
Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing