We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant few days in Old Shanklin”
Review of Holliers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holliers Hotel
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
396 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Pleasant few days in Old Shanklin”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed here as a couple for 3 nights in early July 2013.
The Hotel is situated in a pretty area with many nice thatched pubs within a few yards. The beach and town are a few minutes walk away. Room was comfortable enough although a little small. Bed comfortable and quiet for sleeping. Rather disappointed that the en suite did not have a proper shower but merely a hose from the taps and no shower screen. Food quite good - carvery most evenings with an alternative choice. Breakfast buffet good and varied from day to day. There was musical entertainment each evening but not really our cup of tea. Wifi comes at £5 per stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    128
    50
    36
    37
See reviews for
66
167
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Holliers Hotel is an 18th C. former coaching inn sited in the prettiest part of Shanklin Old Village (think chocolate box thatched inns and cottages) and a ten minute stroll from the path leading down to the beach. As such do not expect a modern building laid out for the convenience of 21st C. guests. What you get is a clean, comfortable room with plenty of storage in a reasonable condition to be expected of a business attempting to maximise its occupancy. Do not join that company of reviewers which pays two-star rates and expects five-star accommodation and service. Experience the real world of competition for every guest in a recession.
What is outstanding is the food which is served carvery style with the option of alternative dishes. Forget Toby-style carveries and their competitors; in no way do they match the quality, quantity or variety of what is on offer here. Beef, pork, turkey, ham and lamb were all variously on offer with good-quality, fresh vegetables. At £7.95 inclusive of dessert, it was a bargain.
The nightly (free) entertainment varied from OK to very good - if on the loud side at times.
One point of note is that the Holliers website needs updating. The outside pool and paddling pool are no longer in use. although the inside pool still functions and was well-heated.
The acid test is would I go back to Holliers? The answer is 'yes' and without any doubt that I would have an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteamingMariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel with Just Go Holidays. We were asked to use hand steriliser before entering hotel because of any germs that we may have picked up on route, not come across that before but if you want a virus free hotel it makes sense.
Room was comfortable and clean.
The food was excellent a carvery was on offer each evening with a choice of three or four types of meat, roast potatoes to kill for and a excellent choice of veg.
The hotel is in the old part of Shanklin ,the owners were always on hand and the staff were efficient and friendly. The entertainment was good but far to loud we could hear it in the room.
We can highly recommend the hotel and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: ask for a quiet one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel, the up side was the bed was clean and comfortable and the food though plain was well cooked and plentiful. The bathroom was the smallest we had ever seen, had to back in to use the loo, the shower dribbled, ditto the basin tap, the bedroom was stuck in a 70' time warp. No clean towels, just the ones when we arrived, and no bedroom service on the Sunday. Very well placed for all of Shanklins amenities. An outside and indoors swimming pool were advertised though we never found either. Would we stay there agian. no.

Room Tip: As there are no lifts a lower floor room would be a good idea, but not over the piano room or you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OAKTREE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We didn't stop at this hotel but, as it was a Sunday, my partner and were looking for a nice carvery - they are few and far between in these parts.
We were NOT disappointed. It was such a lovely meal at an extremely reasonable price - free dessert. Could not fault it.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and we would definitely eat there again if in the area.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Took my friends daughter for lunch here over the bank holiday as we were on the IOW visiting Osbourne house.
The food was beautiful well presented with lots of choice and the dessert came free with the roast dinner.
The choice of desserts was amazing.
Its family owned and run and they were very friendly.
It place was clean and looked much the same as it did when I lived on the IOW.

Room Tip: Didn`t stay overnight but I am sure the room and facilities are as good as the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

just returned from 4 night break at the holliers hotel with Just go holidays; and did not want to come home!! we felt so welcome from the minute we got there; the owners, Steve and Dawn make you feel like one of the family. The food is excellent; especially the newly opened side restaurant where you can spoil yourselves ...yes you are on holiday!!! Although you would not believe it from some negative people's attitudes.... what do people expect for the money that you pay for these breaks I really do not know. The setting of the hotel is breath taking and the entertainment is really good and yes it is on every night which you do not normally get on a midweek break; so enjoy!!!!! If I had a criticism it would be that the bathroom could do with some refurbishment... but that did not spoil one minute of our fantastic break . We will definitely be returning...so watch this space....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanklin hotels
0.1 mi away
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
Braemar Hotel Shanklin
#36 of 52 in Shanklin
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#33 of 52 in Shanklin
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aqua Hotel
Aqua Hotel
#18 of 52 in Shanklin
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
828 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Channel View Hotel
The Channel View Hotel
#4 of 52 in Shanklin
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holliers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holliers Hotel

Property: Holliers Hotel
Address: 5 Church Road, Shanklin PO37 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 52 Hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holliers Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holliers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holliers Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing